Farewell coffee

These days I have been a little bit absent from my blog since I took a few days to disconnect from the net and rest. This is a strategy I always use to recharge my energy and activate my creativity. Being off the net for a while allows me to experience invaluable experiences with my loved ones.

This little break was opportune to have some free time to share with one of my friends since she is moving to another country and I didn't want to miss the chance to say goodbye to her. What better way to say goodbye than with a coffee?

Farewell coffee.png

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

My friend had been planning this trip for a year now, and as expected the date to board the plane was a couple of days away. Luckily we had the space to share a farewell coffee.

It's amazing the places where we can find valuable friendships. This girl is the mother of one of my son's classmates. To tell the truth, our sons were not very close, however, they trained together at the soccer school and so it was that every afternoon while we watched the training sessions a friendship was born and I discovered a kind, sincere, and sometimes a little clueless person 🤣🤣🤣

20220830_152023_Snapseed.jpg

While our kids were training we were sharing some delicious sweets and coffee. I'm not much of a sweet tooth but the good company made me enjoy making some desserts and bringing them to share.

20220831_065031_Snapseed.jpg

20220830_151839_Snapseed.jpg

We were always together at our children's school activities. We would coordinate parent meetings, and school functions and even do crafts and help the kids. We managed to make a group of friends among some of the mothers in the classroom.

20220831_065200_Snapseed.jpg

I confess that I am not sad to see her go. I don't usually develop attachments, but this doesn't mean that I don't feel affection. I am aware that each person completes a cycle by our side, that's why I enjoyed every moment we shared and I tried to give the best of me. I know that my friend felt that way throughout these years.

Our farewell coffee was simple and we met at another friend's house. Today we had a delicious "guayoyo" coffee. This is a coffee filtered through a cloth strainer. It is smooth like American coffee and with a touch more sugar. It is a smooth and sweet coffee at the same time.

IMG_20220820_185928.jpg

Venezuelans have the facility to make friends spontaneously and the first thing they do is share a coffee. Coffee is what is known in gastronomy as a unifying ingredient. No matter your social status, or political or religious beliefs, coffee brings together a group of diverse people who take pleasure in this beverage. So this coffee among friends was special.

fotoefectos.com_.jpg

I am happy about my friend's new path. I know she will do well and achieve many of the goals she has set for herself and her family. I think the greatest demonstration of true friendship is to wish her well and support our friends even if they are far away from us physically.

Was this the last coffee? Maybe in person, yes, but there are video calls so maybe we will have coffee afternoons virtually 😃...I'll tell you about that!

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

Thanks for reading. See you in next post!
All images are property of the author

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

English (2).gif

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Hello @chaodietas
Welcome back!
We all need a short break sometimes to re-center and connect all aspects of our beings. It's great that you got the chance to catch up with family and friends and of course enjoy your favourite beverage, coffee:)
See you around!

Thanks for your kind words, I'm happy to be around these parts again 😃

 2 years ago  

It's sad to see a friend leave but nowadays with zoom and FaceTime and all of those types of video chats, people can seem much closer than they actually are. Good luck to your friend.

Screenshot_20220624-132244_Discord.jpg

Hi @leaky20,

It makes me happy to think that my friend is pursuing her dreams. Of course today it is an advantage the forms of immediate communication that technology allows, so I have been able to keep in touch with many family members and friends.

Have a nice day 😃