Censored from Reality (WOTW S4W4)

in Proof of Brain2 years ago (edited)

Hive is a concept. It is an idea born in human minds that became an organization made within the ether. Multiple people worked, in synergy, to create something greater than its individual parts. Like any organization or garden, however, it must be tended to constantly lest the effects of entropy bring discord upon it. One tool utilized to stave the effects of chaos is censorship.

Censor

Censorship is a concept and behavior we all employ to a degree. If we wish to ignore something, we turn away from it. We censor that person or action from our perception. The impact of our actions is dependent upon our role in the world. It's also possible that no one would look negatively upon your decision. YOU chose to censor something from yourself.

It's quite different when someone does it for you.

censor_by_escume_d92w7qf-fullview.jpg
Deviant Art - Censor by Escume

Welcome to Censor - The Word for this Week!

Who are the Bitter Word of the Week Winners!

POB.png

Bitter WOTW Winners!

team-2444978_1920 (1).jpg
Image by luvmybry from Pixabay

Public Merit System Grading

The Bitter Word of the Week contest was challenging to grade. There was a tie for fourth place between trucklife-family and wrestlingdesires. I have given each an equal set of rewards.

EDIT: The article is upgraded to include @kevinnag58 which, as a result of my error, was not initially included in the rankings or awards. Thanks to @Calumam for identifying the issue. Rewards have been distributed.

Thank you to everyone who participated!
How did everyone perform?

POB.png

Merit System Results

Grading Criteria

Grading Criteria.PNG

Rankings

Screen Shot 2021-11-14 at 9.20.28 AM.png

Grading

Screen Shot 2021-11-14 at 9.21.33 AM.png
Screen Shot 2021-11-14 at 9.22.31 AM.png

POB.png

WOTW Team Appreciation

wooden-2562242_1280.jpg
Image by StockSnap from Pixabay

NameReasonAmount (POB)
@nonsowritesGrading Assistance, User Engagement100 POB, 500 POB
@calumamGrading Assistance & Development100 POB

POB.png

Contest Rules

office-4249395_1280.jpg
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

This will get you disqualified
  • Plagiarism
  • #POB-WOTW tag abuse (using the tag on non-related contest articles)
  • Using next week's word in this week's contest.
  • Submitting your article after the contest deadline (no more late entries)
  • Writing about the Hive blockchain.
Helpful Hints
  • Include the selected word in your article
  • Include the #pob-wotw tag (don't forget the # and dash)
  • Use the proofofbrain.io front-end or proofofbrain.blog.
  • Do NOT write about the Hive blockchain.
  • This week's contest starts 14/11/21 @ 00:00 UTC
  • This week's contest ends 21/11/21 @ 00:00 UTC

Best of luck to everyone who participates. We look forward to reading your articles!

Next week is the challenge round.
I hope you guys are ready for the challenge and rewards!

New Users - Recommended Articles

POB.png

The Word for THIS Week

image.png
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

The words for this week is: Censor

POB.png

The Challenge for Next Week

image.png
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

A Phrase and a Theme

  • We've based Next week's challenge is based upon the English version of the presented phrase.
    • Authors will select their word of choice based upon this phrase and write an article about it.
    • There is an added challenge to be revealed next week.
  • The contest length is two weeks.
  • Challenge Rewards:
    • POB rewards are doubled.
    • POB delegation of 2000-POB is available.
  • I will be removing the delegations I currently have set to build up a rewards pool for the challenge round (@sofs-su, @corporateay, @samsmith1971).

POB.png

In Closing

image.png
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Thanks to the community for supporting our fellow authors. I look forward to providing more in the future. Thank you for reading and following on throughout my Hive journey.

Season 4 of the Word of the Week Contest is coming to a close. We'll be taking a break at the end of the challenge round for contest development. Also, we need a break. We've been running this contest nonstop since April. We plan to start back up sometime in January of 2022.

@Calumam is back, and he's got a lot of great ideas to take this contest to whole new levels. We're not ending the contest at the end of season 4. We're just taking the time to make things more enjoyable.

If you like this article, please consider upvoting and following @scholaris!

POB Banner 5A.gif

POB.png


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Congratulations to the winners, @alekst7, @corporateay, @mineopoly, @trucklife-family, @wrestlingdesires. Wonderful to come back and see that the quality has definitely not suffered from my absence!

I think I made a mistake with the grading columns as the main chart hasn't picked up @kevinnag58's post. It is one of the highest scoring posts I've ever seen at 39 points (which would have put Kevin into first place). To help make up for my error on the administrative side I've sent over 100 staked POB to you @kevinnag58 to match the first place reward, hope this is enough to make up for my boob!

Big shout out to @scholaris & @nonsowrites for keeping this train rolling smoothly. I'd personally say that these two blokes have done more than most to keep POB's head above water over these past few months. Massive respect to them and the people who keep showing up even when the future looked grim.

@calumam is back, and he's got a lot of great ideas to take this contest to whole new levels. We're not ending the contest at the end of season 4. We're just taking the time to make things more enjoyable.

Very exciting plans in the works for 2022. Fun and creativity guaranteed.


enjoy your sunday!

Big shout out to @scholaris & @nonsowrites for keeping this train rolling smoothly. I'd personally say that these two blokes have done more than most to keep POB's head above water over these past few months. Massive respect to them and the people who keep showing up even when the future looked grim.

Just doing my bit. I appreciate the opportunity the POB community has affording me. It is a privilege. It hasn't been easy but I have enjoyed working with Scholaris and the rest of the team.

Great song to begin a Monday morning. Some new hope is restored in my blood.

Glad you enjoyed it mate, plenty more where that came from! Hope you're looking after yourself.

Thank you.

Too many are sick at school. I have a lot of work in November. In December things will be free again.

It seems that you are only 90% back although you haveen following me 100%. It is definitely a good idea to slowly ease your way in.

I go a lot on feeling and these posts always made me feel good.

!WINE


Congratulations, @mineopoly You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @calumam.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/1 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.420

Thanks so much for the kind wishes - and welcome back ❤️

I'm going to miss this while it's on break 😢

!PIZZA !ALIVE

It will be worth the wait. The community enjoys the Word of the Week contest. I don't feel, however, we can do justice without some time for development. Plus, we all need some time off for the sake of rest and creativity.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

True ❤️ I'm really grateful for everything you do here, thanks so much :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE

You Are Alive and have been rewarded with 0.1 ALIVE tokens from the We Are Alive Tribe, and it's paid for by the earnings on @alive.chat, swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you @calumam and great to have you back, looking forward to learning more about what awaits is in the new year xxxx


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You Are Alive and have been rewarded with 0.1 ALIVE tokens from the We Are Alive Tribe, and it's paid for by the earnings on @alive.chat, swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Congratulations to all the winners and to everyone who got an entry in. @alekst7 it is great to see you in 1st spot. I loved your article. It was, I think, one of only a couple that I did get a chance to read this week, but I was secretly hoping you would win 😘 As for the rest of the winners, it is wonderful to see some new names in rotation there; I can't wait to read all of your articles. I can't believe I missed the deadline boohoo 😭 I don't know why I thought the contest ended at midnight tonight, my bad, I clearly got the time interpretation wrong (I blame lack of sleep hee hee) !LOLZ ... The last 2 weeks have been super busy for me IRL as hubby has been away on business and juggling two energetic young boys on my own IRL with what I want to do in Hive / Proof of Brain is always interesting hee hee. Well, this can be a bittersweet comment then ... I had such a good week and I spent a good chunk of Friday and Saturday eve in Hivefest engaging with wonderful Hivers, some of them Proof of Brainers too (I'm looking at you @nonsowrites 😊). Looking back, I wouldn't have wanted to miss the opportunity to actually get to chat to some of you in there. I also had a portion of today set aside to write up "Bitter" ...so this is a bittersweet moment. Gutted I missed my first WOTW contest since my very first entry all those months ago ... but the silver lining, I have today freed up now to spend more time with my family and can start thinking of CENSOR. And @calumam, so happy to have you back with the WOTW team 😍 @scholaris, @nonsowrites, @calumam, the three of you rock! And I am looking forward to all the challenges and changes the three of you are yet to throw at us. We all continue to learn, grow, and have fun together 🙏

Sorry that you missed last week's prompt. We were all busy with hivefest (and it was nice talking to you). Hopefully this week you will get in your entry on time. Cheers!

