Oops, we have a new adventure vessel.. ⛵⛵⛵⚓

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

Adobe_Post_20210704_0713420.8689506784320508.png

We'd like to call it a yacht as it's a step up from our mirror dinghy, but we might be going a bit far there dahhhhlling. Perhaps it's more likely a cabincruiser. Or a sailboat. At 14ft, if you're defining a yacht as something over 70ft, it's definitely not. If you're defining it by attitude - she's going ... But perhaps it's what it's initials stand for - a 'trailer sailer' - that's what the TS stands for in a Hartley TS14, which is what our new vessel is called. A yacht will need mooring fees - a trailer sailor you can take home and put in your garage, or in our case, a big tarp. But if you're a pedantically sailor type and you've clicked on this post with utter outrage that I've called it a yacht, well, here you are. What do you think of our sailboat?

IMG_20210703_135821_836.jpg

Last month over a few beers Jamie said to me: 'you know how much you love surfing? And how surfing is in your family? Well, sailing's in mine'. It dawned on me that I'm going to have to support this venture of his, as he supports mine. After having various boats shoved in front of my face via Gumtree and Facebook ads, and being forced to come along to make a decision when we looked at it, I agreed - this boat might be the one - for now. I'm already enamoured enough to start thinking that if we can sail this one, maybe a bigger boat - one that can take us round the world - might be possible.

The guy we bought it off was an interesting chap. An 80 year old ex pilot, his garage was immaculate. On the walls were photographs of various cars, planes and boats - this guy was a hobbyist and had spent his life building and restoring vessels and vehicles of all kinds. At the back of his shed was a brand new tear drop camper trailer. He made them for a living - a make to order kinda venture. Sometimes who's that skilled and particular could not sell you a sub par boat. The hull had been repainted, ply replaced, and so on. A few mod cons such as a 12V battery to power a stereo and lights - don't laugh, we had nothing in the mirror dinghy so that's a HUGE step up for us!


image.png
Hartley TS14

So, I'm forcing myself to learn a little bit about boats. One of the most frustrating things is learning the lingo - boats have such odd, old fashioned words to describe things that I'd call by quite mundane, every day names. Scuttlebutts and shrouds? I don't know if he's joking most of the time. Yesterday, I learnt that the small cabin is a 'cuddy'. Believe it or not, it's six feet long, so we can sleep it in if we so choose. We actually like the idea of taking it for adventures up rivers (it can go in very shallow water) or around Melbourne's Port Phillip Bay, and sleeping overnight in it.

FB_IMG_1625345192693.jpg

FB_IMG_1625345185341.jpg

Of course, I was pretty keen to test it for size. I give it two thumbs up. With a camp mattress, a sleeping bag and a pillow, we can both sleep comfortably in there, with a tarp perhaps to extend the cuddy a little if it rains. Next step is to make a galley box, which will have a little stove and some accoutrements to make tea and sandwiches.


image.png

For all my wifely moaning, I do love an eccentric husband who gets into hobbies like this. It sure makes for a more interesting life.

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here



Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Looks neat! I know nothing of boats but that looks in good nick, how far out do you go in something like that?

I don't know either haha! But it's small so maybe just rivers and bays.

So cool! I think this looks fab btw, and if you find it from a seller that is so skilled, he must indeed not be willing to sell anyone something that's in bad state. So I reckon this is going to be a pleasure to use.. Cheers to new adventures!

That's exactly why I said yes... the guy seemed like an old school artisan! There's a bit of rigging that needs replacing and a few minor things to repair but nothing major and it's well looked after.

cool that that worked out the way it did. the universe, ha :) love it!

Loads of room in there. Lol.

wifely moaning

🤣

Haha yes it's spacious... but more so that the mirror and we can definitely stretch out to sleep.

It looks plenty good enough. Good times ahead.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks @Bhatt!

!ENGAGE 10

!giphy welcome

Oh no don't Trump me! 🤣

Jealous! Perfect pocket cruising trailer sailer. :-)

It's cute isn't it? I was sceptical at first but people seem so enthusiastic.

@riverflows This is the link I was going to post for you yesterday! This Aussie guy is lovely.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCK5KVDT1aGOQVjy7xAc1pSQ

There are tons of channels on You Tube dedicated to sailing pocket cruisers and sail camping. You're going to love it and I'm going to love the posts!

