You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How someone may have attempted to insurance scam me tonight

in TeamUK4 years ago

Well done waiting for the police. Absolute typical scuzzball taxi driver. Lost his job? He's self-employed! Tricks they get up to....
I had exactly the same situation about 12 years ago. Barely touched the taxi, no damage claimed for by them as I had photos, it was in broad daylight but yet their injury claim was for thousands. I had a call from an injury lawyer within 2 hours of the bump! They were investigated by the insurance company's fraud department who decided to fight him in court. On the guys injury claim, he stated he could no longer play with his kids, ride horses!! or do any ironing. He was of course still driving.
He lost the case but was never charged with fraud. I lost my no-claims despite it not costing my insurance anything.
Total scum.
Again. Good for you for not backing down.

Sort:  

What!! You lost your NCB over a fraudulent claim?? How ridiculous!! And surely it must be a crime to make false insurance claims!!

Sometimes I think for these type of situations, it's better to not have such a well established system for claims. I can't imagine them bothering to try that in say Thailand (?) coz they know they won't succeed. You need a cowboy system for cowboy claims 😁