While it is raining...

in FungiFridaylast year

FungiFriday.jpg

Last night I have been listening to the rain. It was not a whole night rain thing though, just a few short showers. But rain is rain, it always brings life... and new mushrooms.
I will have to check these days the woods and the ground, maybe the trees too to see if this rain brought enough moisture for new fungi. Until then I checked the mushroom archive I had. Sleeping there for about a month, these mushrooms decided to pop out today, for this #FungiFriday edition.

I met this one while walking in the orchard. There were orange and loquat trees, and a few carob trees. Usually, we could find some of the mushrooms doing their decomposition task on those old trees. But I was lucky (the tree was maybe not that lucky) to see this big mushroom at the bottom of one loquat tree. He didn't introduce himself and I didn't ask for his name, so he stays a stranger.

Mr Stranger.

IMG_20221030_174535.jpg

Mr Stranger doesn't live alone. He has his own little family, growing on the same tree, but seems they are thinner and still younger. The upper surface of the Stranger family is chocolate colour, but I wanted to see how it looks from the other side.

IMG_20221030_174518.jpg

IMG_20221030_174612.jpg

It was a white surface, and I didn't see gills. I guess another type of polyphores is what we see here. Btw, do you see something strange in this fungus? Something that is transpiercing it?

One stalk of grass decided to grow through it!

IMG_20221030_174541.jpg

In the same orchard, but on another tree, a tiny polyphore was growing. A lot younger than Mr Stranger. Maybe a remote relative of our big chocolate-coloured fungus. It was a quite small mushroom.

IMG_20221030_174426.jpg

IMG_20221030_174434.jpg

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Let's move forward from the loquat trees. Around the same dates, I saw more mushrooms in one conifer forest. One of them looked like a pancake. A hidden pancake in the middle of the forest.

IMG_20221101_144338.jpg

Mr Heart-shaped also appeared, growing on the ground between the grass. I am wondering why he was living alone. No friends or family members around, but love is what he can give us.

IMG_20221101_144035.jpg

On the other side, this group of mushrooms liked to grow together, one on top of the other 😂
They have grown from the ground, and the only explanation I can give is that they were hiding from the same thing as the fungi from here. In the end, they realized it is much nicer to receive a bit of sunshine.

IMG_20221101_125127.jpg

IMG_20221101_125038.jpg

The last ones were again just solo players. Grown in a random spot in the half-dry grass, enjoying the shade and still not cold autumn temperatures.

IMG_20221101_145105.jpg

A pair of googly eyes would come in handy for this guy, don't you think? There are two dots on it, that resemble eyes... Next time, a pack of googly eyes should be in my pocket when I go mushroom-hunting.

IMG_20221101_144139.jpg

While I was writing this post, it was raining again. That is a good sign, a walk in the forest will have to be scheduled as it is always fun to find a mushroom and participate in the #FungiFriday event held by our host, @ewkaw!

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

Very beautiful photos!

Thanks Ludmila 😇

Next time, a pack of googly eyes should be in my pocket when I go mushroom-hunting.

I keep saying that an I keep forgetting to take them.
I like the crowed ones...
(no googly eyes and no brush :p)

I keep saying that an I keep forgetting to take them.

And you have at least one pack 😂

ok, so ladders, brush, googly eyes, camera... it's all on the list now... and just to find a mushroom :)

These fungi photographs are really good @mipiano, nicely done.
I'm pretty fascinated with Mr. Stranger, and that blade of grass protruding through him caught my eye instantly.
I'm wondering if the blade penetrated through him or if he grew around the blade. 🤔
Somehow I can visualize this happening but perhaps I'm tripping :D

I'm wondering if the blade penetrated through him or if he grew around the blade. 🤔
Somehow I can visualize this happening but perhaps I'm tripping :D

Hahaha, I was trying to imagine both options, but then, it might not reflect reality lol, so I left it open to everyone to visualize for themselves. 😂😂😂
Maybe there is a third explanation :D

Why was Mr. Stranger stabbed?
What did he do? Poor guy...

It really looks like it's sprinkled with cocoa and dipped in white chocolate.

I didn't ask him.
But a possible answer could be that he didn't want to share chocolate with Lady Grass, so she became angry 😂

You see food everywhere :D

she does :))

I do! 😂

You do 😂

I'm picturing you laying in the grass trying to get a good photo of the underside of Mr. Stranger 😂
You should definitely bring a packet of googly eyes next time you go looking for mushrooms 😂

Hahaha, no, I was not laying down in the grass. But, there IS an anecdote about that one. So, I was there, in that orchard (apparently it was someone's orchard but right by the walking path and without a fence, so I "maybe" entered there :D ) taking these photos of Mr Stranger and a man came 😱🤣
He thought I was a boar 😂😂😂
Luckily no gun to shoot me lol
I would not be now here writing these lines 😂

He thought that you were a boar lmao 🤣

Yeah it's lucky that he didn't have a gun for sure.