Oh yes Jamie has been watching him and we recently watched his one about building a galley box!

How very cool! And you found someone who cares about his work to buy it from! Now we get to have sailing posts!

Exactly, a good skilled tradesman is worth his weight. Waiting for good weather now!

Nice boat. Eccentricity is not a flaw!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I LOVE his eccentricity!

Wow, this is exciting!!! And I don't believe it is too small to be called a yacht, or to enjoy it to the max. If you can sail it along the coast and up the rivers, you could easily take it all around Australia, right? And at that point you may as well start island hopping around the Pacific! You could even install a solar water distiller and a solar dehydrator for food, and then you'll be set to cover greater distances. Okay, I can see the horse running away with me here ... but did I mention how exciting this is??? 😜 Can't wait for more boating posts!

Haha I did the same thing. I went from 'do we really have to get a boat' to 'oooh... could we sail it round Oz' or maybe ' after we get our heads round this one can we get a bigger boat?'. Can't wait to take it out.

I love it! What a cute boat. I mean yacht! I love how it can sleep two as well, looks like some nice adventures will be had. I really enjoy getting sucked into my partners hobbies and likes to be honest. It's things you wouldn't have thought about yourself but they make you step out of your comfort zone and experience something new.

Hahah yes it's a great yacht boat! I agree. I don't think I could have married someone less eccentric. In eighteen years he has never once bored me, which is why i chose him I think!

Very cool and looks very roomy for its size. Dont know much about boats but looks like a great purchase, she's a beauty!

Me neither!!!

That is such a cool little Trailer Sailor, but I wouldn't be so sure about taking it in a river if it has a standard keel, the keels that I remember would go down pretty good in the water for stability. Also, it will be nice to have a little stove and mini fridge in there.
Also agree with you, I have met guys who have an immaculate garage and or workshop, and always envied them.
Congratulations! Enjoy!

It can definitely go down rivers. Oh yes a mini fridge for sure, we have a 12v battery!

Now, how cool is that you guys are now the proud owners of a yacht. I know if I owned that beauty, Id be calling it a yacht also.
If it were parked in my driveway, even if it's in drydock, I'd be camping out in it for a week or so anyway.
Now, why would you ever consider not following your hubby's lead, look what path he has led you down?
You look very comfy in the cubby.

A sailing excursion around the world. Dreams are great to have, especially when they come true.

Good luck with your yacht, and I agree with you on the terminology, keep it simple stupid, always works for me.

@thebigsweed if it wasn't so cold right now I'd be sure tempted to sleep in it in the driveway!!!! I've already shopped for cushions :P

Yep, I'm so glad I have a hubby like him, helping me go on adventures - mind you, I take him on my adventures, so it all works out pretty adventure-ey!

You gotta start somewhere, and if a dream is the start, well, that's the start, right?

I keep forgetting that it's winter in your neck of the woods.
It's a good thing that both of you are the adventurous type or someone would be left behind sitting on the couch, twiddling their thumbs.
Time seems to pass faster every month and before long you'll have the warm weather that goes hand and hand with sailing.
That maiden voyage should be a ball!

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 24000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 24500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day - ATH Volume record!

She is a beauty and perfect for traveling around Australia, maybe even Tassie? You have so many adventures awaiting you, I am jealous, hope to one day have my own, perhaps we can both keep upsizing once we get the hang of sailing and meet up with each other xxxx

This is so cool. I love me some old wooden yachts. Every time hubby or I stumble across one we're swooning over it. But there is no way we would ever own one. We're just not in a time or place to do it. All the happier I am for you guys that you got this little (or big) gem!

Well there's definitely much worse things he could be into XD Adventures await? :D

I'm in need of that 'more interesting life' atm. Fucking bored to death of this pandemic and even more so of the stupid country I happen to be stuck in--inflation on the rise, taxes usurping our earnings, zero incentive to work.

I love the boat. Looks vintage, super sexy.

I am so happy for you, and a little jelly I must admit. That thing is so cute, but big enough to have some fun in, and perhaps even a rough overnighter. This can take you most of the places the Rovers can't go, can't wait to see what future adventures are in store. Congratulations!!!

Sidenote - Did you christen it with a broken bottle of apple cider vinegar or kefir water?


Posted via proofofbrain.io