That special day

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

20210506_144148.jpg

So today is that special day of mine, the kind that only comes around once a year. They're limited and we only get few some more than others and some more than they thought. Birthdays!

I quite enjoy birthdays, a day just for us. A day we graced this earth. They're celebrated because life is a gift, life is special and its not promised to everyone equally. Depending on where you lucked out greatly impacts the life you're going to live and the opportunities you get.

I'm fortunate to have gotten lucky and was born in Australia, laid back, free and relatively great country.

Today started off ok, we're doing a gradual return to work due to COVID cases being down and I headed into the office all flash in my new throws. I can't complain too much my wife is a surgical nurse and has been working through the outbreak. Sacry times and I'm super proud of her.

But as we get older the wild parties of our early years fade out and it becomes more of a personal celebration than anything.

received_4478855592142493.jpeg

My wifes at work and sent me a text "Happy Birthday" I rekon she forgot about if entirely. I've gotten home before her and there is no cake of presents! She has a late early which is an afternoon shift followed by a morning shift. Doubt I'll be getting any presents today/tonight.

I chuckle inside, if I had of forgotten her birthday she would have slaughtered me! There's a few things in life that you should never do and forgetting your wifes birthday, anniversary or other special occasions are the big no nos. Also it helps to randomly buy flowers, or not even buying any. I grew some nice roses in our previous home and used to pick the best ones and arrange them and bring them inside. She loved it.

In life if you're married just remember the saying happy wife, happy life. You'll get far with that one.

20210505_192556.jpg

Kids are also the other ones that come first as we age, I mean it's great celebrating their birthdays and the fun they have is great to watch. Today my daughter got her face painted at the shopping centre purely because it was MY birthday and this was her way of celebrating it ❤ bless her.

I did get a big hug from her today, she woke up when I did and was getting ready for kinder, ran right out of her room screaming DAAAAAAAAAAD! it's your birthday, where's the cake? 😱 she was more interested in eating my birthday cake than celebrating 🤣🤣 she gave me a big hug and said happy birthday have a good day at work.

My son is still too small to know what is going on, he just watches on and laughs. I often smile at him. Kids are quite interesting when they're small. I often wonder what goes through his mind. I bet he thinks What kind of family have I been born into? Oh lil bloke, you have no idea!

20210506_213147.jpg

I swung past the supermarket on the way home from work to pick up a chocolate cake, I'm not a big fan of chocolate cake but I know lil miss is. I'm also planning a suprise birthday party for me for when the wife gets home. I know she'll be excited about it.

As you get older birthdays become less about you and more about others. Spending time with them, our household has always been hard for special occasions. Shift work is an absolute drainer and saving lives is a 24/7 gig so we often miss out on special occasions with each other.

But that's life eh?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Wow

It is true, we women could be so paranoid if you forget our birthdays....hhehehhehe

maybe she is planning a surprise for you, you never know...lol

Surely, your daughter being concerned about the cake is funny, and she is such a nice soul to get her face painted because it's your day

Your little boy will grow up soon, and will definitely understand what kind of family he was born into

Happy Birthday to you, sir. I wish you more blissful years ahead


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you for your kind words. Hahah yes my daughter is a little gem and can't wait for lil bloke to grow up

You are welcome, sir


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Happy birthday to you, we wish you many more years of celebration with good health

Your post have been curated by @jizzyjoe, as Hive Celebrates With You on Your Birthday. You can join our curation trail here to celebrate with other hivans on their birthday. To know more please check our Introduction post.

Thank you and greatly appreciated, have a wonderful day

You are most welcome, happy weekend

Happy Birthday! Little Miss is too sweet, having remembered your birthday! Having a daughter is such a sweet blessing, eh? Your Lil Bloke will soon catch up, will be the first to smash your birthday cake before you. LOL. And! That's right, don't you dare forget wifey's birthday or any other special occasions for that matter. Your life (and all the husbands out there) greatly depends on it. :p


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you, ah yes kids are the best gift ❤ yes we can never forget wifes birthdays we are dead if we do lol.

Happy birthday 😀

Happy Birthday! 🎂

Happy wife, happy life is a good mantra to live by. I highly recommend it as well lol.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Haha! Yes definitely and thank you

...life is special and its not promised to everyone equally. Depending on where you lucked out greatly impacts the life you're going to live and the opportunities you get.

Well said sir! On this note,

Hehehe, are you sure your wife forgot? She may be planning a surprise for you. 😉😄 I know Lil Miss will enjoy the chocolate cake!

Enjoy your day!

Thank you, hahaha maybe she didn't forget just didn't have time to get me anything

Happy birthday, and you're looking mighty stylish in that photo! !LUV

Thank you! I took more of a Sydney style (white) Melbourne is more black and dark blue.

Hi @melbourneswest, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @crrdlx. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM