You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CLOSED - Coffee Conversation - a chance to #WinHive

in Cinnamon Cup Coffeelast year

Lol snort it. 😂
It's true what you said about the link between smell and taste. Our tongues can mainly only register sweet, salty, bitter, sour and umami, most of the other tastes come from smell. Blind folded with your nose plugged, its really difficult to discern the difference between and apple and a raw potato. Lol

Sort:  
 last year (edited) 

@leaky20 It's funny that you say that about apples and potatoes. As a teenager, I never liked apples because I thought they were like eating raw potatoes. 🤣
That's because I compared (American) apples to my local Jamaican apples which are soft, delicious, and sweet. They are known as Otaheti Apples. I had massive trees in my backyard that would be laden with those apples. 😋

otaheti apples.jpg

 last year  

That's interesting. I've never even heard of those before. So many fascinating fruits and vegetables that I'm unaware of.

 last year  

Yeah, "exotic" fruit is amazing. My husband is not a fruit guy, I have to force him or trick him to eat fruit, but it's just different culture... and I have to admit that fruit that he might like such as pomegranate might have been more like punishment for me to eat 🤣

 last year  

untitled.gif

No to pomegranates...interesting

 last year  

Haha! That lion is so cute. I wish I had a cheetah as my bodyguard here. I haven't ventured out much in local towns, but having a cheetah by my side would be reassuring 😁

I'm sure you know that potatoes in french is Pomme de terre? Which is "earthy potato" literally...

 last year  

Yes, that was one word that I could say and understand 😂

This fruit is known as Puma lacquer or Puma rosa.😁

 last year  

I will look it up 👍

 last year (edited) 

haha!