The Future of Commercial Coffee : V60 Like Dripper Kapal Api Drip Luwak Blend

The first thing that comes to mind when I see EASY DRIP , is a teabag. I was picturing having to dunk my coffee several times before I can enjoy the coffee. But what I found is far more interesting because the "dripper" design is something I'd like to see more in the future. This could be one of the easiest way to enjoy cafe quality coffee at home.

20210429_190717.jpg

Kapal Api Drip Luwak Blend is a luwak coffee blend with toraja arabica. If you don't know what is luwak coffee, it is a partially digested coffee cherries, which have been eaten and defecated by the Asian palm civet (Paradoxurus hermaphroditus. This coffee has delicate processing and is known to be the most expensive coffee variety in the world. In the recent years, there are many commercial brands producing coffee with luwak specialities. Kapal api, is a brand name coffee company that tries to sell the coffee in the premium range market.

This Kapal Api luwak coffee comes in a box with 5 dripper bags. It costs about 3$/each box with 10gr/each dripper bag. I don't know if it's expensive or not but I think that's a reasonable price. Prior this, I have never tried an actual luwak coffee, so my taste bud can't really be trusted to do compare and contrast with the regular coffee.

The coolest part of this coffee is the dripper. When I first opened the box, I didn't quite understand how it works. Basically, the dripper works like the "bag" version of v60. On the sides, there are handles that will held the bag when you put it on the cup. This is how it looks like, interesting isn't it?

20210429_191310.jpg20210429_191317.jpg20210429_190739.jpg

What's My Verdict?

I was brewing the coffee just like how I normally do the v60. When I first tasted it, the coffee has the same characteristic with a good toraja coffee, balanced, has ripe fruit and chocolate aftertaste, and smooth.

I also mentioned earlier that I have not tried any luwak coffee prior this. So, I can't really tell the actual characteristic of it. But I think that the taste will depend on the beans variety, soil, and other factors including how the civet was raised. This Kapal Api Drip use Toraja beans, so it was why I notice the taste is similar to a good Toraja beans. It was an interesting cup because it tasted similar as the one I normally have at the coffee shop. Even I can make cafe quality at home, I would still visit coffee shops because it's part of my self-care.

More about Luwak Coffee

When you learn about the process behind the coffee, you will think that it's quite disgusting. But this complicated procces and the civet involved are what make this coffee rare and expensive. However, there are reports that mentioned this expensive coffee has a dark story behind it pertaining to animal abuse. Some articles also mentioned 3 reasons you should not drink luwak coffee that includes the authenticity of the civet's coffee. I couldn't agree more that luwak can be used to enhance the marketing and sell it to the premium market.

I heard from my aunt that there's a luwak coffee farms nearby. When I visited Wonosalam east java, I also spotted luwak coffee signs. The driver told me that it's also cheap because one glass cost about 10k IDR. Now, after having to read about the process behind it, I wonder how the whole the process there before it goes into the cup. I am looking forward to visit the place soon. So, stay tuned about this coffee journey in the coming future.

Have you tried Luwak Coffee? Would you try it knowing it comes from Civet's poop?

Line_Break2.png

~ Mac

Line_Break2.png

Mac covers technology, philosophy, nootropics, books, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than those, she is passionate about cooking and travel. In her free time, Mac enjoys learning art and exploring new hobbies.
Sort:  

Can't wait the upcoming coffee journey!

I like contextual background from an event. Behind a cup of coffee, there are stories such as cultural heritage, history, environment, etc. I ever heard from a trainer of barista that the taste of coffee is truly sensitive to environment where it grows. Agree, even the regular coffee (non Luwak), the processing of coffee is complex. ☕

Yes, the environment where it grows matter. It will impact the beans and the result from the roasting process.

 3 years ago  

Hi @macchiata
Drip on coffee is amazing. We were introduced to it by Japanese customers and when we went to Japan we stocked up on supply for the year, while living in the Philipines. The quality is like that of freshly brewed coffee and the prices are reasonable :)

Oh that's amazing. is Japan the origin of that drip design?

 3 years ago  

It's quite possible that the Japanese invested it. They love these clever stuff :)
So convenient!