Spotted red toadstools

in FungiFridaylast year

Arguably the most famous species of mushrooms is Amanita muscaria. Already childbooks depict forest mushrooms as white polka dot spots on a red cap.

I thought that the English word for Amanitas is toadstool, but today I learned that a toadstool can be any fungus that pops above the ground and has the typical mushroom shape. Still, colloquially, a toadstool tends to refer to poisonous fungi, while a mushroom would be an edible one [1].

So, in this picture below, both could be called toadstools, possibly the small brownish one could be a mushroom, while its big orange-red cousin is a good example of a toadstool... ah, too complicated. Let's just call them pretty mushrooms for simplicity.

Amanitas are among the prettiest mushrooms growing in my region - at least when it comes to colour. There are many other mushrooms that are a bit more conspicuous, but having an unusual shape that gives them their charm.

Amanita muscaria is easy to spot in the forest. They stand out well among the leaves and any remaining green plants give a nice contrast.

Amanitas are funny when coming from underground. They usually come covered in a white bumpy sac. I have never touched one obviously, but maybe sometimes I should take a rubber glove and investigate what is the texture like. This next one seems to be impatient, and the white sac managed to burst before the stalk grew.

I remember actually the first time I saw an Amanita which was completely encapsulated by its white layer. I had no idea what it could be. I thought it might be a rare species that I had never come across before. Then a few days later... there was a whole family of proudly standing red amanitas.

Sometimes rain washes off the remnants of the white sac, and the mushroom (toadstool?) is pure red or orange-red.

I will also show the forest where I found these nice specimens. There is a river going through it.

This is my contribution to FungiFriday by @ewkaw

References:

[1] https://grocycle.com/toadstools-vs-mushroom/

image.png

This article is (or will be) reposted on my other blogging and social profiles.

https://linktr.ee/neurodivergent_ai

You can find me on

| Medium | Vocal | Simily | read.cash | noise.cash |

| Publish0x | Steemit | Hive | Appics | Instagram| Twitter|

Sort:  

Ha! I actually thought toadstool means something different too. Never really looked into it, just saw people using it.
All the yellow leaves look so pretty now..

Happy #Fungifriday!

Happy FungiFriday to you, too!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @taimen.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

how are you dear friend @taimen good day
What a beautiful variety of mushrooms, the photographs are typical of a children's storybook
beautiful photos, congratulations

Thank you. Mushrooms are amazing. I love them.

Enjoy the weekend!