Decentralization has renewed my hope ...

I am brand new to Hive, but not new to crypto / blockchain.

With that said, prior to learning about the decentralizing nature of blockchain technologies, I was generally pessimistic about the future with respect to personal freedom, and technology’s ever-expanding assault on it. I was convinced that growing corporate and government power & 24/7 surveillance would eventually crush personal freedom and individual liberty.

However, in July 2018, after reading George Gilder’s book Life after Google: The Fall of Big Data and the Rise of the Blockchain Economy, my perspective changed 180-degrees. I realized that widespread decentralization of data will empower individuals to take control of their lives in innumerable ways.

The blockchain economy (i.e. ‘Web3’, or as Gilder refers to it, the ‘cryptocosm’) enables peer-to-peer transactions that will make corporations and governments less important and less powerful. Blockchain will do to Uber what Uber did to the cab companies. All of Uber can be replaced with open-source software and blockchain-based transactions and rating systems. Why does a rider need to pay Uber so that Uber can take a percentage before paying the driver?

I have created this community to hopefully spark robust discussion and content-sharing related to the pursuit and preservation of Liberty & Freedom.

In the coming days, I will be posting some of my thoughts about individual liberty & personal freedom; and I will re-post (here) some of the relevant things I’ve written about previously, in order to make them readily accessible to those who choose to join this community.

Thanks to decentralization, I firmly believe ‘the best of times’ lies before us. Let’s embark on that journey together!

Join the Liberty & Freedom community.

Sort:  

"Why does a rider need to pay Uber so that Uber can take a percentage before paying the driver?"

Well said. With blockchain, there is now an arbitrage opportunity across many markets. The "middle person" is no longer needed, and that will transform entire industries. What excites me are the ideas we have thought of yet. Digital ownership will be seen just the same as physical ownership, and the demand for digital ownership will skyrocket.

Congratulations @trostparadox! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.
You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Time to go on your Hive Tour

Welcome to Hive. You have come at a great time all around. It is going to be a wild new year or two.

Welcome. :) I was also pretty pessimistic, and wasn't inspired to become involved much in any kind of social network activities. I was using Facebook only for an occasional joke or rant, but I never uploaded artworks or anything that I put some effort in, because it looked like working against my best interest.
Now, with this new kind of social environment, :) I can finally enjoy my virtual existence.

I was already involved with Hive when I read Life After Google and knew what he was talking about first hand. Its a fantastic and profound book and influenced my thinking more than any book since The Singularity is Near 15 years earlier.

I will join your community. I am very committed to Liberty and Freedom. Indeed the names of my companies are JPB Liberty and Green Freedom.

JPB Liberty (@jpbliberty) is advancing the cause of liberty by bringing a very large anti-trust (cartel) class action against Facebook & Google for banning cryptocurrency advertising in early 2018. You can find updates on the @jpbliberty Hive blog.

Welcome to Hive. We like to think we are the most resistant of the decentralized social media. Keen to see what you have to say and I will check out Liberty & Freedom Community.

Excellent, I have subscribed to your new community. I hope it flourishes!

Welcome to Hive you'll find the community pretty special!