How covid changed my motherhood || #MomLife Week 29 [ENG – ESP] || Daily Challenge

Hello Beautiful Mommies!

I'm writing this post today because I'm actually going through this phase right now and deeply scared and irritated.

When I conceived, covid was not much spread in India. But just 1 month down the line, it started spreading like wildfire and a nationwide lockdown was announced. Had covid not been there, my pregnancy would have been a lot of fun, I would have shopped maternity wear, flaunted my baby bump in nice dresses, got myself a baby shoot, would have planned a baby moon as well. But given the covid situation, I could not do any of it and was behind the bars of my own home. I didn't even visit my mom those 9 months. I was too scared of having it. Back then, there was no proven science to say if the baby would be affected by the mother's covid situation or not, and hence it was very important to protect yourself.

When my baby was born in October 2020, the Covid situation was a little bit better. Less number of cases were being heard off and the causalities were less too. But that didn't mean I was taking any fewer precautions or was walking out carefree. There was a continuous fear in the mind of contracting the virus and then how would I be able to manage the baby.

Months kept passing by and the fear started to wear off a little. We started stepping out (with all precautions). But then this second wave hit India so badly, the situation was worse than before. And this time, I caught it too.

My fear when I got covid was not how my body would react but how my baby would be managed and what if he gets it. I was lactating and that was unavoidable given my baby was completely reluctant in taking top feed. I somehow managed to protect him by wearing a double mask all the time and washing my hands very very frequently. And luckily, my baby didn't catch it. I was super happy to have gone through this smoothly.

2 days back, I noticed my baby having a slight temperature, around 99.7-100F. I thought this would be normal viral or any other basic infection and gave him crocin drops. But the fever came coming every 3-4 hours and I called his doctor to check. And to my dismay, he told me that he has been observing cases where babies are showing signs of fever 2-6 weeks post mother's infection.

This shook my brain like anything. As a mother, fever would not have been a cause of concern for me anytime. I understand it's normal because the kids have low immunity. But this covid has scared me to hell. Although the doctor told me it was fine and there's no point of concern and it's not for sure that it's covid, could be normal fever too but the very thought of fever in the covid situation is very scary.

I'm very tensed and just praying to God that he gets fine soon and we don't have to run any tests on him. He's too young to get unnecessary needle jabs.

For all the mothers, please take extra care of your child right now. The times are bad.

Untitled design (96).png


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Can you get hydroxylchoroquine and Ivermectin in your area for out patient care?

Yes we are getting all of it but I really doubt if it’s covid plus I don’t think we can get these medicines for 7 month old. For them we can use only Crocin drops and anti biotics. Just hoping everything goes fine soon


Posted via proofofbrain.io