You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learning French: That Fearsome Gender-wall

I started learning French last year, but I am not as consistent and dedicated as you. I just use Duolingo and Google translate. How they say numbers was quite funny for someone like me who struggles with basic arithmetic. 😂 But it was so fun. I even bought the French edition of The Little Prince so I can read and hopefully understand contexts in the easiest form —a children’s storybook. I never thought that learning a language would be this fun, that’s a wonderful tip you have in your post, learning the 1000 most useful words in the language, that makes sense. 💯

Sort:  

Hey, I also have the little prince french book haha! And reading children literature is a great way to learn a foreign language. :)

Duolingo is quite good at a beginner stage but I feel like it's very limiting in some ways and takes way more time. I do use it though. Have you tried French podcasts?

Hahaha, I haven’t finish reading it though. 😅 Yes, Duolingo is great for beginners, though it doesn’t have much about grammar or structure. I haven’t tried listening to podcasts, but I’ll look into it. What I have tried so far is listen to some songs and try to translate some words.

I think I’ll also start learning 1000 most useful words too, like write it down and really know the meaning. It’s been a few weeks since I last study language lessons, maybe I got bored of my study habits and I need something like this to boost my interest again. ☺️

I have a long trail of giving up on languages, done it with German. Done it once with French too. Unless there's a constant push to move towards you, or you're really dedicated, it's hard to keep practicing!

Good luck with the words and I do like to listen to french music a lot. Do you listen to Indila, Calegero?

That's same for me too, the first language I have attempted to learn is Irish (it was very difficult that I had to quit). The consistency I have right now in learning French and Korean is something I can be proud of, well, sort of. What's really driving me to continue learning those two languages is that it's very interesting for me. And maybe, I hope I'd get to use it someday, like converse with the native speakers of that language.

I only have two songs that I listen to right now, Le Festin by Camille and Michael Giacchino and Quelqu'un m'a dit by Carla Bruni. I checked out those two artists, I'll explore more of their discography. But I already love Calogero's Le portrait. ☺️

I'd hope to read French literature in French someday, they have a gold mine!

I'm not familiar with the two artists it seems! Thanks, I'll check them out!
And Le Portrait is so damn touching! I love that song!

!PIZZA


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Connect

Trade


@travelingmercies! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @notacinephile.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza