Why is my Post not Usually Upvoted: Questions from Newbies on Hive

in Proof of Brain2 years ago (edited)

My dear friends on hive greetings from this part of the world. This might not be an important topic or title to a post, but just follow it gradually you may gain or contribute to my development on hive blockchain.

Many newbies on hive have asked the above question on daily basis and not getting proper answers have cost many to abandon their hive accounts and become redundant on hive. After series of brainstorming and constantly focusing on writing a post that'll be helpful to the hive blockchain, one will not receive any comment or Upvotes from friends and the communities he has subscribed to. What then is the reasons for this snobbing and not commenting on a vote? Today I've come out to ask us this question: why are the posts of newbies not upvoted?

The Introduction Post
Most people got motivated by the number of Upvotes that they received in their introduction post. With this motivation, most newbies will immediately come out with interesting post that would've learn them more upvotes, but the situation becomes different. Sometimes for hours they'll not receive even a upvote and later one or two upvotes from maybe closer associates. Was the post not interesting or is the comment not worth voting for? The most annoying one is that someone will read your post and comment that your post was super exciting, but they'll just leave like that without any form of encouragement from their upvotes.

image.pngSource

Is my Brain not Functioning Fine?
After seeing such incidents on my post I'll begin to ask myself, is my brain not functioning well or what do others have that I don't have to offer. Do they think writing a post is easy. Actually writing is a skill, but encouraging a post through Upvotes is also good habit to emulate.
Is there anything we are doing that's warranting us not to be properly Upvotes.

Please come and answer this question @hive @leofinance @crossculture @motherhood @hivebuzz @proofofbrain @ura-soul @zarapnk

Sort:  

I joined Steem in 2016, a few months after it was launched. I posted regularly for about 6 months and got very few upvotes too. I had been blogging for about 10 years before that and I had a lot of things to say, but the lack of support I got here initially put me off. I almost quit but every time I looked at the posts that were getting upvoted, I reminded myself that if they could succeed then so could I. I put time in to studying the algorithms behind Steem (Hive), plus looked at how the posts that are rewarded well are different to the ones that aren't - then I spent time taking action to experiment.

Social media, in general, is saturated with content and posts. There are way more posts than people have time to look at. This means that you need to do the following to stand a chance of getting seen and of achieving whatever goals you have:

  • Create content that is so outstanding and unique that people NEED to read it or at least really want to read it. This can be challenging if you think in the same way as most people and do not deviate from the kind of thinking that schools and mainstream media program into you. We have to be free thinkers to create new space for ideas and ourselves to flourish within

  • Research your audience. What do Hive people want to read? What do Hive users who have big stakes want to read? What do they value? In general, it seems to me that they value growing Hive, talking/thinking about technology/crypto and then the usual politics, art, music, entertainment, gaming, health and other topics that most people are interested in. If you can help Hive to grow and improve then you will get noticed.

  • Network in Discord servers, be social, comment on people's posts with insights and intelligent ideas. Link people, carefully, to relevant content that you make - without being spammy. Don't be desperate, just be as relaxed, open and friendly as you can.

  • Join forces with people who share your interests. Everyone has different things that they are interested in and different regions of the world have their own challenges and topics that they want to talk about. Even though I am in England, I don't really talk to many English people because the people who share my interests happen to be from different parts of the world. At the same time, if there was an English group that was big and moving in the direction I want to move then I would probably spend time there too.

  • People only have limited time to read your posts, so make sure your titles, tags and images are high quality and clear enough to be read without confusion. Check which tags are performing well on Hive in order to pick which tags to use in your posts. There's no point in using tags that no-one else uses or looks at because no-one will find your post that way.

  • The bottom line is that all of the Hive rewards come from investors' own funds. This means that everything that everyone is being paid actually came from someone's wallet at one point. This means that people can be quite careful about who they upvote. Some people are only interested in supporting the topics they are interested in, but generally people want to direct rewards towards people who they know care about Hive and who are going to help grow the community with the funds they receive.

I hope that helps someone!

Thank you for this inspiration, the breakdown gives every newbie the opportunity to learn fast and following the things you've pointed out will help give them the chance to excel on hive.
You've been a source of strength to me since we became friends on hive. Thanks once again for your constructive points.

You are welcome! The more that everyone learns about Hive, the better experience we can all have here!

Agreed tags are very important. Posting in the right communities and using the right tags go a long way to increasing exposure appropriately.