Haha, yes, he thought that! Seriously.

Beautiful species for this #fungiFriday @mipiano fiend!.... I've been ecstatic looking at the textures and colors in "Mr. Stranger" ha ha h a¡Nice guy witha a nice name! :))... Hummm.... It looks like our mushrooms of the genus "Ganoderma" which here in my town (and almost everywhere else) are called "Orejas de Palo".... I don't know if they are outside of the tropical regions... But this seems to be one of them.... Thank you very much for sharing.... I send my best regards!!!

!PIZZA

Hahah, Mr Stranger is maybe indeed some kind of Orejas de Palo, I searched now how they look, and there are similarities. But as I am not sure, he stays with this name at the moment... or Señor Extraño 🤣

Hello dear friend @mipiano good day
It is true, the rain, even though it is not much, is always promising for the development of fungi
What a beautiful variety of mushrooms you have found in your archive. beautiful shots. I appreciate that you have taught us
enjoy the weekend

We will see if this little rain will bring some new mushrooms around.
And if not, it was nice to listen to its sound! 🌦

You must be so close to nature...
Listening to the rain is therapeutic too..and can make you reminisce good things hehe..
Are those fungi edible?

I like the sound of the rain, could say that I already missed it.
I am not sure if they are edible. However, in these cases, I like to use a joke that every mushroom is edible, but some of them just once 🤣

Once 😂😂 they are edible unless you feel the side effect 😂

😂 excatly 😂

Your fungi pictures are always stunning!
You seem to have them on the rather LARGE side where you are...
unless it's the perspective that's deceiving..
In any case, they are simply beautiful!
Love the family! Brilliant! 😍

Yes, I think you are right, I don't see a lot of tiny mushrooms, just these big ones. Well, one of them was small, the white on the tree. 🙂
The family was funny, sitting one on top of another 😂

Yes, very cute! 😄

I have gone a lot of times to pick mushrooms in the bush, it is a nice experience, and you are very happy to find different types of mushrooms, edible and inedible. It becomes a kind of game, it is a very nice excursion, by the way, good photos!

Yes, it certainly is a nice experience to pick mushrooms. Also one has to know if they are good for consumption or not. I am not an expert in that though, so I don't pick them.,

You are lucky to have warm weather to find some fungi mushrooms. Here are gray, dark, short days with no Sun. all mushrooms even mushroom lovers are quiet and waiting for the next season. I love your writing style I enjoy your post while reading. Very special photographs. greetings 🙏😊

I think this is the only season when I find mushrooms. When spring comes and moreover summer, it's just impossible to find any. It is too warm and dry so the poor fungi can't cope with it. I hope the dark and short days phase will finish soon at your place :)

Yes, it is the same situation here the season starts in august and the season ends in October. it is not usual to get many different mushrooms because of dry summer but this year was too much rain and it is very good for berries and many different fungi and mushrooms. Mostly we found around the area we live. See what happens next year. Now waiting to finish these dark days It doesn't matter if it is cold but without sun makes me tired. hope you will find some more goodies in the forest and under or up on the trees. take care greetings 💓🙏

It's amazing the mushroom finds you share today.
I was amazed at this species.
They look very beautiful and unique.

I was happy to see any, and indeed, they are interesting, the chocolate one is my favourite :D

types of mushrooms growing on the vehicle. These make great objects to take pictures.

Well, not on the vehicle but on the trees :)

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@jlinaresp(3/10) tipped @mipiano (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

I'd like to taste that because it looks like chocolate :)

Hahaha, it does look like chocolate, but I am not sure we would like the taste of it :D

Yes of course!
The way you aim at the object makes it look like chocolate.
Blessings to you and your family.

Thanks and the same to you 🙂 👋

Yay, you found some more 😉🤓
Very cool. Yep… go out and see if the rain, even if it were small showers, have created some new mushrooms to grow… maybe the aliens 👽 missed them in the ground. And the rain helps them escape from their hiding 👋🏻😉
Have a wonderful weekend, good night @mipiano 👋🏻😎😴😴😴

Yes, I found more of them. But that's it, no more mushrooms at the moment. Maybe indeed after this rain, it was actually raining all day later. The night started just with some showers but the day continued with a proper autumn rain. Hope it was better at your place.
Have a great night and Sunday tomorrow 😃🌞

That’s great, just a shame no more for now, unless some will pop up after the rain. 🍄🍄🍄🍄 maybe they will.
The weather for coming week says rain from tomorrow onwards for 10 days. We shall see… 🌧🌧🌧 we do need it, so that’s good. At least… Mother Nature.
Thanks a lot @mipiano 👋🏻😊 good night, sleep well and have a lovely Sunday ☀️🌳🌺

I like the shape of mr heart it😊, Foreign masters I have often seen here

Yes, the heart-shaped one is cute ;))

😊😊😊

Nice finds! I often wonder why are the other porcini’s when I find only one, there should be the whole family there, just like that overcrowded family of yours 😁💙