No. 3 - WHAT HAPPENS WHEN………?

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

No. 3 - WHAT HAPPENS WHEN………?

This is post Number 3 in the series “What Happens When………?”


What did I just do?
How did I mess this up?
Most importantly, how on earth do I fix this and do it fast?

Picture the screaming banshee in my head, leveling a barrage of unending commentary about my most recent screw up. A rush of emotions drowns me while I literally feel my ability to think tanking from the torpedo hit.



DOWN THE TUNNEL

down_the_tunnel.jpg



I know this experience intimately. Instant flash from zero to a hundred.

I feel slightly ill. I can’t think clearly. I’ve been pushing it hard for three days solid.


What have I been doing?

I was working on four posts and two NFT’s, all at the same time for three days in a row. I did this because all of them are connected together in a short series. I needed them to flow together into one another.


When I create, I need to step into what I describe as “a river” and move with it. I focus intensely when doing this. I produce well under such self-imposed pressure. I’m not recommending this approach by any means; it’s simply my way of working.



BEHIND THE EYES I

behind_the_eyes_i.jpg


What happened?

I wanted to create two posts on the same day, plus mint one NFT. I’m still new to minting NFT’s. I’ve noticed I feel slightly obsessive while I go through the process. It’s the focus on not making any errors with the minting of an NFT. I’m not fond of making errors. I can’t imagine many people are.



One post was for the #shadowhunters competition to be posted in their community. The other post was about the NFT, meant to go in the #alienarthive community. I had everything prepared, edited, and finalized. I’m detail oriented and organized in my approach with these kinds of things. It makes it easier because there are always unexpected pitfalls to deal with. Creating two separate drafts in two dapps resulted in my publishing the #shadowhunters post in the incorrect community, even though I had it set up to publish in the correct community.



BEHIND THE EYES II

behind_the_eyes_ii.jpg



I noticed the mistake within minutes. I wasn’t sure how to fix it. I was already in a state of total aggravation with myself, so it was hard to have a thought process about how to correct the mistake, since I couldn’t delete it. I asked for help and at the same time yanked the breaks on the thought train in my head.



I had to focus. I had to fix this now before it became worse. When an action needs to be taken and there’s no time to deal with how I feel about it, my internal reaction has to be set aside. Into a box it goes, with the promise to myself that I’ll look at it immediately after I address the situation.



BEHIND THE EYES III

behind_the_eyes_iii.jpg



While I waited for some assistance, I quickly ran through what I thought would be the best solution to correct it with minimal impact to others. I decided to edit the post, remove the content, and place a short clear apology and explanation. Later, I found out this was the best solution, which was good feedback to receive.



I see this error of posting incorrectly in a community as a learning opportunity and it’s been a useful one. I know what to do to avoid a repeat. So, it’s not really that much of an issue.



I’ve been in several situations where any error costs far more than something like this one; even some where it directly impacts another person’s life and/or their freedom. It takes nerves of steel in such situations and a laser focus.



I have an ingrained habitual response to errors for this reason. It’s one I’m fully aware of. I’m ready for it when it happens. I did the self-exploration around all of this. With that knowledge of myself, I developed a structure of how to deal with such situations. It’s a bit like a flexible map that is applied to fit each situation as it arises. It’s guaranteed that I will always make mistakes. That’s how life in this world is. What matters, is how I address and respond to them that makes the difference.



TUNNEL END LIGHT

tunnel_end_light.jpg



A shout out to @dandays; it is such fun getting to know you. I included an amber carving that I thought was fitting for this post, since doing a new one takes at least a month. I felt it was unfair to keep you in suspense for so long. This post was inspired by @dandays’s comment below:

dandays_comment.jpg



All photos taken by Nine with a Pentax digital 35mm camera and 90mm Tamron Macro lens.

Sort:  

I'll never ask you to 'carve me a picture' again said no one ever. I'm equally enrapt I didn't make any typos in that message. 🥶

WTF are those?! I was drawn to those carvings the whole way through. Go figure. I'm impressed. How famous are you? I know you're famous.

I'm glad you think so, thank you. Don't go tellin anyone I'm soft, I got this gangster persona to portray.

I imagined my own emotion while reading your words, I woulda lost it. No other description. And then to have two of the same one in my feed as a constant reminder.... 🛑

I ruined a cover image once... Got into an altercation in the market parking lot shortly after and that's so out of character of me I'm embarrassed to admit it. Not a proud moment. You, however, like a champ.

I'm glad I asked.

What a difference weighty presence is from waity presenece. 👀 Strikingly similar in appearance, identical in sound yet vastly different like Brazilian bronze and Brazilian blondes.

Thank you, that's exactly what I was asking.

Do they smell unique? I wanna hold one now. To your first thumb knuckle, they're small then. Are they weighty (ei weighty) like a marble or light like marbleized marshmallow?

I know you know I'm not exaggerating when I say 'thank you for the Photoshop reassurance.'

Been busy entertaining this week, I got a couple minutes before I'm back at it.. time to go cr/ack egg jokes.

Congratulations on the reward here. It was a great read and I'm not just saying that cuz it was all my MY My My My idea. I'm thinking of another question since this worked out so well.

You are, undoubtedly, have your own way of being and one I find inspiring, fun and refreshing. Thanks for that.

You've literally given me something to 'sit' with here, some would call it 'meditate':

What a difference weighty presence is from waity presenece

You, are always welcome 😉
Do they smell unique, no. The amber smells like amber. It's an ancient tree resin that has fossilized, age varies, Baltic amber being the most prized and expensive, then it depends on the piece, inclusions, clarity, etc.

I have done a carving that incorporates 4 of 5 senses....couldn't fit the "taste" one in, lol.