Sometimes engagement is also very necessary if the newbie wants to get noticed...the more you engage with others the more they will engage with you too,that will make you get attention from others and get upvotes during the process...

And the TRUTH is that "no one owes anyone an upvote".....


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you for that point that engagements is key to growth in hive

Engagement is absolutely critical. Human beings are social animals by nature. We yearn to connect with others and the Hive gives us an incredible opportunity to connect with a diverse range of human beings across our beautiful planet. The more you reach out and engage, make meaningful comments and build genuine relationships, the more meaningful the connections and you will start to see people coming round more often to visit your posts. If someone comments on your post and upvotes it. Do yourself a favour, reply to them and get a conversation going. You may find that you make a real connection and start to follow each other. Also pay the other person's posts a visit too out of courtesy or human curiosity. When I engage with people on my posts, and feel I have a connection with them, I more often than not go and look up their own works and read through some of them to get a feel for what they have to say and what they are all about. When I like what I see, I follow them because...and get this...I am genuinely keen to read more of what they have to offer. I enjoy seeing people write genuinely with passion about things they are truly interested in and from their own experiences. I also love reading creative pieces such as short stories, poetry etc, but that's just me. There is no absolute recipe but I can tell you that as a newbie, without engagement, you will struggle. Without authenticity and passion, you will struggle. If you break the rules and guidelines of the platform as far as plagiarism etc is concerned, you will not do well. I have only been here since June but I love this online space, this home away from home and I can honestly say that I love the social capital as much as the financial. Good luck with your Hive journey. I have upvoted your post as I think it is a good thing that you reached out to the community. Another final tip before I leave this comment ... get involved in writing contests on Hive. They are a great way to improve your writing, push your own boundaries, and to make friends across the Hive. @scholaris runs a weekly word prompt contest in proof of Brain community. Follow him and look up his weekly word of the week (WOTW) posts to get involved. It would be a great start.

Thank you for your time to grant this great advice to me. It takes people that love humanity to have time to comment on a post. Thanks once again.

Being successful on Hive, as on any other social platform, is a looooong run. The competition is high and you are not the only one hoping for an upvote.

The key to success is engagement with others and commitment. Don't give up too quickly and create interesting interactions with others. Find a niche topic that you master and try to stick to it. That will allow you to stand out from the crowd.

Even if you get only half a dollar worth on your post, it's still 1 million times more than what you get from likes on Facebook or Twitter.

Is my Brain not Functioning Fine?

I hope so

Do they think writing a post is easy.

Nobody does.

Is there anything we are doing that's warranting us not to be properly Upvotes.

No

That's correct my dear. Engagements on hive gives one the opportunity to unite with persons who could help them grow.

Arcange is spot on in my opinion. Everyone creates content, but not everyone engages here. You have to do both and have patience.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you for the comment

You're very welcome. I don't know Arcange personally, but I respect his work. His was the first data I viewed on Hive activity. In terms of patience, be prepared for it too. I've spent the better part of a year being active on the platform before I started making something tangible.

I mean, no one knows you when you first show up. Do you know what I mean? It's like first showing up to school or a new job. Eventually, you learn how things work. Eventually, you move up to more profitable and fulfilling positions.

There are a couple of people here I'm familiar with whose work you should follow. Arcange is one, but others include: @samsmith1971, @nonsowrites, and @corporateay. They're good people spread across the planet.

Oh, and for heavens sake, if you have a question: ASK. If we can't find an answer for you, we will seek it out.

Thanks for the mention.

My formula: Spend the next 3 months engaging with 20 people per day and don't worry about your earnings. Just engage meaningfully--add to the discussion (don't just repeat what has been said in the post).

If you do this for 90days and nothing changes, I will give you 90hive.

!PIZZA perfectly said. Come and join in my monthly contest too @salvadornkpara :-) and in @scholaris weekly word of the week contest :-) Would love to see you in both.

Oh. @ura-soul is another good one. Again, I only know of his work. I don't agree with a lot of information he puts out, but his presentation of it is exemplary. In my opinion it draws a sceptic in to investigate. He knows how to engage the audience.

BTW, I noticed I miss your witness vote 😢
Would you mind casting one to me? It would be much appreciated!

I've repeated the witness vote just now

Thank you for your support @salvadornkpara, really appreciate it! 👍

You're welcome

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
samsmith1971 tipped scholaris.pob (x1)
samsmith1971 tipped arcange (x1)
@samsmith1971(11/20) tipped @salvadornkpara (x1)
samsmith1971 tipped ura-soul (x1)
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.