French Press Inspired by @millycf1976 | Home Cafe Video 😉

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee3 years ago (edited)

Last month, @millycf1976 showed us how to make a good french press coffee. Today, I am trying her steps with a 600ml French Press. I also attach a video that I made! I am trying a home cafe vibe but looks like things are still a bit messy 😂


image.png

When I first got this french press, I was confused on how to use it. First, it's been a while since I use french press. Second, it's because mine used to be smaller. I tried to find something smaller but I couldn't. So, I have to settle with 600ml french press. This baby is so fragile and I am trying to be extremely careful with it.

Without further adieu, let's get into the process!

image.png

Before using it, I like to wash the apparatus and wipe them clean. Then, I boil the water. It takes sometime which is good since the french press will be dry.

I use 4 spoons of my toraja arabica. I am sad that it's only a few teaspoons left.

20210325_131119.jpg

Then, after that, watch this video below to see how I pour the water and steep it.

But before that, I also like to add some milk into my morning joe. I use this lactose intolerant milk because that's what currently available. I normally use regular milk or half&half.

20210325_131235.jpg

Plunge the coffee slowly and pour it to your favorite mug!

Also, always use wooden spoon instead of metal spoon.

20210325_132719.jpg

I also like to add an 8 gr of sugar into the coffee. Oh yeah, this was definitely a great brew!

20210325_132208.jpg

I notice the difference between using white and blue mug. In this mug, the coffee looks darker and gives a bitter taste perception. But usually upon drinking, it tastes fine and not bitter at all.

At the moment, I am constructing a small home studio. Once it's done, I hope I'll get a better space to get messy and do some more crafting 😁 Please let me know if you want the video to be longer. That was my first time so, I'd definitely need a feedback 😊

Now, have a good morning!

Line_Break2.png

Mac

Line_Break2.png

Mac covers technology, philosophy, nootropics, books, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity and languages. Other than those, she is passionate about cooking and travel. In her free time, she enjoys learning art and exploring new hobbies.
Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Hello @macchiata
Great video.
Perfect speed for the pouring of water. It makes a massive difference, same as in making teas. I discovered that many years ago when I purchased some expensive chamomile tea with instructions on how to make a cup suitable for the queen 😆. I've also watched the Taiwanese make tea, and the distance of the pitcher from the cup, along with the speed is relevant.
The same goes for the French press.
I always use more coffee than what instructions say for French Press and I always get a great taste.

Indeed! the speed is relevant and so is the coffee. I think mine is a bit fine whereas I'd need something medium because I spotted that my french press has bigger filters.

 3 years ago  

Ah, yes! It is suggested to use bigger grains for the French Press. That's why many have concerns and the desire to strain the coffee before pouring, as some grains tend to get in your coffee more than with other types of machines. However, I get the impression that having an extra and direct remnants of coffee is not something that would affect you :)

hahahaha it's definitely not something that bothers me. But yes, it would be nice to have medium grains. I'll tell the roaster next time. I am switching my love to french press now 🤣

 3 years ago  

Hello @macchiata