Do you know the best you could be is YOURSELF?

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

“Always be yourself, express yourself, have faith in yourself, do not go out and look for a successful personality and duplicate it.” - Bruce Lee

Having recently made a post raising a question on Success, I was quite triggered to place two of my fingers in between and strage it a bit more, thereby causing an expansion like that observed with a robber barn. Something happened this evening, I visited a friend at his work place where he's the boss. So long story cut short, his worker committed an offense that got him mad and a lot of things happened.

Why does what happened matter?

While trying to resolve the issue, we hit a couple angles, detaily throwing points on the dark and crazy nature of the world, how one has only got himself, how it's important to understand the situation one is in, accept oneself and build from there…

Society is rapidly becoming more and more inconvenient, there's no help in the street, so why would one want to emulate the characters in these places?

It's simple, people admire what they've not got, what seems more appealing is often what's outta reach to 'em, and as such, lack of contentment, control and self value has put a lot of people to the edge. We have a number of people trying to copy others, trying to exactly be them just because they look so special, and in this process, they neglect their own personality, it becomes sidelined and a make-up of the image of the society captured, becomes what they all wanna wear. .


IMG

But,

Do you know the best you could be is YOURSELF?

A quote I stumbled on today that originally inspired this post is:

"Be yourself; everyone else is taken. - Oscar Wilde

Well, most people will read this plainly, but this brought up so many thoughts, they all hit me, making my state of reasoning race off.

There's a song I wrote some time back titled "life ain't scripted"

The song isn't published but here's a section that may just better explain this quote by Oscar:

It was deadly but I found myself wanting it more
They were only tryna hurt me, hate is all I got
Fuck my brain, fuck my heart, you all doing the wrong job
All my life, it feels like I've been playing the wrong role

I always imagined if I was ever where I am not supposed to be, so right there, while I was faced with a lot of hate, I had sleepless nights thinking, I had to realise the true intentions of the world, how I was moving in the wrong direction, I was practically playing the wrong role! When Oscar says "everyone else is taken" he's defining life in likeness of a "drama" where everyone has a role, so definitely everyone can't play the same role, so if everyone else is taken then you can only be "You"

The beauty of those words mixed up, and then remembering this old lyrics of mine, I had to step out and see how majority of the world were busy trying to play a role that's already been taken, thereby neglecting theirs, resulting in those lines they were supposed to perform washed, so their impact on earth is then waved away.

It's a flaw, sadly, it's so many people's weaknesses, and the only way they can ever understand is to be taught how important their role in this whole life "drama" is!

Thanks for your endless attention


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

By knowing and being yourself, you are better able to acknowledge things that you do not know well enough. You won't be too proud to ask questions because you - and, hopefully, everyone you work with - know how genuine you are. People will respect your ability and even eagerness to pick their brains.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Interesting, I actually never looked at it that way. Thanks for your contribution.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Congratulations @malopie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP