The Scar, a Serenade

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20210615-142205_Canva.jpg

Do you want to be the scar
Or who you really are?
The scar is dead
You are alive

Guilt as a weapon
To tie you to the past
The ship may be sailing
But it's only at half mast

It's who I was
And what you are
And if you don’t do this
YOUR GRANDFATHER
WILL TURN IN HIS GRAVE!!

For this?
For this?
For this, they suffered?

Now you- listen to me!
Now you- this is how it will be!

Don’t fly through the night
And do as you please
Please as I say
And do as I please

‐-----------------
And I will collect
Memories of the past
And shards of indifference
And I shall mix up my feelings
In the piles of junk and treasures

Because it’s all important
And everything is connected
All sacred
All special
All MINE

Don’t question what I say or do
Don’t prod my authenticity
I’m the MASTER!
To lord over you!


Prop me up, don’t let me fall!


I’m a small child
Sitting on a pile of toys
Help me bunker the fortress!
Help me dive into its void!

----------‐--

I’m stuck in this mess
I’m afraid to come down
I love you up here
Down there, I’m less around

This mess is a comfort
Of peace and of calm
I’ll rest my head for a while
To pass away the storm

This mess is a lullaby
A softness and a grace
Its presence gives me meaning
Of authority and of place
It builds me Streets of Glory
This!
This is my Holy Kingdom!
This is where it all at!
If you want my love
Come this way, come tip your hat.


I don’t love where you hide
In these alleys of your past
I guess you still live there
With YOUR flag at half mast
I guess you still love there
Padding around days, long gone

But if YOU want to love ME
Then listen to MY song.

--------‐-

I know that you are not me
I know that it’s a trick
I’m crying from the window
I’m laughing, through the thick of it
I’m dancing with feathers
Around the pyre of the past
I’m turning this ship round
I’m sailing at full mast


The scar it is over
The scar it is dead
The scar it is history
Just chemicals
In my head

Sort:  

Love this, especially the last few lines...

thank you @riverflows !

I wrote two more verses for the end but left it out as I felt it was more powerful without...and I was wary of using too many metaphors..

Here are the final two verses that I ultimately excluded, perhaps you will like these:

Take me as I am
Damaged and lame
Take me as I am
Look up, I’m starting again

I'm a young bird, born anew
The one who is alive
I feel the freedom within, without
I'm flying through the skies

Congratulations @saronaspecial! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP