Coffee is a Part Of the Family

Ever since I was a child, there is a certain line from my mother that never changes until now. She will be always saying, "The coffee is ready!", and we would all race to the kitchen to have our cup of coffee to warm up our every cold mornings in the countryside. Maybe, it is from the influence of our parents and grandparents that have urged us to try coffee and learn to love it overtime as we have known its importance in our daily lives.

Brown Minimalist International Coffee Day Promotion Banner.jpg

Image created and edited in Canva.

At first, we were encouraged to drink milk during our childhood but it wouldn't be that convincing for us to follow if you can see your elders drink a different substance regularly. The one on your hand is milk or chocolate and it surely tastes better but seeing that black drink on their hands wherein they happily drinks, your curiosity as a child is triggered and you were slowly enticed with its aroma which is incomparable to what you have. I still remember how I begged my mother to let me have a sip of it and how she was persistently telling me that it's not good for me because I can't sleep with the effects of caffeine. yet, as the aroma tries to lure me in its wonders every day, I secretly tried when no one was looking.

It wasn't that bitter since my parents put sugar in their coffee but yes, I got hyped as it was the side effects for me and I have to sweat it out because I feel like my body would uncontrollably shake if I wouldn't move vigorously. It was the time where I finally understand why adults in our place drink coffee first thing in the morning and before going to work. It is to keep them active like an energy drink does that could keep them going even though they are already tired from work.

As a child who wanted to play all day, I started drinking it so I could have the enough energy I wanted. It was also where I started to love coffee and before I knew it, I couldn't take it away from my life. It is like my day wouldn't be complete if I can't have a taste of an ounce or just a drop of coffee. Initially, it was only my story within the family but my siblings also followed me, now we have the same favorite drink in the house -only coffee. However, I'm still wondering. Am I a good influence to them or not? Whatever, at least it's not drugs or any alcoholic drinks that we are addicted to.

For the love of coffee, my mother planted seedlings of coffee in our backyard which we already reap its fruits for a few times now. The variety is the most common one here in the Philippines, which is the Liberica beans. May it sounds very common and you can buy it anywhere for an affordable price, but I can assure you it would totally be worthy. The liberica beans were the ones used to blend and make the local coffee here named Barako. This type of coffee is currently the strongest long black coffee which is a common blend and literally, you can just find it in local coffee shop and every houses here.

milo-miloezger-rKYRJu0n06Y-unsplash.jpg

Image by Milo Miloezger from Unsplash.

The beans kinda looked like that, and their sizes are also like that. I can't share some pictures that came from our backyard because I'm currently still in the city for my college. I just hope that you can picture out what does Liberica Beans looks like or you can just do your research about it. If ever I can go home in my hometown, I'll surely take pictures of them and make a blog about it to share them here.

Right now, my mother has 10 or so coffee trees at home. She wasn't planting new seeds to grow new trees but some fallen seeds on every harvest grow on their own when rainy season comes. So, either she plants it or not, there will be new trees sprouting every season which she is thankful for since it could lessen her efforts. When I'm at home, my only contribution is to grind those roasted coffee beans by her. Then, I'm gonna make a cup from it in almost every 2 hours, that's how addicted I am with coffee. It just feels like drinking water, it has no effect with me now unless you put milk with it. In that way, I'll be a sleepyhead in an instant.

Coffee has been a part of our family. Everybody needs it before going on with our daily tasks. It's not a good thing for us if we ran out of it, it's a bad news for sure. Sometimes we are having a fight because of it (you know, running out of stocks and no one roast or grind, or no one buys from the store if the harvested ones run out, or someone steals others' cup of coffee which they make for themselves), but we also reconcile because of it. Every arguments are settled in every coffee time within the day.

For us, no need to wait for the International Coffee Day to show our appreciation and love for coffee. We do it every day as it is a part of our family and considered as a task in our to-do list which we can never crossed out. Thanks for reading!


HAPPY INTERNATIONAL COFFEE DAY!!!

Sort:  

That seemed very nice to have some coffee trees at home. Coffee has always been my friend too each time I need to stay up for several hours at night reading some lessons and answering some problems, and I couldn't imagine life without coffee.

Yeah, sure. You can save a lot from buying in the market regularly.

Happy International Coffee day but coffee is part of our daily hot drinks especially for Filipinos. Ma brewed man, 3-in-1, o kahit anong latter, swak na swak yane. Enjoy your cup. I am drinking mine too.

Enjoy your coffee, Ate. Happy ICD, too. ☕️

Thank you yane. More coffees and great days ahead of us. God bless.

Coffee is life

so true :))

True it is! A coffee lover doesn't need an international coffee Day to express our love for coffee. I love the story behind your curiosity for coffee :) hehe cheers to being a coffee lover!

Curiosity kills a cat indeed. Now, I can't get it out of my system. Haha!

Congratulations @ayane-chan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 50 posts.
Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List
Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022
 2 years ago (edited) 

Hey there!

I feel the love you have for this fantastic drink! I share the same sentiments of course.

Ahem!....your questions/statements

Am I a good influence to them or not? Whatever, at least it's not drugs or any alcoholic drinks that we are addicted to.

Then, I'm gonna make a cup from it in almost every 2 hours, that's how addicted I am with coffee.

😛

That's a nice story that your family planted a variety of coffee so you had your own beans....nice one!

Good luck!

oh haha, that question, tho. I'm just wondering if I was a good influence to my younger siblings back then since they followed my habits of drinking coffee as early as a kid. Haha! The love for coffee was passed down by our ancestors I guess, that in every generation, coffee wouldn't be absent in our everyday lives.

Happy International Coffee Day, @millycf1976! ☕️

 2 years ago  

Thank you!😊
Enjoy the last half of your weekend:)

Come Over For A Chat-13.jpg


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Coffee is also part of our family and I really can't start my day without coffee ☺️.

Indeed. Happy International Coffee Day.

It’s so fun to know your family is so into coffee so much. I thought it’s just you but apparently everyone in the family too 😅
Every 2 hrs is so grabeee hahahaha
I also love the aroma of coffee but I can’t drink black. I need milk or chocolate on it. 😅

wala akong magawa kundi uminom ng kpe sa bahay kasi wal din signal pang internet haha. wala eh, di kami bati ng gatas.

It's actually nice na may tanim kayo. 😅 Heavy consumers kasi e hahaha

So this is why you are so addicted to coffee because your parents are and aside from that, your family planted several coffee trees, too. I haven't seen a coffee tree in person, but I always loved to smell it. Just smell, don't drink. I don't really drink coffee and milk.

I didn't know today is International Coffee Day. This must be a good day to all the coffee lovers all around the world. How many cup of coffee have you drunk today? Have some !PIZZA

Nagtitipid ako kapag nasa city, walang free beans dito kaya 3 cups pa lang. hahaha!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@dennnmarc(5/5) tipped @ayane-chan (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

I was curious about that black substance being indulge by my grandparents before and they were very happy taking a sip on it while they're having a conversation. Usually in the morning or evening.

Because of curiousity I fell inlove with it and it impossible for me not to take a cup of it a day.hihi.
Having those coffee trees in our yards is really great. Will plant some soon.😊

Plant na yern. Kung malapit ka lang sakin, bibigyan kita seedlings.

 2 years ago  

Coffee every two hours! I don't know if I could do it. That would be too much for me.

That's awesome that your mom has coffee trees in the backyard. Awesome! 👌

Haha! That's what I do when I'm at home and I always got scolded by my mother. Lol.

Yes, she has a lot of it blending within the spaces beside the other fruit trees because she loves planting.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @farleyfund.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I love coffee I drink it every day. I should get some coffee trees are they easy to maintain? I always get together with family to get some coffee and we have a good time.

As far as I know, we're not doing anything to maintain them. We just let them there grow on their own. Unless, there would be El Niño or drought, we would be obliged to water them.

we were encouraged to drink milk during our childhood but it wouldn't be that convincing for us to follow if you can see your elders drink a different substance regularly.

Haha I can relate to this, we Filipinos really have an early exposure to coffee cause no household is complete without one but what amazes me is that your family was able to grow coffee of your own, that's amazing, honestly I haven't seen a coffee tree in person. Was it easy to grow? Or does it need a specific kind of weather or conditions?

I don't think so. We are not really doing anything to maintain the trees. They just grow in their own. Haha.

Wow, that's even more amazing. I'd like to go give that a try.

Aww, I am late for the international coffee day hahaha.

I am also a fan of coffee especially when I was a child but everything changes when I no longer get the benefit of it. My caffeine tolerance is already high so drinking coffee will just help me to relax and then sleep afterward hahaha. But I do still enjoy coffee, especially with someone :))