When you forgive.

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

pexels-rodnae-productions-5875109.jpg

Source
If you're a vindictive being, I mean a kind that takes pride in his or her inability to forgive, you can like me from a distance and there will be no problem, but don't try to come close, because you won't be able to do that. It will happen that when you take a step towards me, I will take two steps away from you.

I know that it could be difficult to forgive a hurt, especially if it hurt real well, but a healthy person should always fight against that urge of being vindictive. I do have such urges whenever a person hurt me, and I would like to believe that we all do, but some of us don't yield to such nudgings. When we are really hurt, we talk to people if need be, seek for healing and move on.

An urge is like a strong inner voice nudging you to take a particular action. It is left for you to either act on the voice or try hard to refuse its nudges.

If you're like; "I'm unforgiving and I love it", I wouldn't judge you, but I will stay away from you as much as I can.

You might want to believe that I'm saying this because I love hurting people, and I'm hoping that I don't get paid with my own coin. That would be far from the truth.

If you must know, I hate hurting people. Infact the only time I'm truly pained emotionally is when I have the idea that someone is hurt by my action or inaction.

Anyone that's close to me would easily know this.

Despite the purity of my intentions, I'm still not oblivious of my imperfections. Yes I can do more than just hurting a fly; even if I don't want to.

Sometimes it might not even be your fault that people are hurt by your actions. It might stem from the fact that someone feels disappointed or betrayed by you. Trust me such feeling hurts.

Someone can only feel disappointed by your action because he/she expected something better from you.

Someone only feel betrayed by those he/she trust.

It might not be your fault that a person feels that way.

Sometimes people overrate us; they lift us to an infallible pedestal. Hence when our fallibility shows up they feel disappointed.

People might even expect from us what we can't give. When we fail to meet their expectations they end up being disappointed and feeling hurt.

Being aware of human's imperfection, I make up my mind to easily forgive.

There is no guarantee whatsoever that someone won't try to hurt me, but I've made up my mind to forgive. I might fail at this, but I'll never resort to being vindictive.

I also hope that when I wrong you that you'll forgive me.

If you can't, there's actually no need for us to be friends today, because we will be sworn enemies if things goes south tommorow

Relationships do go south. Life do happens

When it happens, I believe the best thing to do is to clear your mind off any form of ill you might feel towards the person that hurt you.

When you forgive, you free yourself of toxicity.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Yes! You're entirely right. It takes a lot of courage and good will to forgive, sometimes we're scarred and scared that if we forgive this person and maybe forget, it grants the person immunity and frees them from any hurt. But what we fail to understand is that you're only hurting yourself when you decide to hold on to a grudge or a wrong doing, it wouldn't add or remove from that person's life, you'll just be the one dying in silence.

Sometimes people overrate us; they lift us to an infallible pedestal. Hence when our fallibility shows up they feel disappointed.

Yes!.. they forget that we're humans, flesh and blood susceptible to a lot of instability. Sometimes we can't even prevent some of the events that occur but others won't see it that way because they've had this big picture of you in their head.

I can relate to this post so much that I had to reblog 😌


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks for the re-blog. You got the gist bro.

I'm glad you stopped by.

You're welcome my gee

Straight up. No matter how hurt we seem to be, best is just to forgive and move on. I've learnt a bit from this great piece already. Thanks for the education.

I'm glad that you learned something. There's actually nothing much to do, when we are hurt. We must move on.

even if we can't forgive, we can still adapt if we don't envy or hate. we don't always have to forgive if we want to move on

Okay. Thanks for your contribution.

Even though in some cases it is very hard forgiving and forgetting is Thebes way holding a grudge dies no one any good

I found my way here via #dreemport

It does no good Sir. It's good to have you around.

Pardon my typos, I was typing on my phone the last reply and it went crazy clearly LOL

Stay safe and strong

I understood everything. Thank you.

Forgiveness is a relief for the heart. Like you said, it cost nothing to allow it go. Good write here.
I found my way here via @dreemport.

It's like taking away burdens from your heart.

One thing about me is I want swift answers to my prayers from God and if I am holding grudges in me or having an unforgiving spirit in me, how do I expect my prayers to be answered? God forgives us when we forgive those who offends us. I don't want anything to stop my prayers from answering and with this, I make sure not to have anyone in my mind in a negative way. I forgive easily because I know human beings aren't perfect and we make mistakes.
It is good to let go and forgive immediately.
Thanks for sharing. I came through @dreemport

Forgiveness is of spiritual and natural benefit. Thanks for stopping by.

Thanks for sharing this powerful piece. It takes courage to forgive and we should know that forgiving someone doesn't mean your are weak... It only means you value your relationship so much and wouldn't want to lose it for anything in the world....

Lets not forget the words of christ in the Bible, To forgive is divine... Knowing this, what hinders you from forgiving others?

@dreemport directed me here

Forgiveness isn't weakness but strength. When we forgive we do humanity a greater good.