!PIZZA yeah I'm ok with it :-) just could kick myself for getting the date wrong ... don't regret spending the time at HF at all! It was so much fun. I wish more of the WOTW crew had been there ... we'll have to get them all keen on it for next year haha. Roll on censor ...

we'll have to get them all keen on it for next year haha. Roll on censor ...

Certainly. I don't mind dragging Scholaris and Caluman along. Hopefully we would be doing a preparation of some sort

yeah I think we need to drag EVERYONE along, curators and authors alike lol. I think a Proof of Brain presentation would be fantastic!

What type of fruit is not allowed to get married?
Cantaloupe...

@scholaris, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @samsmith1971
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (2/4)

Congratulations to everyone who participated and those who keep this contest going.

Thank you all so much for keeping this contest alive. I will do something the opposite of censorship here. I will reblogg this contest post.

I am still a little worried about the word that comes after "censor".

celebrate
!WINE


Congratulations, @mineopoly You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @scholaris.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/1 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.420

Here is my participation in the contest for its edition. Greetings https://www.proofofbrain.blog/hive-150329/@fragozar01/censored-virtuality-pob-wotw-s4w4

I have your entry recorded. Thank you for participating.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks, friend, is great.

Censorship is quite broad and different perspectives too always come in play when discussing, I think I should look for a different angle to talk about this one.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Wow, I am so honored to be among this week’s winner for the #pob-wotw. All thanks to God, appreciation to the WOTW Team, and to all that participated in it.

Congratulations to all the winners, I am glad for being among you.

Thanks to @scholaris for the 500 pob deligation, it really did a lot in supporting good contents and it was also a great addition to me.

I'm glad you enjoyed it. Delegations will be available again for some lucky challenge week participants!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks so much ❤️

And congratulations to all of the other winners ❤️❤️❤️

!PGM !LUV

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@scholaris, you've been given LUV from @wrestlingdesires.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/1)

Ahaaa! The developer is back with new ideas. Awesome! We will be seeing innovations then.

It's quite different when someone does it for you.

That's true. We feel like losing our freedom and being overpowered by the other.

Lol. You have censored the word censor most of the places in the post. What if censorship is censored from this world ....!

Censorship will never be censored. People can protest against censorship all they want. At the end of the day, there will be things people choose to censor for themselves or others. It wasn't until I wrote this article that I realized this fact. I censor a LOT of things from my kids. There are things I don't think they're prepared for and I also have the responsibility to make sure they see it when they are ready.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

It wasn't until I wrote this article that I realized this fact

Writing about things make us realize several things. And i do believe censorship can never be censored

Last week was indeed and amazing week with lot fun entries about bitter, this week we are proud to see Censor for the week, it will be a great read all through also, let me get on my entry
@scholaris nice work

I look forward to reading it. Also, don't forget that you can't write about the Hive blockchain. That's too easy.

Smile... I will device another concept..
Thank you for the guidelines

Do NOT write about the Hive blockchain.

Haha, given this topical POBWOTW - noooice...and even more so considering the first word in this post 🤣

Love it!... and love the implicit challenge issued to write about censorship and NOT about our dear CHAIN-of-dramatic-events lol.

Of interest is that MW gives this as #3 top-level definition of censor:
"a hypothetical psychic agency that represses unacceptable notions before they reach consciousness"

proofOfDawg.jpg


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Looking forward to this week's contest. I am sure a lot of people would have many things to say given the sensitive nature of censorship. I sure will enjoy this one.

Congrats to all the winners of last week's contest. Cheers!

Just a quick question and it's really not a big deal. But when I add up my points for this week I get 39. The announced winner got 34 - and I'm not listed in the bar graph showing rankings. I'm not listed as DQ'ed so I'm more curious than anything. What did I do wrong?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Totally my fault. I apologize. The article is edited to reflect reality and has been published. You are now the "Grand Winner" for this week's contest. Honestly, I'm sorry. I see that Cal has sent you 100 POB and I'll be refunding him in about a day.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Ah, did read the rest of your comment. You've done nothing wrong. The problem was on my end.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you and as I said no problems at all. Plus the POB award was unnecessary. I just thought I might have done something unintentionally wrong so as not to be scored.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I've been crazy busy this week. What's more... I'm sick of hearing the word censor. Do you really want another article to grade?

P.S.

I got an article in for the Word of the Week @scholaris. It's still Sunday so I think it still qualifies. Anyway... it's a good laugh.

My mind hungers for new articles. If it's your article, I always look forward to reading it. Thank you for your participation in this contest!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Somehow the pob-wotw challenge is always in the back of my mind. This past week I couldn't write anything until just yesterday. Then I remembered the word "censor" and the image of a Roman Censor popped into mind.

The senate elected two censors from any class of people. I thought, "What if two guys censored everyone and abused their powers? Wouldn't the same fate eventually meet them?" Instant karma. Then my imagination went nuts.

This is the true situation for some of my friends on Hive. It was their freedom of choice to publish material that others considered distasteful, but these guys really can't stop writing about what is on their mind. At the same time it is the freedom of choice for some large HP holders to downvote those users' articles. It's at the point now that they can't even publish a snicker without being wiped out.

For a laugh check out the Monty Python skit where Caesar punishes his guards for laughing when he says "Biggus Dickus". (I think that was the name of the 1985 Chicago Bears coach.) !LOL

Censorship has always disturbed me. It's not that these people cannot speak whatever they want. It's just that if they do speak whatever they want they will eventually lose their platform. The battle has been going on a long time. The Smothers Brother's show was censored for decades. What I see is that the more the true is oppressed the more powerful it grows.

I've just written a song about a tortilla.
Well, it is more of a rap really.

@scholaris.pob, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @mineopoly
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/4)

Hey @scholaris, @nonsowrites and @calumam here's my entry:
https://www.proofofbrain.io/hive-150329/@flamistan/channelling-a-flamin-embodiment-of-the-censor

Sorry for the Dawggy-tags but I've been busy chasing squirrels and suchlike and have only just made it in time. I reeeeeleeee don't wanna be missed :D


Posted via proofofbrain.io

No worries. Thank you very much for participating.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I like the word Censor. Somehow I was not able to relate to the POB WOW over the last few weeks but I jumped in last week and got back into the race.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Yeah, the selected word of the week isn't always for anyone. I can understand the lack of participation. I look forward to reading your article!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Congratulations to the winners of this contest, big thanks to those who are in charge of the contest


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank You for giving us this chance
I have just wrote my post for the new word


Posted via proofofbrain.io

This is one of a kind weekly contest.

My entry:

https://ecency.com/hive-150329/@oscarpower55/he-speed-up-with-high

Thank you for your article. It feels like you're using the word censor as a device.

The word censor, for this week is applicable to the following merriam webster dictionary entry: Merriam Webster

I understand the confusion though. It happens. I look forward to reading your next entry.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you for your article. It feels like you're using the word censor as a device.

The word censor, for this week is applicable to the following merriam webster dictionary entry: Merriam Webster

It's all good though. If you want to enter another article, please feel free to do so friend!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you 🤸 I will enter yet another entry, I really appreciate your kind words 🥰

Wow, so quick. It’s like you have gotten it planned since last week. Weldon

The things is, I keep my head straight and i had it done.
Thank you for reading my post, I am happy.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@samsmith1971(2/20) tipped @nonsowrites (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Hi.
Here is my entry for the pob-wotw contest (censored)

https://peakd.com/hive-150329/@mrenglish/censored-this-not-that-pob-wotw


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you @scholaris xx, feeling blessed to be amongst so many talented writers and excited for the new word and what it inspires xxx


Posted via proofofbrain.io