MUTE is my solution

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

I always felt there is something fishy about long time steem-hive user crypto.piotr, his never ending spamming (with 0.001 Hive TX) to my wallets, and his pompastic, loudly advertised "Project Hope community". My belly, and my butt always been sending a very clear message to my brain - "stay away from this".
Never found enough time to see more closely, what is he doing, and what is that "project" really all about. Until a few days ago someone posted a link on discord to a recent post by @acidyo, named Selling Votes Through Beneficiaries.
Next day came another description, showing more how toxic and hypocrite that so called "ph-fund initiative" really is.

These 2 posts were a true eye openers to me.

I starting to think, how should I react. Or, should I react at all?
Since I'm a FIVE year long Hive (aka ste*m) user, and strong believer in the bright future of Hive, it was clear that doing nothing is worst option I can choose.

Downvoting ? Hardly the best option too.

Not that I'm afraid to step into new, never ending "flag wars".
Or scared that such a war will have a rather bad consequences to my positions on Hive/Leo ecosystem. I believe I still have enough "dry powder" in my cold storages to enter wars of any size, at any time.
But it is well known how negative most Hive users are about flag wars.

So I decided a more "neutral" option may be suitable - I will simply ignore these people. And anyone associated with them.

I don't want to have anything common with people who are involved, are supporting or are advocating this "initiative".
And don't want even to ever see their posts, comments.
And I want to make sure that my noticeable upvotes from my stake (210K HP, 645K Leo LP, with backup of 370K wLEO + 330K bLeo, and soon the TOP-3 on the proof-of-brain tribe) will never ever land on their posts/comments.

The tool to achieve this is available there all the time, and it is called MUTE.

mute2.jpg

Front end hive.blog has a nice feature to created/update muted account lists in a bulk mode. Quick and easy. Luckily, project hope founders were kind enough to give me a most active account lists as CC: in their recent posts. I just added a few more from a ph-fund benefiters, and followers of this "project".

You can do what you want now.
I'm not telling what you should do, and what you should not.
I do not attempt to limit your precious "freedom of speech"
I just don't want to see you !

Sure, there will be various reactions to this post. I am not new to social networks. And I'm ready.

But before you hit that DV button, be aware, that I always return back to them. And do that in DOUBLE.

Good luck in all your future endeavors.

@onealfa


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

When I joined their discord server and got to know about how their upvotes work (from crypto.piotr himself), I distanced myself too, silently. Although they did not do an ill will to me personally but post done by @acidyo got me thinking about my next actions. I found a few posts upvoted way too much even though they are of mediocre quality. Not sure how they use their funds but this not how they are supposed to be creating their revenue. There are far better and more honest ways to do it.

I tend to stay away from the drama and I would like to be a part of no such thing. I don't how to use to mute function and I don't want to use it either because I am sure there must be a few honest people inside their community who are not trying to game the system intentionally. I was also shocked to see my name tagged in one of their posts as members and I don't know why they would do it because I have never used that community to make my posts and will not do it ever. Anyways, I hope they find other ways to support their cause and the other community members. Curation alone gives a lot of scope to make good APRs on Hive Power and combined with layer 2 tokens, one can boost their income. Hopefully, they will understand that what they are doing is self-voting in disguise.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

OK, thanks for info, noted, and unmuted

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Cheers @onealfa, thanks for understanding.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Muting is a good option, especially now as they're scattering over more communities but still actively sharing 50% with the account they'll later get a vote from to continue this scheme. So mutes will be the best option against that unless you really enjoy checking the beneficiary cut every time you want to curate a post. Hopefully once they come to their senses there'll be an easy tool to unmute everyone again to give them fair curation chances without this scheme but it doesn't look like they're wanting to give this up, looks like they're even having more members lease HP for them to be able to self-vote without it being as easy to detect. Absolutely disgusting. I don't know much about the proof of brain token but I'm sure they understand how this goes against everything POB and the EIP and it will be even more dangerous to let these things slide with linear curve coming up for hive in the next hardfork and others thinking "well if they can then I'm going to try and self-vote more through this method as well" and we'll be back to the shitty vote-selling times we've worked hard to overcome.

Thanks for taking a look into this shit, I know you have a ton of other things to do.

Hey @acidyo, I have also noticed larger votes going to those who are adding 50% beneficiary, although they are now changing their voting habits as you mentioned above. I see @pfunk in their discord server trying very hard to find a possible alternative to their current way of operations. Hopefully, they come to a conclusion that is aligned with everyone's interests. Otherwise honest members of the community would suffer.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I did some digging on the steem side. It looks reminiscent of haejin with his "i wish you wealth" as he unloaded liquid steem to other accounts. But he wishes people "ice cream".


Posted via proofofbrain.io

once they come to their senses

I don't see that happen anytime soon, if ever.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Would it be worth UI's showing Beneficiaries in the footer of all posts by default instead of making you click to see it? I feel like with a POB / Decentralized system everything should be out there and visible nothing to hide.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks for sharing, I have to look into this mute. I was feeling this was quite shady and worse than busboys.

I was never really into the mood of down voting things but I agree that the mute button is the best choice. My down votes so far have only gone towards those phishers posting spam links so far because I don't like the drama of down votes.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Just like how if you don’t like what you hear on the radio, it has two buttons...this seems like a mature way to deal with the issue. Let them do what they want in their little corner, but refuse to give them any attention or support. Good on ya’!

!BEER
!ENGAGE

Comment 97/500

Actually, watching contents posted to this community through Peakd, I did notice the same set of writers getting votes over and over again, and I heard some shit about them saying they don't need new members, lol, super weird, quite an unclean game being played uncover...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The worst ever for anyone that milking HIVE platform with dirty way, hopefully all of them realized never doing that anymore. Your ways is very wise sir, sometimes to be neutral and ignore them is very suitable ways. Thankyou for your valuable information sir


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I remember receiving the same messages in my memo but I probably dont know I didn't follow what he was doing or saying about.

Muting is a good option and useful but I guess he'll be still able to spam your wallet. Must admit, I haven't seen him for awhile, maybe or most likely he's targeting big fish.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Slimy character and told him to piss off years ago when he was spamming with his generous 0.001 memo messages. Have no clue how a person like this has survived on Hive as he is not community orientated and quite the opposite..

I remember when he started on st**m, he was a networking madman. We had some contact and even emailed back and forth a bit, but as time went on and, I just went my own way. I had no idea that there was this scheme going on. Thanks for bringing this to light. I will need to check out the post by @acidyo too.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You're not just ignoring them, you're also bringing awareness to us, and for that, I'm thanking you 🙏


Posted via proofofbrain.io

So I decided a more "neutral" option may be suitable

He even tried to reach me in linkedin chats and I never entertained them. Now that, we know the story behind the project, we know their hope 😀

You would be amazed to see how many muted users I have. Some of them are actually considered some of the best content creators around here. @jrcornel was one of them. I have so many people that I enjoy reading their posts that it's completely pointless to still pay attention to users I don't like or don't agree with.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I see you have 98 muted.
On my mute list today I have 603 accounts


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I have underestimated you then...

It's unbelievable how many greedy, unethical people show up where money is involved. This is a community that is supposed to support each other and help grow it into a "better" community, including as many people as possible along the way. I guess like any community, or family for that matter, there are always bad actors and black sheep who try to take more than they give. I just don't get how these people sleep at night. There are hundreds of people on here who need their earnings to help them survive, live, and better their situations, and these people choose to take as much for themselves as possible in a very deceitful, underhanded way, without a care in the world for who they're taking it from.

This place is supposed to reward effort and thoughtfulness, both in regards to posts and comments. If they applied the same effort to leading by example as opposed to stealing from the poor, they might actually earn their keep and more.

Thanks for calling them out. I, too, have seen the little .001 TX come across my wallet and never really understood what or why it was happening. Now I know. Muting seems very much like the high road to me. Good on you, @onealfa!!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I do not attempt to limit your precious "freedom of speech"

But there is a limit for everything . I stand by you in this decision , as soon as I saw acidyo's post the other day I figured this is not gonna go well for the community .

We got rid of bid bots but this seems like a variant of it .

This is why I try to limit myself to those communities which I know .

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

"I see you have 98 muted.
On my mute list today I have 603 accounts"

I think, for now, I don't have someone on mute. But it is a needed and necessary tool and better as flag wars :).

With a bigger network, we will become more and more "weird" opinions, "bad/low effort content" and so on. The best thing is to mute in this case. Because downvoting kills the fun to use. And a picture from someone famous can be worth more attention-wise as a nice piece of content.

That's why I believe long-term in Communities and their own reward Tokens/mechanics. That's would also fix the "downvote problem". Not valuable for example on LEO or other community, doesn't mean not valuable on a fashion/gaming -related front end.

I always felt there is something fishy about long time steem-hive user crypto.piotr, his never ending spamming (with 0.001 Hive TX) to my wallets, and his pompastic, loudly advertised "Project Hope community". My belly, and my butt always been sending a very clear message to my brain - "stay away from this".
Never found enough time to see more closely, what is he doing, and what is that "project" really all about. Until a few days ago someone posted a link on discord to a recent post by @acidyo, named Selling Votes Through Beneficiaries.
Next day came another description, showing more how toxic and hypocrite that so called "ph-fund initiative" really is.

Good, you mention it. We need to monitor things like this as a community. Is like Vote selling years ago.

Long term everything will mature and become better and better.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's what opt-in governance is all about.
We can't force people to do what we want.
We have to make better systems so they want to participate.
Positive reinforcement is superior to negative.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Should be a customizable option (that is also made visible to those viewing your profile) where you can set a threshold for what transactions are made visible.

For instance, one could then set that only tx and memos with 1 HIVE or more will be seen ont he front end you use.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That's bad, this is the exact reason why we want a decentralized system where some one controlling upvotes and other things.
Thanks a lot for sharing the mute option, definitely a very good option and something we should know.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Quick question about downvoting since you have a moderate amount of power behind your stakes, do you always return the downvote even if it's followed by a comment stating the reason behind the downvote and why someone felt it necessary to drop a downvote?

Just curious about your perspective on the matter.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

In fact there is no "always" rule as burned in stone. If there is a clear explanation why DV was placed, and it does not look like pure and "plain revenge", I may eat it in silence. It depends.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Understandable, I did assume there were some grey areas there, I just haven't seen how you handle it so thought it was worth the ask.

I'm not sure how the downvoting is going to be handled in POB but it would be nice if there was a wider range for its usage which allowed for more constructive ways to interact. Probably a tall order though, the mindset of the downvote is pretty set in its ways.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

!PIZZA
!BEER
for you

Connect

Trade


@onealfa.pob! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @eii.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.


Hey @onealfa.pob, here is a little bit of BEER from @definethedollar for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you very much for the information. I dealt with this character. I will be attentive.

Sometimes is better left than fight, and in this case ignore is better.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

@onealfa, I don't have anything to do with PH but noticed you muted me. Does it have something to do with my former flag project, steemflagrewards?

Bit confused and it would be helpful to know what I may have done wrong in your eyes. Thanks in advance.

Congratulations @onealfa.pob! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies.
Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

@onealfa.pob using the mute button is a much better way to handle users that you have issues with,at least it's a better way to deal with them....


Posted via proofofbrain.io

For the first year or two, I never used the MUTE button, but about two years ago I started to use this tool. Since then, this list is growing slowly. From time to time I go through my MUTE lists, just to check if all these users deserve an un-Mute. Mostly they don't. Some stopped whatever they were doing, some continued, some quite their presence altogether. These are the first category of users I un-Mute again. Unfortunately, I rarely can use the un-Mute though.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Great solution to mute these leachers. Crypto Piotr was very annoying to me earlier on Steem.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Haha well done! Seeing that account name brings back memories.
Personally, I had an encounter with him in the past and glad I got rid of him but every time that I see his memos pop up I'm annoyed by them.. Oh well, muting is always there indeed :)


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you very much @onealfa.pob I'm a curator on the POB tribe and I wasn't aware of the situation. Will research who this people are and will start using the mute list .


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I have never really dug deeper into his operations, but his repeated $0.001 messages are fucking annoying!
This guy has been sending these messages to almost everyone for the last 3 years or so...damn.

The beauty with Hive is that at some point, people will kinda find out your true intentions(most times abuse rewards pool) however much you use a charity project!!

I have never bothered to check the PH initiative though however much I have received countless messages from that account.

You can not hide anything on the Hive blockchain, anyway, it is good that his real intentions have been discovered and more people need to be made aware of him!!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

hello, you are from the discord


Posted via proofofbrain.io

As long as you are trending you will get spam. At least they don't knock at your door.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Mute is a solid option. The whole flagging thing I'm not really a fan of because if the POB system is working as it should then they simply shouldn't be getting that many votes in the first place. If they are and you have to resort to flagging to me it seems like something is wrong with the system.

Honestly the best thing you can do when you disagree with someone is mute and move on. By talking about them you bring even more attention to them.

But if someone is up to no good such as telling people they will be doing one thing but then try to sneakily do something else I for sure will always call them out on it as that is something everyone should be made aware of when it can be proven.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

It feels like muting someone who you disagree with is much more healthy for the ecosystem than downvoting is. If we start to see too many of these downvoting wars there may be hesitancy produced and it may stifle innovation. Better to just keep the people you don't approve of off of your feed and out of your mind. Better for everyone and much less drama


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Above all that - I also hope that more people who read this and share my concerns, will do the same. So abusers get more, multiple MUTEs.
Also some abuser's supporters possibly walk away from them, as their prefer more profitable way, the upvotes from me. Not 50% from ph-fund. Muting is much less conflict-escalating measure, compared to flags.

I already got several persons from that list contacting me, saying they stopped support "project-hope" long ago, do not post there, and will never post, or promote that ~initiative~ again.
So I have UNMUTED them, and they can get again my upvotes on their posts/comments.

Fair enough, it is a such a strange frontier for me to see. I hope that the trend will favor positive creation in the future. It is such a profitable place just doing the right thing, I don't really see a heavy incentive to be corrupt honestly

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

it's a good option i also don't like promotion like that one


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I'm still new around here and I haven't found any kind of toxic content, but certainly having a tool to silence those who make this type of content would be very useful. as well as "stop following" on the facebok.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I must be the only one who thinks that
"doing nothing is worst option I can choose" is the same as "ignore" (AKA Mute).

Luckily, project hope founders were kind enough to give me a most active account lists as CC: in their recent posts.

I guess their CC list contains everyone who has interacted him at any point of time. I know that guy from steem days even before he started Project Hope.

He talked about helping Venezuelans and intention look nice.

But

  1. I never joined their Discord .
  2. I never posted in Project hope for 50% cut.
    3 . I do not post in Steem.

I just find this post as I was started reading all of your post when I saw your LEO geyser payment post.

I was also almost had no or limited activity in Hive from start of March till mid May , so I am not really aware of this drama and as well their "CC" list.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta