You Can't Have a Great Fantasy Comic Without Orchs! (... and no, Orchs is NOT a typo!)

in Creating Comics3 years ago (edited)

This was intended to be a quick sketch but instead kept me up into the wee hours of the morning. It was a good time. A drawing I'm overall happy with, listened to some good music... that's a good night in my book.

My productivity in 2020 has been as craptacular as the year in general. I'm trying to get the ol' pencil (Apple Pencil in this case...) moving again, shake off the rust and move into 2021 with some positivity. I decided to tackle some concept art for a creature that's been on my mind for some time.

I present to you an Orch!


Orch Concept 01.png


These handsome bits of nightmare fodder won't make their first appearance until the second issue of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." (Yes, yes, I'm still working on the first issue, just skipping ahead a bit here!)

This little portrait shows how newly sentient Orchid flowers utilize handy corpses to provide themselves with structure, mobility, and a convenient opposable thumb! But they ain't zombies! After all, "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." is a post apocalyptic fantasy for folks who are tired of zombie stories, but are still kinda rooting for the end of the world!

I'm looking forward to testing out some colors on this image tonight, but am also apprehensive about pulling it off. A lot of the disconcerting horror of the design is meant to be based off the protruding flower portions being rather beautiful! Obviously I'll show the results on a further post, y'know... if they turn out okay!

-Bryan "the Imp" Imhoff


Follow me for more behind the scenes looks at the creation of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." Your votes help support its production! Also look for limited edition digital artwork for sale on NFTShowroom.com

Showroom.png

Sort:  

Hmmm...

billede.png

Damn! Hadn't seen that! But to be fair, Prince did just about everything... between him & The Simpsons I'm just about devoid of original ideas.

Loving it! Great job. Too bad they will only appear in the second volume. I have ideas for second ans third volume of my comic but I might never get to it! Finishing one story arch would be quite an achievement already ;-)

They're not that far off! I'm planning in American "floppy" issues and they're in issue #2, and will have a solid role in the first collected volume/story arc which would encompass 6-8 issues. (That’s still a helluva lot of work for me and a long way off at present speed though!)

incredible creation my dear bryan..!

As someone with a few orchid plants I can appreciate that they can seem quite alien. I wouldn't want them walking around. I look forward to see what you do with this creature.

!BEER

Using the Orchid really arose more out of the verbal pun for me of calling them "Orchs" for short, thereby making them the Orcs of my bizarre little fantasy! But as I studied references a bit, the visual aspects absolutely began to appeal to me.

That "orchs" looks handsome no doubt lol! Menacing nonetheless. Could be an elder race of powerful tyrants!;)
Nice to see you again mate!

Thanks, glad to be getting back at it to some degree.


Hey @bryan-imhoff, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

!discovery nest