Cold Brew vs Traditional Iced Coffee at Smooth Cafe

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee3 years ago (edited)

Cold Brew Medium.jpg

Hello Hive!

Ever since @macchiata talked about Cold Brew in her post, it had been lingering on my mind since.

Today, after I took my daughter to her karate class, I somehow found myself locked out of our gate. The lock was jammed due to corrosion and was in dire need of WD-40. This is one of the struggles of living on an island so close to the sea.

Panagsama Beach

With that, I drove back to Panagsama Beach to spend time reading blogs inside Smooth Cafe, a newly-renovated coffee shop that I have shared previously here.

Smooth Cafe

I immediately asked the barista for a cold brew and to my luck, they have one available.

Cold Brew vs Iced Coffee

Cold Brew is prepared by soaking coffee grounds in room temperature water for a long time more than 12 to 24 hours, while Traditional Iced Coffee uses hot water to brew and release the flavors.

With Cold Brew, the less bitter and acidic compounds are extracted, thus unleashing the sweeter and subtle flavors of the coffee.

Most days, I'd keep to myself but I was feeling more social so I ended up interviewing Raymond, the barista on what makes their cold brew special.

He enthusiastically shared that they use equal parts of Arabica, Robusta, and Barako ground coffee steeped in water for 16 hours.

Plain Cold Brew

Nitro Cold Brew

They used to serve frothy Nitro Cold Brew.

"Nitro coffee -- cold brew coffee infused with nitrogen gas through a pressurized valve. -Thrillist - How Nitro Became the Hottest Thing in Cold Coffee"

I stepped behind the counter where he showed me their Nitro Coffee Valve and Nitrogen Gas. Unfortunately, they paused serving the velvety textured coffee at the moment due to difficulty in getting nitrogen gas from the city.

The one I tried today is a plain cold brew but I already felt its strength. The caffeine buzz was strong. I felt the urge to drink the glass of water next to it as a chaser. I was however energized immediately.

Cold Brew Quote.jpg

The pairing with the CacaoLab Bean to Bar Dark Chocolate piece was also perfect. Not sure if it was linked to the caffeine buzz but I was able to unlock our gate when I got home. 😁 Thank you for reading!


Template Discovering Arni.jpg

"I create spaces that tastefully marry function and aesthetics. I intend to immerse myself in beauty not only by tangible objects but also by the unseen." -

@discoveringarni

Curiosity and imagination lead to unexpected experiences. Interested in Nature, Places, anything French, International Cuisine, and Architecture + Interior Design. Co-founder of Architecture + Design Community. Feel free to follow her, re-blog, and upvote if you enjoy her content.

Sort:  

Hey ....amo your publications!!! They take me on the journey within them.

I am sure you will enjoy them very much from Café Venezolano.☕🇻🇪😃

Oh wow thank you @cvnuitter 😀, I'm now intrigued by the coffee in Café Venezolano! I found myself googling about it now.

Wonderful here I share with you one of my publications where I talk about coffee and chocolate from Venezuela ☺️😃

https://peakd.com/hive-184437/@cvnuitter/the-delicious-venezuelan-coffee-and-chocolate

I just checked it out, an awesome place! I am sure many members of this community would love to learn and see more about the coffee culture in Venezuela 😊

Yes, there are many beautiful places to show and a lot to show about coffee and Venezuelan culture.

It is a commitment I will do it 😉😁🤗I will tell you more about our coffee, cultivation, places and ways to prepare it.

I can imagine how enthusiastic Raymond was while taking you about their coffee.
Personally, I don't like coffee, not even tea, it weird to me when I see tea lovers and a good one, I wonder what makes them love it so much haha.
I have tried cold tea before I fell in love with it since then. And when I say cold tea, I mean chilled and also iced 😂
It's weird I know but the taste is just heavenly compared to the hot one.

Hi @zellypearl, he was happy to talk about coffee, or perhaps he was also bored and was pleased to break the monotony. 😁 I guess it's the caffeine buzz that we coffee and tea lovers love so much lol

Iced tea especially fruity flavored ones are great as well, especially on hot afternoons.

well then, that great.
Yeah iced tea is great in hot weather

 3 years ago  

I have heard of cold bree but have never tried it. I'm intrigued by the version made with nitrogen. It sounds really good. I'll keep my eyes open for it

Looking forward to hearing your feedback and the effects on you once you try it.

There must be some powerful magic in the plain cold coffee brew you took? Because with it you were able to open your jammed gate?...haha. Anyway, I'm curious about that Nitro Cold Brew as it's the first time I've heard about it. Is that a common coffee concoction available in most coffee shops in the city?

Haha perhaps.. the power of cold brew lol.

I heard Starbucks Reserve Bar have their version of Nitro Cold Brew. According to the link, Starbucks in Ayala Center, Mactan Newtown, and Axis Entertainment in Escario have them?

Hmmm, interesting! I was in Starbucks just a couple of days ago hehe. Will ask them about it next time. 😀

 3 years ago  

Hello @discoveringarni Very interesting article on the cold brew. To be honest, cold brew has been lingering on my mind too since @macchiata discussed it recently. I'm looking forward to experiencing the difference because I only ever go for a frappe, if I'm not having a hot brew.
I guess Smooth Cafe is ahead of the game.
I hope you got your lock sorted. Not a nice experience to be locked out of your house, worst the gate. I hope you're not in a hurry for a toilet break 😅

Now we need to hear your experience too and if you also feel instant caffeine buzz :D

 3 years ago  

hehehe! I hope I'll head out very soon! :)

Kombucha is something I'd like to try in Smooth Cafe next time. Yes, you're right, they're ahead of the game.
Haha yes..last year when the lock was stuck, I climbed over the fence and the barbed wire but I wasn't in the mood to do that today. I preferred a cold brew lol. Luckily, I didn't need a toilet break. 😂

That seems very energetic, I never had cold brew, Now I need one! 😀 Also do try the Nitro brew as well and let us know how was it!
By the way , I really like the typeface you use with the pictures, it makes it look more aesthetic.😁

Hello Sahiba, quite curious to learn about your reaction when you try it.
Thank you, I have been experimenting with different fonts lately while tinkering with Adobe InDesign. 😀

There's a very similar font to this one called Bilie Ashley that's my recent favourite. do try it once. 😁

I just looked up Bilie Ashley and it's pretty! Let me check, I've been toying around with so many fonts I forgot the name.

Me too I was thinking of creating a font recently during my spare time using fontself. It would be great fun!😁

Oh it's called Bright Cheerful

Oh okay, that's wonderful:)

Hey @discoveringarni :)
The cold brew tends to be extremely strong yet a little sweet as you described the coffee must had energised you to the max. Have you tried iced coffee from this place?
That café and the coffee seemed very photogenic though :D
Keep flourishing and hope you enjoyed your day :)

Good morning Praditya, thank you for your good wishes 😊 Yes, I have tried their traditional iced coffee here as well. Find out more about it in this post with some images of their Iced Americano and Hot Americano (my usual favorites). Cheers and wishing you a great day ahead!

Oh that's great. I shall check out the post as well. :)

 3 years ago  

Yay! Thank you so much 😀

 3 years ago  

You're welcome!
Pop by anytime :)

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you so much @anggreklestari, Foodies Bee Hive Team, and @foodiesunite for your support 🙂

And the coffee lady made her way to the coffee shop.:)
Cold brew coffee? I haven't heard about it but I am sure the taste was great since you said the bitterness was extracted.
And you always have a way of capturing the moment and you are very intuitive, imagine asking Raymond that question heheh.

Thank you for the compliment. Hehe, I was teasing friends that coffee runs through my veins which makes up 90% of my blood lol. Being locked out of the gate got inspired a blog content 😂

Hehe he, it indeed runs in your veins lol.
I am not surprised if your blood is coffee color hehehe.

So, how did it feel? more caffeine buzz than regular coffee? 🤣

It's crazy, I've never felt that much caffeine buzz than before 😂

I still have the cold brew and I am contemplating to drink them just two spoons until it runs out. I can't handle such caffeine buzz from cold brews 😄

I must admit, I felt a slight headache from the effects. It was the glass of water that prevented a full-fledged headache.😄

I'm popping in there tomorrow. Maybe twice. On the return leg i fancy trying something different. Thanks for the inspiration @discoveringarni 😃

Enjoy @scubahead , I'd like to know what you think afterward because the effect is strong. Coffee usually doesn't affect me but this one does.

Congratulations @discoveringarni! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 25000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.
You got more than 2000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Tour Update - Financial stages

Talking about coffee I am one of the coffee connoisseurs if I don't drink coffee one day it feels like my head will break ...😁😁😁

caffeine withdrawal is the worst 😄