Bitter Word of the Week (S4W3)

in Proof of Brain2 years ago (edited)

Season 4, Week 2, of the Word of the Week (WOTW) has concluded!
Thank you for your participation!

self-portrait-g3f274e293_1280.jpg
Image by Glauco Gianoglio from Pixabay

Life is sometimes a bitter pill to swallow.

We never know what can come our way. We could have the best day of our lives. On the morrow, we could wonder how on Earth we're still alive. Like each day that changes into a night, our fortune can come and go. Are we to succumb to fate's whim and accept our fate? Or will we suffer the bitterness and endure?

Who are the Invictus Word of the Week Winners?!?!

POB.png

Winners of the Invictus Word of the Week!

team-2444978_1920 (1).jpg
Image by luvmybry from Pixabay

Let's give a round of applause for our winners!!

POB.png

Public Merit System

math-1500720_1280.jpg
Image by Chuk Yong from Pixabay

Please click on the following link to access the public merit system: Public Merit System

Invictus Round Rankings

image.png

Grading Criteria

Grading Criteria.PNG

Grading

image.png

image.png

POB.png

And now!
Welcome to Season 4!
Week 3!

POB.png

Word of the Week, Season 4, Week 3!

racing-3415413_1280.jpg
Image by Peter Fischer from Pixabay

Contest Times

Start: (Wednesday @ NOW) 3/11/21
Stop: (Sunday @ midnight) 14/11/21

I've had too many deadlines intersecting with each other this week. As I'm in my last class for my Master's Degree, things are surprisingly restrictive for me.

I understand that people have been submitting their articles early. That's okay. I'll include them in the contest. I added several days into this week's contest to give people more time to submit their articles.

Contest Rules

  • Be Creative. Push your boundaries.
  • Write an article that clearly uses the selected word.
  • Only one article per user.
  • Do not write about the Hive blockchain.
  • Do not commit plagiarism.
  • Use the #POB-WOTW tag if you are participating in the contest. Don't forget to use the hashtag.
  • If someone (not a bot) responds to your article, don't forget to ENGAGE with them!

Contest Rewards

  • Place first: 100 POB
  • Place second: 75 POB
  • Place third: 50 POB
  • Place fourth: 25 POB

POB.png

The Word for this Week

image.png
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay
Modified with Microsoft Power Point

The Word for THIS Week is BITTER

  • The word for next week is censor.

POB.png

In Closing

image.png
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Would you please support our fellow authors? I look forward to providing more in the future. Thank you for reading and following on throughout my Hive journey.

Don't forget to check out the Proof of Brain Community's new announcements:

If you like this article, please consider upvoting and following @scholaris!

POB Banner 5A.gif

POB.png


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Congratulations to the winners. Well derseved, unfortunately I wasn't able to find you all to read.

I have been experiencing issues whenever I post from or use the proofofbrain.blog for searching for some reason.

I was not sure If I was the only one, or if it was an issue on my end, but I will observe my end closely, to ensure I am not doing anything differently.

Well done to you all....


Posted via proofofbrain.io

hey Jaxson, as you can now see from my comment, you are not alone in this. I think the search functionality is a bit iffy. Please enter again this week. It is so good to see you getting stuck back into creative story writing. Just drop a link of your entry to this post for this week and tag scholars and this will ensure that it comes to his attention.

Yeah I did notice I wasn't getting much engagement the past ten days or so, It was hard to figure out what the issue was but I believe their is different tag usage between #proofofbrain.blog or .org and #proofofbrain.io. which might be causing issues with content not appearing in feeds.

I have also been unable to find some content, but no worries, it was good to find this out in this way.

I do hope to drop an entry again this week, just not sure which day I will get around to it.

Appreciate the encouragement though Pal cheers

!PIZZA to that my friend 🙏

Thanks for the pizza, muchos gracias

Yeah, same happened to me. If I wouldn't have visited your blog anyway I wouldn't have found your entry. I am disappointed, for nobody from the other contestants were engaging and I thought: "why is nobody participating"? That went bad.
I loved my story :) Lol

Aah my friend, I will go and read it now! I love your writing. I did not see your entry and I do search for all contest posts so that I can cover as many of them as possible and I definitely would have read yours if I had seen it. I have just noticed that you made the same mistake as some others...you did not use a hyphen between pob and wotw in your tag😢 Take a look at how I've tagged mine and do the same. Also, tag scholaris in your submission as a backup ;-) I do! That is so strange that my article did not come up. To be honest, ever since someone mentioned it a few weeks back and there article was missed (I don't know if it ended up being a tagging error or a system thing), I have been paranoid and so I always tag scholars in the comments and he always replies to say he has my entry noted. I will comment on your post and if you reply to it...which I know you will lols ... I will upvote your comment. Here's some !PIZZA in the meantime. I am so sorry that your entry was not curated by everyone.

Thanks for showing up still with all the deadlines, @scholaris.

Me at Top 7!
Congrats winners.

This is my early submission link below.

https://ecency.com/hive-150329/@ajorundon/i-chose-bitter

Thank you so much @scholaris and @nonsowrites.pob. Your dedication to this is deeply appreciated and you keep shifting me outta my comfort zones, which I !LUV ;-) I tried something completely different this past week and really enjoyed writing it. Funnily enough, this word Invictus almost conquered me lol. But I could not let that happen, so I was pretty pleased just to have got an entry in🙏Congrats to all the winners. I find the grading very useful too, thank you.I have been giving it some thought and perhaps a future tweak might involve constructive criticism from the other entrants? As in when they read / curate an entry and upvote it, they also include in their engagement comment, the one thing that they would change about the article they have just read, and why. I think having a diverse range of people being invited to give honest feedback on our work will help us to improve even more each week. There are a few who are not afraid to engage on this level, to everyone's benefit, but I think quite a few people will not venture to offer advice for fear of offending an author or some sort of DV retribution. What do you think @scholaris? @nonsowrites.pob?

Leave a sentence at the bottom of your post saying: "What would make this post better?"

I bet you will get at least one response. POBsters are not afraid to be honest.

I !LUV this @mineopoly. Way to go to get the engagement going🙂 Have some !PIZZA to go with that fabulous yet simple solution my friend😂

The critic in me will try to visit your posts more often !PIZZA

!BEER

He would be most welcome my friend, thank you. And congratulations on your win this week😉😍!PIZZA

!LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@samsmith1971, you've been given LUV from @mineopoly.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (4/5)

It feels really good to win. Congratulations to all the participants 🎊. I like the ten day weeks. It takes time to think about a topic and then get the chance to actually sit down and write.

Thank you for your work with the community here @scholaris. I sometimes worry about your IRL work... so take your time and enjoy !WINE. Don't let the Blue Meanies stress you out.

I'm laughing at the new word of the week. I have commented several times on how I want to taste writing. Now is my chance. !LUV


Congratulations, @mineopoly You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @scholaris.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/1 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.333

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@scholaris, you've been given LUV from @mineopoly.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (3/5)

I'm not to the point where I'm ready to join in the word of the week, yet...I think. Now that I'm done with my schooling, I'm building up a massive group of eBooks to sell :) Glad to see you're keeping this going!

I challenge you to write 1000 bitter words in a #pob-wotw post

Oof... that's a challenge... I'll consider it.

Thanks @bobthebuilder,

If you mention me somewhere in the post or comments then when I see it I will reblog the bitterness.

!PIZZA

Thank you @scholaris and @nonsowrites.pob! I really enjoyed this and you guys sure know how to make a Dawg smile. Loving the feedback method - I'll be back for sure!

Hasta la proxima 😎👍👏


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Omg I won, hell yeah :D, oh firts gotta say congrats to @mineopoly @samsmith1971 @flamistan I know Sam from the pizza novel contest, and is one of the more respected writers on it to my eyes, I have read several winners on mineopoly and i gotta tell it, is sure one heck of a strong writer. I have actually missed several flamistan posts but i read this round winner before making this comment and is surely a post to count in in the winners.

Big hug to you, and for all contestants, I actually never intended to win xD I enjoy participating each weak because i like pob community, in fact i usually talk with others on the pob engagement, i beg of you if you are able, to engage a little bit more, as i will do my best to engage on this contest on every post i read. I decided to do this because i read a post talking about pob data and engagement sure feels a bit laxed and low...

To all those that read this far, thank you- Im working on this week entry :D see you soon XD

@scholaris https://proofofbrain.blog/hive-150329/@jesustiano/proud-to-exist-with-a @scholaris.pob

Finally done, now im going to read the other's contestants post. Tried not to read them until now, so i dont get influenced by them.

Weldon @scholaris

I've had too many deadlines intersecting with each other this week. As I'm in my last class for my Master's Degree, things are surprisingly restrictive for me.

I am wishing you a big SUCCESS on your Master’s Degree. I love to see men who pants after knowledge, knowledge is the only thing that man can never get too much of.

Congratulations to the winners, congratulations to me too, I think I did a great job getting very close to the top.

It’s a new one this week, we fight again 😊😊


Posted via proofofbrain.io

@scholaris Did I broke any of the contest rules? Or you forgot to include my entry post.

I can't seems to find it on the grading chart.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I know of at least one other that I saw and read that isn't here either and it had the tag. Maybe the search function was glitchy @scholaris? I have been having some trouble lately finding WOTW articles to curate. When we tag our articles are we supposed to enter the tag as pob-wotw or #pob-wotw and does it bring it up differently depending on whether you post in proofofbrainio or proofofbrain.blog. @funshee because I have been struggling to pick up all entries myself to curate, I always drop @scholaris a tag when I submit mine to make sure he has it noted. I thought it was just me but maybe it is an issue. Hopefully, whichever issues are around, will disappear with 2.0🙏If there are legitimate entries that were not picked up, I am happy to return my tokens for 2nd place pending a final review @scholaris🙏I do appreciate them but if there were genuine entries that got missed because of a system issue, then I am more than happy for you to review those too and change the winners list if need be. I can't speak for anyone else though.

I'll respond to your concerns about issues disappearing with 2.0. The new output is offered through Aggroed and his development team. It will serve to tie POB more closely to the Hive ecosystem by providing us with a site more integral to the network. Either his team is creating it for us or they have a trusted contractor doing it for us.

I'm not sure which is which. Proofofbrainio and trostparadox has better info than I do. However, they won't buy off on a buggy system. I can't predict that we won't have problems, but I predict it will be handled quickly.

Sounds good :-)

That's damn odd. Your post has the tag, there are no edits on your article, and your article didn't come up on the data feeds. I have no idea how I missed your article. Your article doesn't even appear on the POB-WOTW tagged articles. Did you add the pob-wotw tag later? I did curate your article though after you brought this up. I apologize for this inconvenience.

There was this one too The Legend of the boy. It had a tag pob-wotw without the #

Ok. Well, thankfully, things will be calmer for me over the next week. Also, I have an additional person helping out with curating and grading. These are my first two errors of this contest. I can't afford any.

I don't think they are 'your' errors per se. The tags need to be correct to be picked up. I think it is just unfortunate that the entries were overlooked as a result. Can you confirm exactly how the tagging should be made? I know your post mentions..."don't forget the hashtag" but just to be clear, by that do you mean the actual # before the words pob-wotw like #pob-wotw, or do you refer generically to 'pob-wotw' as 'the hashtag' ?

I think @jaxsonmurph makes a great point about the differences in tagging between the different versions of the POB frontends. perhaps we can get some clarification of what tagging format is needed when posting from the different frontends, to ensure that you are able to pick up all posts. I found that doing a search in proofofbrain.io vs proofofbrain.blog gave me different results🤔

@scholaris these were not your errors Pal, I have been made aware that my posts haven't been showing in the proofofbrainio front end feeds when posted via the proofofbrain.org or .blog front ends.

It might be a difference of algorythms or coding between the front ends and the use of #tags is different in each.

In the blue brain if you use the # before your tag it appears as two ## before the tag and isn't showing up in feeds in proofofbrainio and vice versa

Thanks for bringing that up @samsmith1971, I have been running into issues with tags when posting from the #proofofbrain.blog if I use the # on tags it appears as two ## in #proofofbranio and doesn't appear in the new feed and if I don't use the # it appears without the # on the tag in #proofofbrain.io and I am unsure if it appears in the new feed or not.

I was noticing the same whenever I used the #proofofbrain.blog front end to post in #cinetv over the past seven to ten days.

I only became aware of this when @alekst7 notified me my post for this weeks word of the week wasn't visible.

I did try to edit it, but I am not sure it made much of a difference.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Hopefully, @scholaris can clear this issue up. Maybe we need some input from @leprechaun too. Definitely a need for a bit more guidance I think as this tagging thing is a bit frustrating.

Yep @leprechaun might know whats happening.

Hopefully its just a minor issue that can be easily rectified.

Congradultions on your win though Pal

Thank you my friend. I was very happy with 2nd place this week. The caliber of the entries has been climbing week in week out so to be placed is a blessing amongst this wonderful group of authors. This contest pushes boundaries and really does require proof of brain just to take part 🙂

@scholaris, Just seen @funshee tagged it pobwotw without the hyphen. That's probably the issue.

Ah. That's why it never showed up.

So, to answer your question, I missed your article and it didn't appear in the pob-wotw feeds. You used the tag "pobwotw" instead of "pob-wotw". Please tag me in this article with your article link if you're participating this week. I'll make sure to get it entered. I apologize for the inconvenience.

Am so sorry about the miss up of the tag, and thank you for going back to check my Article. I will do better with the tagging next time.

Am sorry for the late reply as well, I traveled to a village in my sate and I could not access electricity.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Last week was awesome and such a great week to read...

I will go first with my entry for this week.

Here is my entry: https://ecency.com/hive-150329/@repayme4568/the-bitter-leaf-that-mama

I really appreciate all you @scholaris here is my entry post to the conest

Source
Is life a bitter-sweet?
Let me leave you to be the judge of that at t... https://peakd.com/hive-150329/@funshee/bitter-sweet-or-or-pob-wotw


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks, Funshee. I have your entry recorded.

Oh interesting,I will definitely be participating in this.

I look forward to your entry.

What a round of #WOTW.

The winners of the just summarized #WOTW contest had very nice and interesting articles and that's amazing.

Big Congratulations to the winners and a round of applause from me to them. 👏🏻🤓


Posted via proofofbrain.io

This is my first time posting in this community and I hope to be consistent with the contest 🤭

@scholaris, here is my entry to this week's contest

https://www.proofofbrain.io/undefined/@princessbusayo/bitter-and-awful-experience


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you for your participation. Your entry is recorded.

Thank you 💃💃💃💃

Congrats to the winners. I hope to participate this week. Kudos @scholaris


Posted via proofofbrain.io

hmm .. You must have forgotten me, my entry for "invinctus" nowhere appears. I am irritated, I regularly looked under the tag pop-wotw, but found no or very few entries.... is that because I only use the hive blog and no other platform?

Anyway, too bad. So there was no engagement this time, neither from me nor from other authors which took part in the contest. (except those I know already and visited their blog)

Ugh. So sorry. I can't believe that happened again

I see what happened. Apologies. I was looking specifically for the tag, didn't see your entry, and I didn't notice in time that you mentioned me. I have more help this week and our contest was extended by several days this round.

Congratulations to all the winners

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
samsmith1971 tipped mineopoly (x2)
samsmith1971 tipped jaxsonmurph (x1)
mineopoly tipped bobthebuilder2 (x1)
samsmith1971 tipped erh.germany (x1)
@wrestlingdesires(5/20) tipped @scholaris (x2)
mineopoly tipped samsmith1971 (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Hi, is there still some time for this???

!PIZZA !ALIVE

Yes you still have till next week sunday .


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yes, sir. There's still time. I'm working on an update article for this week's contest to report on the current entries.

You Are Alive and have been rewarded with 0.1 ALIVE tokens from the We Are Alive Tribe, and it's paid for by the earnings on @alive.chat, swing by our daily chat any time you want.

You Are Alive and have been rewarded with 0.1 ALIVE tokens from the We Are Alive Tribe, and it's paid for by the earnings on @alive.chat, swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I have your entry recorded. Thank you very much for participating.


Posted via proofofbrain.io