What we've got here, is a failure to communicate......oh, and a ripped T-shirt.

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

I don't know peoples motivations behind their actions.
No one ever truly does...
I do judge people on their actions though.
One of those actions is observing people trying to control (using whatever action it is that they employ)...

Let me tell you a story.
A true one.
I'll keep it short, for it's not the point of the post - but will hopefully help to illustrate some things later on...

In my mid teens, my sister bought me T-shirt for my birthday. It was a cool color. (a faded 'camouflage green').
I was a punk at the time ....(you're surprised?lol).
Half an hour after receiving the 'present', it was slashed, had some safety pins in it, and looked mega cool!

I was very happy with my pressie!

My sis wasn't.
She screamed at me for 'destroying' her T-shirt. You know, the one that had just been given to me. (I was under some bizarre illusion that it was my property...).

She said she'd never buy me another present after that.
And she didn't.
It took me a while to grasp the dynamics of what was going on.
It was about control...or lack of.

A few years later , in the steem days (I think), there was a hardfork, and RC's - or voting power - or some other shite - everything was all over the place.
The point being is that I didn't have enough power to post.
I was given some hp to cover it temporarily (without asking for it).
Delegations are not not your property - they're never yours.

I politely requested that they remove the delegation, which they did, and then I said thanks for doing so.
Several months later, I was in an argument with the said account, and guess what was said?
"I gave you 50 hp and you threw it back in my face!" (verbatim, I think).
I threw nothing back in anyone's face.

You do not need to be a linguistics expert to understand the tone of the sentence, headed in my direction - i.e implying some kind of insulting behavior on my part.

I never asked for the delegation, I politely asked for it to be removed.
It was removed.
I said thanks (all on the blockchain).
It was then twisted into something else entirely, showing a misrepresentational account of events several week/months later.

Why am I telling you all this?

fs - Copy (3) - Copy.JPG

I asked for @proofofbrianio to un delegate the 2000 POB.
He did.
This shows respect for anothers' wishes, and I never had the chance to thank him, as I didn't know it had been removed at that point.

Then it was pointed out to me, that it was re delegated to me once more, after specifically requesting for it to be removed.

Now, in fairness to @proofofbrianio , he doesn't know me (so I'll give him 'the benefit of the doubt' for his lack of cognitive function, and slip in integrity....for now).
It has also raised some red flags, I will not lie.

I expect it to be removed shortly.
Why does this matter?
I was 'given' 2000 POB , wasn't I?

It DOES matter.
This has nothing to do with 2000 POB, 2 million POB or 2 POB.

If you only think in terms of tokens, price, money, power, and profit, then this delegation is the language of love.
If that's not your language, however - it's disrespect.
(This is an incomprehensible concept to someone who's language and ideology is one of money).

...It's the uninvited guest that's decided to enter your house, and sit down at the table.

This is ALL about respecting the sovereignty of someone else's wishes concerning their own property (my account, my T-shirt...).

My wishes were expressed quite clearly enough.
And acted upon.

WHAT IS SO HARD HERE, TO NOT UNDERSTAND ?

My sis (and my psycho family) taught me good lesson about 'gifts'.
And influence.
And power exerted from influence.

Am I being oversensitive about this?

Maybe.
....But guess what, buttercup?

If I'm oversensitive, undersensitive, left sensitive, right sensitive, or purple fucking sensitive, - it makes no difference!

My sensitivities are no ones fucking business , except my own.

Respecting my wishes with my property - and acting accordingly - is the only thing that's relevant here (my account and undelegating, in this case).

As I say, I'll give @proofofbrianio the benefit of the doubt for his motivations. I think they were honorable.
(the red flag might not be waving, but it is fluttering around a little).

Understand one thing about me.

When I say something - I mean it.

This post was supposed to be a reply to @proofofbrianio - in response to my post - but events keep getting in the way of everything (this re -delegation being the event that prevented me from replying....)

THE GOOD NEWS!!!.... is that I'll be doing that post later (maybe tomorrow).
In it, I'll give a full reply to the comment - which had some very salient points.

But wait!

There's more...

I'll be outlining ALL the shite going on (without one single '@').

It will be mother of all roastings. (and quite a long post, methinks).

Isn't 'disruptive '.... something or other..., one of those sexy in vogue words, that the midwit just loves to churn out all the time? (along with 'inclusive', 'potential', 'resilient', 'smart', and 'global').....

OK.... LETS GET 'SERIOUSLY FUCKING DISRUPTIVE ' THEN, SHALL WE ?
(everyone else seems to be absolutely shit scared of rocking any boats....)

It looks like the 'inside info' video for the clever man to make some money on , is postponed - yet again.
Times ticking down....
It's only money.

Sort:  

Well... It took me some time to read all the posts, since I had problems logging in this past few days. so far I was just like

But after this

I'll be outlining ALL the shite going on (without one single '@').

I'm more like

I'll wait for the post to do a proper commentary, but I think this is going to be good!!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Purple fucking sensitive?

What would you know of purple?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You taught me everything know....

Purple in da house!!!

22414712_1932449320355074_2016916814_n.png

I had Vista ,.. so i know all about purple ...
Did the whole education program and passed the exam's .
I have a master in purple ... signed by Bill .

purple.JPG
Oh'fuck , ... i see it was purBle ,... WTF Bill ! now i know nothing .
Now i stand with my pants down in this comment , turning red .

Damn , that sucks , i am so sorry , .. let me fix it , have a picture that will grow plants when full screen applied on a led screen monitor . it looks purple to me .
Picture source : made digital with light spec meter app .

growlight.png

Let's keep the humor alive ,.. :-) .. ;-)

Yeah it's true, even before I heard of your delegation, I saw it on the blockchain, and for one second I got jealous. Why does he get a delegation, while I have to work for ever last penny of POP. In the end I decided that it was none of my business, I did not care and let it go. Luckily your delegation even inspired me to get my own 2000 POB. So somehow it turned out good. Nice post, u don't want to have any strings attached if you did not invite those strings in the first place.

There ain't nothing for free...

I suppose it could worse, it could be a return to the blooming days of idiocy. Along with ethics and morality people have lost the understanding of what respect means. Your desires don't count, only their desires carry any weight.

So it's not just me who feels like I'm taking 'crazy pills'? lolol

Must delegate to lucylin...😈

I started writing a reply to this last night before bed, then forgot about it half way through as I tried to get my brain to put my thoughts into words.

This gift giving can bring up some interesting psychology. My husband is rather like you in the belief that gifts come with strings attached, probably due to his father. He doesn't like taking any help. I was raised with the belief that gifts shouldn't come with expectations, although when I receive them I'm certainly grateful and wish to at least express my gratitude.

As the gift giver it can be disappointing if it's refused or taken for granted, but you move on from those things, unless you're a control freak. I kind of get your sister's knee jerk reaction to "damaging" the t-shirt she gave you, but ultimately if you liked it and wore it then she got you the right gift. At least that would have been my thought after the initial shock. Was she older than you? I'm the younger sibling, so control was never an option and I'd have bitten my tongue even with the knee jerk reaction.

I will accept your delegation with gratitude, mademoiselle...Ha!!!!

A gift is a gift, unless it's not.
My experience with power play and gifts has shaped my percpetions of it, for sure.

My sister is all about control (older than me).

I'm the younger sibling, so control was never an option and I'd have bitten my tongue even with the knee jerk reaction.

Me too,(in the sibling hierarchy)- but I had to stand my ground from being age 5 upwards - daily - by calling out the idiots that were, supposedly, older and wiser than myself (from siblings, to my fucking grand parents!)

I know the reasons how/why I'm shaped like I am - And it's all good.
I couldn't have wished for better 'intellectual training ground'. (in retrospect, I might add)
....A deranged family, with a dad being one of the wisest people that I've ever had the privilege to know.

In all honesty it looks like you're already well looked after by a squirrel. 😆 Is it a kiwi squirrel by any chance?

Your dad sounds pretty amazing. The calm in what seems like a storm. I also like your perspective on your upbringing. So many complain about their issues being from their upbringing, but in reality it's what makes us who we are, if we can only choose to learn from it. There were events and hardships which meant I had to grow up early and learn how to go without, but I don't resent that now, especially when I see the entitlement and lack of ability to work with whey they've got in the younger generation.

A little hardship in life grows you as a person, unless you'd rather play the blame game.

The last time we spoke before he died, he threw me his bank card, and told me to 'fuck off from here'...(he knew hated being there) and go spend the money in his account before 'the vultures' (family and care home) took it off him.

(I gave him 25k back in the early 90's so the farm wouldn't be taken off them..long story - brothers tried to screw him over).

I , or he, never brought it up again - it wasn't anything to bring up. It was of no importance.
...When he threw me the bank card, he said " It's all yours anyway mate, don't think I've ever forgotten what you did for me, 30 odd years ago."
(I looked after them for four years before they -he- decided to go into a care home - because I was suffering, ffs !).
I'm still looking for someone to converse with on the same level....I'm not optimistic in that regards even though I am , by nature, an optimist!

And leave the kiwi's outta this, they have hard enough time as it is!(being kiwi's for starters)
No delegation to me, then ?...lol
In chess parlance - I believe it's about time for you knock over your king, mademoiselle.... lololol

knock over your king

You're making me learn new stuff. I had to look that up as I had no idea what you were getting at.

....If you want a better image of him - think noam chomsky - but without a single ideological similarity! lol

Other than the name, I'm not really familiar with him. So is he just visually like your father? Someone told me the was no such thing as a stupid question.

Sounds like it was a lucky call he had you in his life as well.

I'll be outlining ALL the shite going on (without one single '@').

Thank fuck. I'll tighten the chin straps for my offended helmet.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

lolololol

I understand you perfectly and your desires.

If I delegate to someone, and that person says they don't need it and that I can remove it, I will delegate that amount to someone else, if the delegator's intention is to help, there will be no shortage of people wanting to receive this help and we must respect those who do not want to receive it.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you , sir !

I find it really hard to accept gifts.

Because they really do come with strings, expectations, desires and shit.

And further... when i give a gift, i listen to what the person complains about, listen to what they like and i build the perfect thing to solve their complaints. (usually some box or cabinet that perfectly holds what they complain doesn't fit...)

I spend a lot of time getting knowledge of the person and their preferences.


I sorta expected that they would do the same.
However, what i have found is that most people buy you a present based on their preferences, and their view of the world.

Like this christmas i got two long sleeve shirts. Very nice, very expensive.
And i have only worn one once. It's rarely cold enough to wear a long sleeve shirt.
And my work is one where you do not wear a nice, expensive shirt to.

So, to me, i have a lot of money (that could have been spent on tools or food) just
sitting there collecting dust.

Further, i need to remember to wear it when meeting with this friend.
And wear it nicely, prominently. Because that is the real desire in the gift being given.

I find it such a pain.

Because they really do come with strings, expectations, desires and shit.

I would like to say this isn't true, unfortunately it is for a lot of people.

most people buy you a present based on their preferences,

Again, true for many, although a lot do try a little bit to get what they think you want...

One set of words that may be well in this discussion is:

Ass-burgers people.
When you are a normal person, you understand this give and take of gift-giving.
You understand the social construct that is the exchange.
And since you are a normal person, and they are a normal person, you just naturally do the whole gift thing.

However, people on the spectrum do not understand this social construct.
In fact, their lives are often in direct opposition to it.
As in, so often it is painful to receive a gift.

AHA, I see why It doesn't matter if it is 1 or a million POB, it's about the number! 🤡
Screenshot 2021-04-17 at 1.53.25 PM.png

I wouldn't read too much into that one...

Yeah I know, it was just a joke, that's the angel number anyway. Interesting posts again!

Interesting?
Shit - downvotes - in coming! lol

If giving a delegation a kind of harassment, is looking at the wallet like looking up a skirt? I took a look at your wallet. There are plenty of users who could do with a delegation of 2000 POB, and you aren't one of them. You've got quite a bit there already.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

and stop looking up my skirt! ..

just took a look up your skirt and I saw the devil waving at me!

lolololol

There's nothing wrong with giving delegation - if requested/talked about/offered.

I'll be outlining ALL the shite going on (without one single '@').

It will be mother of all roastings. (and quite a long post, methinks).

!popcorn

Maybe one thing if you are going to write a long post: some big headlines, the one with one #, would be really great.

You slicing up a perfectly fine T-Shirt is a good metaphore for your writing :)

What we have here is a failure to communicate

I have heard this phrase many times. It's from a song or a movie, I'm sure. If it's not originally from GnR Civil  war, I'm curious where it is from.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

The film - cool hand luke (the gif)

That's gotta be the longest drunk dial I've ever read—new record. If I'm understanding this correctly, you re-underdelatigated'd'd to an unknown something or other in error and made a gazillion big ones?

Me no understandee, what you meeneee....

Wassup man? Long time no type. You're always so laid back and calm. Some things never undelegate.

Contrary to popular belief in these parts , I'm incredibly laid back.
Being over rewarded for idiocy annoys me though, hence I come across as not being laid back on hive...
(what the fuck am I doing on here then ? lmao).

Your post was insightful but the comments to it are so much more entertaining!

Oh, and I lease my delegations...14% roi is better than giving it away!

  1. Cool Hand Luke is one of the best films ever....so great freaking reference
  2. Personal sovereignty is an oft misunderstood concept. I wish more in this world understood the concept as well as the property rights and body autonomy that come with it.

If you don't already, would love to see you in the Liberty community myself and a few friends are building.