Dear Newcomers, Have some Patience!

in Proof of Brain3 years ago

It's good to see a lot of people are joining Hive daily. OCD is running an onboarding contest also. I hope more will join us soon.

More people means more growth.

But it can only mean 'growth' if people invest themselves meaningfully.

glenn-carstens-peters-npxXWgQ33ZQ-unsplash.jpg
img

Why I'm saying this?

I'm currently serving as a curator of 'bdcommunity', also I was curator for many other communities as well. So I got to know a few things 'what problem newcomers face' in Hive.

They are not sure 'what to do', 'what is right and what is wrong.

I believe this is not the problem of this platform but the beginners who have lack patience. Who thinks that this place is a 'make money' site only.

But this surely not the whole scenario. There are many who invest themselves, engaging with others meaningfully and gradually growing.

I get hundreds of DM asking, what's wrong with their profile, why they are getting downvote. I mean, can't you see? Don't you know? You are plagiarising. Also, some say that 'why they are not getting support?' When I check their profile, I see zero investment/effort; only a few words and some photos. No engagement, no comment; nothing!

There are countless other queries. And most of them are meaningless. If they invest a small amount of time, they will know the answers immediately. Or maybe they know but still compare with other profiles!

sincerely-media-vcF5y2Edm6A-unsplash.jpg
img

Again, I would say. If newcomers invest more time on engaging, consuming more content rather than only creating posts and hoping others to vote; their profile would not be the same by now.

Nope, I'm not a top-level user of this platform, I don't know everything and I'm not an achiever also. I'm not here to judge other's work as well.

But what I understand is maybe...maybe my words will help someone who is looking for this.

There are plenty of resources explaining how you can do better here. Engage, comment, create, vote. Don't beg vote, don't plagiarize ie. Read, read, read. Invest your time, if possible some money. But the time for sure.

I got $0.02 on my first post and it took me more than one year to reach $1 in a post. Can you believe this? Those were a bearish period of crypto. But still, I don't think any newcomer will hang around this platform any longer if they get less than $1 for one or two years.

It takes time to grow, right?

So have some patience.

Have a good day!

Sort:  

i can relate to this very well. I did not make much on hive (steemit) during my first two years. in fact, I didn't get up to 50 dollars within those two years. I started engaging more after leofinance launched and since it has been a whole new journey for me. I just believe that you will get your lucky break from engaging and learning always.

How can I reach you on discord @rem-steem


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That's the truth. It takes time just like any other thing.
Good to know you are doing well now. Have a great journey ahead.

Hi hi @rem-steem nice write up . What u write is true.. it is really important to have some patience when starting out.. 😀😀😀👍👍👍

Totally agree.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts 😊

Have a great day.. thank you very much... 😀😀😀

If newcomers invest more time on engaging, consuming more content rather than only creating posts and hoping others to vote; their profile would not be the same by now.

This is so true!

Even the seasoned bloggers continues to learn.

Engagement and reading is part of the learning process and is worth to invest in. It doesn't even cost a penny doing this.

On Hive, we all start from zero. How you want to move up is as simple as engagement and to read a lot of other blogs, period ;)

People think that it's the responsibility of others and curators as well to vote on their content.
Who know you will vote you.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts 😊

I believe you captured an important message that every newbie should read. Thanks to the amazing people who onboarded me, they made me understand the importance of engagement.

Two sayings that I want to add to your article - Rome was not built in a day and slow and steady wins the race.

Good things really take time. I hope people will understand.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts 😊

Patience is indeed key and no harm in reading/comparing others' posts, just for reference of a format they could use when blogging and along the way find their own voice and templates and of course even that "evolves".

That's true.
But people compare to seen how much vote others are get and why they don't get that. People don't try to see the work behind others' gain.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts 😊

Also true:

But people compare to seen how much vote others are get and why they don't get that. People don't try to see the work behind others' gain.

That's a rabbit hole. When I was younger I also used to compare myself to others and it didn't make me happy, until I stopped and saw what I had to offer.

When I was younger I also used to compare myself to others and it didn't make me happy, until I stopped and saw what I had to offer.

That's a nice approach.

Good to know your thoughts.

Patience is a key "item" here (and throughout Hive, I would say). Without it, it is't possible to get very far (in an organic way).


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That the truth.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts 😊

Apart from formulating the quality content, one needs to focus on engagement with others. Although Iy takes takea it's the only way to make people realize that how much your words are passionate enough to carry on as a writer. I am new but yet I found your advice beneficial.

You got it very correct. I wish you success ahead.
Sorry for the late reply.
Have a good day.

You're so right about having patience. Some of these newcomers aren't properly guided by those that introduce them to the platform.
HIVE needs time and consistency in the blockchain.

newcomers aren't properly guided by those that introduce them to the platform.

Also, I think Hive/community need to make some guideline so people don't feel lost.

Sorry for the late reply.