A peaceful morning starting in Gesha Gori village. Ethiopia does really come to our home.

in Cinnamon Cup Coffeelast year (edited)

Alert: This is not a real story, but it includes real persons and quite accurate sequence of events!

It’s quite early… Mrs Samuel woke up just before sunrise and prepared a tasty Ethiopian breakfast for her husband - Adam Overton. She smiled as she recalled how everything started. It was just like yesterday when she decided to go back home - in Ethiopia and start running this coffee farm. Starting something from scratch was very challenging, but the fact that this 471 hectare land was next to the Gesha Gori forest gave Mrs Samuel a great deal of excitement and belief in the difficult task.

Gori Gesha coffee farm is just some kilometers away from the Sudan border and the climate feels perfect for coffee growing. There are three varieties grown here - Geisha 1931, Gori Gesha and Illubabor forest. All the beans are a target of different experiments including different type of processing and intensity of drying.

Source of the image: https://dabov.coffee/gesha-village-the-coffee-pearl-of-ethiopia/

This day was going to be special. Mrs Samuel was expecting an old known fellow from Bulgaria - Mr. Dabov. He was coming with a special task. He had to find the finest coffee beans, buy them at a fair price and bring the tasty coffee back to his country, where coffee lovers would enjoy the divine taste of sweet tropical fruits with the gentle finish of jasmine and vanilla.

It was just February, but the coffee picking season was near its end. Soon, the farmers would start preparing the coffee farm for the next growing season. They had to make sure that all the beans coming out of the Gesha Gori village were of the finest quality.

When the meeting between Mrs Samuel and Mr Dabov finished, everyone seemed very delightful and happy with the results. The lady has received a pretty good offer which was very fair for the amount of work needed to produce this excellent coffee. On the other hand, Mr Dabov was happy, because the coffee he has just bought was excellent. It was gonna be just a matter of months before these beans arrive in Bulgaria and become roasted, delivering the sweet aroma of Ethiopian Geisha coffee.

And now, the coffee is here and I can enjoy it in my peaceful Saturday morning. I’m a bit lazy, I can sleep so much more, but the kids really don’t allow such type of activities. The best solution is just to brew some v60 coffee and lay down on the soft sofa.

This was one of the coffees that I wanted for some time and I recently received this delivery. I can taste the sweetness of the beans just from the aroma which fills the living room when grinding these beans.

Of course this geisha will be most enjoyed brewed in the filter set, but I can as well try it prepared on the espresso machine. Today I chose the V60. I want the morning to start slow and easy.

One problem occurs… the brewing time of the coffee is very slow and I think the coffee is too fine about the V60. Wonder if this is due to the fact that I haven’t cleaned the grinder in some time. The coffee would taste good, of course, but it will need some basic improvement for achieving brilliance.

Some minutes later, my coffee is ready and I can sit peacefully, next to the window and enjoy the last colors of the autumn. Winter will be here soon and these colorful threes would not look the same. But until the snow starts coming, it will be a few more weeks.

Wish you a beautiful day! See you soon!
Bye!

Sort:  
 last year  

Interesting way of presenting the information about Geisha coffee. I like it 👍
Coffee sounds pretty good too.

The Dabov coffee company should out you on their payroll for the marketing you do for them. I think you are their biggest fan. You make me want to try their coffee that's for sure.

4.jpg

I had the idea for this post when I saw the article in the Dabov coffee website. They always give some information not only about the coffee beans, but about the farmers and the specifics of the growing region.
I can sound like a fanatic fan of Dabov, but really this is the place where I receive the best price/quality ratio. They have also some games with the customers, which is quite cool and entertaining way to enjoy your favorite coffee.

 last year  

It's a clever idea for writing and definitely good to support quality businesses 👍

 last year  

Hello @mdosev
This was a nice little fraction of a story.
It's nice to drink coffee by the window in autumn, especially if it's one like what you have with a rich aroma.
Have a lovely weekend, and I trust work-life is more balanced and less stressed now:)))
General Banners-15.jpg

Autumn brings some nice vibes with these colors. The Gesha gori farm really sounds very interesting and it would be quite nice if someday I manage to visit one like this.

Jordan Dabov is really good at keeping in touch with farmers all over the world and he is known to work with a lot of specific farmers and farms that are known to deliver excellent product.

I am quite calm now. My worries around the current project are over and also I managed to catch the mouse that invaded our home 😁
The week seems to end quite well!

 last year  

OH, I'm especially happy to hear about the mouse:)

Yes, I love autumn, it's actually my favourite season. I love the warm colours and yes, it's a great vibe during that time.

Happy that you're feeling relaxed and balanced:)))

Aww, I felt like I am smelling the aromatic geisha coffee from your side, my friend. I have not tried this variant, but it seems suitable for my taste. The colors of autumn were so perfect with your cup of coffee. I wish to see a photo like this with a blend of snowy atmosphere. Enjoy every cup and have a wonderful day my friend.