Hahaha, I'm sure you'd like to touch them and if in person, I'd certainly let anyone do that. I made all sculptures I've done so that they are meant to be touched. They fall in a class of sculpture called "miniature" and more specifically "miniature carvings".

Amber is very light in weight and around a 2 in hardness, so quite soft, with a tendency to fracture with the slightest pressure. Heat is always to be avoided with amber. This particular one is about the weight of a dime coin, at best, probably a little less.

Hahaha, I most definitely know because I am the same about this sort of thing.

I know you know I'm not exaggerating when I say 'thank you for the Photoshop reassurance.'

I literally got lost in all those eggy trails....the whites, so runnyyyyyy. Hope you had an enjoyable week and I'm watching for your post with anticipation.

Thank you @dandays, I really appreciate all your comments. I love it that it was YOUR idea....<dies laughing>
I DARE YOU to come up with another question, I am SO SO SO up for it. 😜🤣

Congratulations on the reward here. It was a great read and I'm not just saying that cuz it was all my MY My My My idea. I'm thinking of another question since this worked out so well.

I cannot fucking believe I did that—fucking voted my own comment!! Dammit! This is about the third time I've done that and not much pisses me off more. Maybe fumbling a fresh pair of drawls off the counter and they fall in toilet and I gotta get another pair, yata yata yata but that's it! It's way too early for this. Responding to myself.. absolutely, I do that regularly but I never as in never ever ever ever ever ever ever never ever vote my own content!!!

Try upvoting a post when you meant to downvote it. 😠 I did it three times the other day before I realised it, then did it again ten minutes later 😖

I was so tempted to downvote you and say oopsie. Instead I've opted with: I know who I'm leaning on next time I need a morale boost.

Teensy Tiny Writing! Are you squinting while you type?

What on earth is this?

Maybe fumbling a fresh pair of drawls off the counter and they fall in toilet and I gotta get another pair

🤣🤣🤣
Where I'm from, they call it "drawers".....why did I not see the connection! I've learned a new word use, thank you! (adds usage to vocabulary)

🤣🤣🤣

I'll never ask you to 'carve me a picture' again said no one ever. I'm equally enrapt I didn't make any typos in that message.

Since I am aware of that little issue, I can assure you that I would have photoshopped it so there were no errors. I checked for those first. 😜

Those are photos of a miniature sculpture I carved from Brazilian amber. Size is about the size of my thumb down to my first knuckle (roughly). What is it? It's an intuitive carving, one of a more personal nature in response to what I was experiencing at the time I carved it. It's about what goes on below the surface, hence "Behind The Eyes". Intent was to capture a hollowness, an emptiness, among other things.

I am not, famous, really, I'm not. I have done art for a very long time, some of it professionally, and some of it in a very niche part of the fine art world. Carving itself, I've done for many years. It takes a long time to become skilled at it, even if one has talent. This is true for anything.

I'd have never called you soft, lol, that's too funny. You have this weighty presence that completely blows that to pieces.

If you'd seen a photo of me at the time, you would have laughed. Can't say I like having it in my feed, but there are worse things that I can think of and I've let it go now.

When something happens that yanks a person's chain, there's this response and if it gets suppressed, it gets redirected elsewhere, such as what you've described. Then the inevitable crappy feeling afterwards. I've had plenty of "moments'....I've just been training myself for long while.

I'm glad you asked, or this post would never have been written. I wrote it because you asked, LOL. Thanks for leaving such a delicious comment. I savour those very much.

Hard work pays off and this post definitely proves that! Those are some very stunning shots. Also, this post gives us a glimpse of your organized, detail oriented and highly focused personality. I am glad you did not let mistakes hinder you. 😊

Thank you @moon-city! I use all mistakes as learning opportunities, so it all works out. Glad you enjoyed my photos!

That's the spirit! @nineclaws
You continue to challenge your creativity and I love that.

Without challenges, life would be rather dull and boring 😉 Thank you @moon-city!

Love your sculpture and the refection image. I love the color amber.. the warmth it gives out.
Hmm.. the perfectionist!
I've been there in those torture chambers and now I am finally out in the light free to make the mistakes learn from them and move on without beating myself over it.
I could see myself there when i read your post, but I am glad I don't walk that path anymore.

Yes, amber is near and dear to me for that personality it has.

The funny thing about perfectionism is that it's impossible to achieve because nothing is perfect in this world. I found a far more satisfying pursuit....focusing on balance...that is much harder and more worth the effort. I've learned to embrace mistakes and see them as learning opportunities. I think we are all taught to fear mistakes, which is sad because it's always going to happen.

Yeah, this was a small mistake, so it passed quickly. I'm more concerned with mistakes that may harm others. In jobs I've held, a simple mistake of a word being incorrectly placed or formatting wrong could mean someone losing their freedom and being harmed.

Hmm.. I though you like emerald/jade more looking at your profile pic. LOL
We all make mistakes big and small. When it concerns others we need to be a lot more careful, but worrying doesn't help, in fact makes things tougher for us.
That is how I see it.

I'm not able to pick just one thing in terms of colour and it also depends on what it is. I like blues, greens, turquoise, purples...but also reds, oranges, yellows....and to complicate it, tones without any colour.

Yes we do. I don't really worry about it until I've done it, lol. Worry is rather pointless. It never turns out to be the way we worry it will be. You're so right that it makes things tougher for us.

Haha.. so you love all colors and hues.. I love blues and pinks, but I guess certain things needs certain colors to shine through.
Absolutely, worry doesn't help at all.

I think...why limit any possibility 😉
🤗

Absolutely!! When you can play around with so much more variety, variations and vibrancy.

!discovery 30

Damn!

I've seen this tunnel before, in my mind.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @stayten on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you!

Congratulations @nineclaws! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @nineclaws.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more