Sort:  

These are incredibly stunning images. The timing and framing is impeccable! I don't know the technical term for it, but the light flaring in the full circle from behind the subject is a really cool effect as well as a nice touch. Great job and good luck in the contest. I haven't seen the other entries... but i would say you are definitely a contender!

Thanks, @castleberry! I think the term is just lens flare, and to be honest, I didn't plan it at first. I first thought it would be amazing to have the light coming through the blond hair. But when I saw what was happening, I adjusted to work with it.

That term is what i thought... but thanks for confirming. I think you adapted well and i am thankful for your adjustment to work that into the composition. I think it added an extra element of interest and to me it seems perfect. =) Cheers

Cool photos! They really express power and control of the human body; very nice.
I see you used the tag #pobphotocontest
If it was your intension to join this round (I do see a circle in the first photo although it seems to be photoshopped into it 😄) then post a link to your reply in the contest announcement post.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Oh, I assure you there is no photoshop going on. It was just me, my camera, two fantastic athletes, and a speedlight.

Does the soeddlight create that circle of light then?
I'm not that familiar with external flash.
You ornally see this with light from behind your subject.

Exactly, the light is behind the subject. You can actually see the stand for it in the photos.

Oh, I didn't spot the stand in the first place 👍

Thank you for clarifying the instructions. I've added the comment.


Posted via proofofbrain.io