What If - The Mind Games

in Proof of Brain3 years ago (edited)

img_20190909_wa0005.jpg

What if? This is a fantastic question, don't you think so? Sadly, it kills more ideas than it helps to bring them to life. This question, 'what if' usually raises doubts about everything you consider doing, every plan you have in mind for your future is questioned in a negative light and oftentimes terminated before they have had a chance to be put to test.

What if I write a post today and no one reads it? If I had to ask myself that question today and worry about it, you wouldn't be reading this. I am sure you know how worry and anxiety can take over your imagination and lead you into the scariest battlefield and force you to fight imaginary monsters.

I always counter a what if negative question with a what if not positive question. I would take the what if I write and no one reads question and change it into - what if I write today and it goes viral, it gets recognition, it touches someone's heart, it blows someone's hat off?

What if I die today without expressing myself adequately, will my loved ones ever know how much I loved them or how much they were on my mind and how much they meant to me. Would they even know how much I prayed for them and wished them well and tried in my own small way to make their life beautiful? While all that may not matter to me after I am dead, but it would certainly matter to those that loved me.

So what if I did write about my love for them today and make their tomorrows worthwhile. When I write about how much I love them on this blockchain, they could read it whenever they want. Sometimes what I tell them maybe forgotten or may get muddled up in their memory, but when I post it here it remains here for posterity. They may even hear my voice as they read it, as if I was speaking to them in a personal, intimate sort of way.

img_20190909_wa0003.jpg

Let's forget the others for a moment. What if I write just for myself, to give expression to my thoughts, about what moves me, what impacts my life or what keeps me going day after day? What if all my thinking and writing helps bring clarity and direction to my thought processes and helps me become a better writer. As I keep writing, I would learn to express myself better, improve my writing voice, my diction, my style and perhaps earn some cryptos too in the process.

More than everything I would be putting my time to good use and enjoying myself in the process. Sharpening my mind is very important to me as I am not growing any younger. My mind is my tool I depend on for my work day after day. Even if I didn't write something astounding, I would have at least sharpened my mind today. What if the things I write day after day are the stepping stones to the book I dream of writing someday.

What if someone was helped by my writing? It is possible that some one learned something today from my experience. What if someone who was struggling with doubts about their writing and came across this post? Would it be fine not to help someone?

I remember a few weeks ago I wrote a post about my garden and specifically about growing turmeric. I have tried growing turmeric innumerable times by burying the tuber in the soil only to find it rotting and not growing or producing anything. I figured out that just leaving the turmeric tubers in a brown bag until it puts out shoots and it is ready to be sowed gives me 100% results. It may not be news to you, but the admin of the group said he never knew how to grow turmeric and it helped him.

Let's assume that we may not even help anyone with our work but by writing and engaging with a few others on the blockchain every day we bring some positives vibes to it. The whole point of me writing this post is to make it clear that everything that your mind tells you isn't true. It is the minds way of protecting you from what it 'perceives' as an insurmountable difficulty which may make your life all the more difficult.

img_20190220_175749.jpg

Everything need not always be about us. There is this wider horizon around us which we need to consider. If it was always about us we would be sad and lonely people. So the next time doubt raises its head and says, 'what if' to you turn around and ask 'what if not' and you will see yourself disengaging from these mind games.

The images used in this post were photographed by me and are the sole property of @sofs-su .


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

The truth is, sometimes we write to express our thoughts and the people who might find it relatable might just see it or they might not. When someone can relate to your experience it makes them actually drop by your content sometimes.
But then it's always lovely to have engaging comments especially because it shows you how well you have done sometimes with your Contents.
I love contents that are super expressive and this one is actually one of them.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you so much.
Its true when people relate to your experience they comment right away. You may not always be able to do that because most people just skim through your content.
When someone leaves a comment which shows that they took the trouble to read it fully I guess for me that is reward enough.
Thanks for the feedback, @josediccus

I really like your approach with this:

I always counter a what if negative question with a what if not positive question.

Really well written post. I like how you run down the "what if's" and explore that with so many well highlighted points. The mind must be made to be a servant of usefulness, instead of running the show like a hampster on a treadmill.

Hamster, really?!

Okay, Okay.....re-framing for you, since you're not a hamster.... (sighs)

The Monkey Brain

What if I was? I mean what if? What if I had one of those upside down bottle things and what if it's empty?! What if it was not empty?

"What if's", don't get stuck there. I know it's your thing, but try to step outside that box for your own good. It's the only way you'll grow. 😼

Getting stuck is my thing? 🤔

Stuck in your mind....or isn't it?

LOL you guys are funny, crazy LOL

moneys are cute and destructive just like an over imaginative brain.

Exactly, same point, different creature. Too bad @dandays's couldn't swing those branches in a more rhythmic flow.

He isn't a monkey yet, he only thinks like one 😆

HAHAHA! You're so right! I think his tree climbing and swinging abilities need so much more work.

@sofs-su, what in the world does your handle mean anyway? That's not why I tagged you.

...over imaginative brain.

And I was mentioned. 😍 Awwwe.

'First I'd like to thank my thumbs, without these thumbs, nobody would now how incredibly difficult it is to keep up with that over imaginary whatever you called it.'

'Next, my eyeballs, I said "EYE" balls. I'd like to thank my EYEballs for desperately attempting to relay everything to that under imagery yata yata thing you said it was.'

'Also, Mrs Mumford's reading comprehension course in pre-kindergarten. Had it not been for that old Irish lunatic when I was three I probably wouldn't have all these imaginary friends in my brain.'

Well the handle is a shortened form of my real name Sophie and Su is a shortened version of Hubs name. Most of my friends call me sofs. LOL
Imaginary friends? Do you have dragons and two headed lions as your friends?
LOL I get it - that your thumbs and eyes are the ones that make what that over imaginative brain of your dreams of come to pass.😁
@dandays thanks to Mrs. Mumford you can think and write like this.

@dandays

Wow..... I am among the friends that calls her Sofs.... I just love the sound of it. My keypad knows anytime I write "Mummy", Sofs has to follow 🤣🤣


Posted via proofofbrain.io

You're too sweet Sofs. My autocorrect had Sofa which can also be too sweet.

No, they're normal people. They're always wearing the same clothes and I'm pretty good at tuning out the bad ones.

Yip. I think so too.

Thank you @nineclaws. There have been times in my life when the what if were way too negative and I had to fight my way through it. I agree a hamster is the right example for the mind, just won't stay in one place until you train it real hard.
Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate your feedback.

Always a pleasure @sofs-su. I've had to do the same and fighting through it is a good description. It sure feels like that at times. Training is key. I'm in training every day. 🤗

a good read. I mainly write to articulate my thoughts. It is fun making money off it. Also, I write to share a bit of my life with the world--it is the only unique thing I can give. whatever reasons we have for writing, as long as it keeps us writing and improving, i think it is a good thing.

we cannot cater for every possibility, however, we can account for the things we do (well). So it is best to put your best foot forward.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Absolutely. Cannot agree with you more. For me it is the pure joy of expression, whether it is through my photographs or through words.

This is so beautiful. You have a perspective on writing that I've never really thought of or seen before! I wish I could have read it earlier, it would have definitely encouraged me during times where I've had my slumps in writing. It's so true, we should write what we love and trust it will reach who it needs to.

Thanks @quirky.countess , I take that as a compliment. I hope you are over your slumps and hope to read more from you.
Guess we should do our bit and God takes care of the rest.
Thanks fro stopping by.

I'm missing a hat. It was on my head a second ago, what if I don't find it?

LOL @dandays you are bald , I can see that. Don't worry I'll get you a wig and a hat. 😂😇

-What if=Doubts and apprehensions, this gives a negative impact on anything, or maybe beneficial on some things but, Aha! This is a good article, a motivating one, as always Ma'am @Sofs

Have a blessed day!❤🌷

#dreemer

Glad you find it motivating @aimharryianne. Appreciate you stopping by.

What if I didn't stumble on this post? What if I did and didn't decide to read through it?
Then I wouldn't have been inspired to write my next post.

Exactly as you said, I was having doubts about my writing skill mostly because my last post didn't really do so well or so I thought. I've been having difficulty bringing my mind down to write something new. But I had to just stumble on this post and it just happened to have the right set of words to help me. What if you didn't make this post??

I'm off to go write something knew and I'm surely hyped.

Thank you for sharing this dear 😌❤️


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thanks for the feedback @chincoculbert
Even if it did help one person my job is done. I am so glad you read this post and you are motivated.
Don't give up yet, all of us have those difficult times when our posts don't get the attention they deserve, but such is life.
We conquer one obstacle at a time, move ahead and move on towards our goals.
Just enjoy what you do, the rest is secondary.
You'll get where you need to soon enough.
Keep writing.

Thank you for the encouragement. I can't stop now, like you said I'm aiming for the goal.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Don't stop , no looking back , keep going forward, keep writing.

Thanks for the continued encouragement. I'll keep doing what I love doing


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Loading...

Keeping a mind of positivity is the key to getting things done. Writing on Hive hasn't been exactly encouraging for me but I've decided to see the good side of it. Writing here prevents me from getting rusty.

Aww, I am so sorry to hear that, it does take time to find some traction here. Please don't give up.
You will be sharpening your skills here as well. Will keep checking on y0ur posts. Getting to busy these days with offline work. Take care.

What a great post one that makes one think about things, I am one who strives to look at things from a positive angle even if its not always easy


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you so much @tattoodjay for your very positive comments. I keep striving for the same, with practice it becomes much easier I am sure you have experienced that yourself.

yes indeed I have you just have to stay positive and keep on keeping on

To write or not to write, that is the question. Hehe
Some people need good reasons to write, others do it naturally and spontaneously. Some write to leave a trace, or make a difference or inspire... others use their blog like dairies, I'm not saying any of them are wrong, but people see this differently and I like this about Hive

By the way, the "What if?" question makes me think of a movie that I enjoyed a lot. I forgot the name of the movie, but I remember it's about timetravel