My special gear for making coffee. No this is not a chemistry class!

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee3 years ago

img_4041.heic

Here we go... in my previous post in this community, I shared where my coffee passion started and showed you a very special coffee brewing equipment. It’s called Hario Siphon. I retell brew coffee in it, because it requires more time, compared to other brewing methods.

img_4033.heic

But now it’s Saturday and here we come! Just the right day to start the morning with some pretty delicious coffee. This will be the third and last coffee from the India pack. This means that soon it will be time for another delivery. But we’ll see that in other post.

img_4035.heic

The brewing succession starts with preheating the water and measuring the coffee. Today I’m going with 30g of coffees or approximately 3 cups of coffee. I preheat the water, because the alcohol burner is relatively weak and if I had to boil the water entirely on it, the time needed would be around 20-30 minutes...

img_4040.heic

After the water is boiling, the upper part of the brewer is to be mounted. This is the pet where the coffee comes in. But before we put the coffee, we have to wait for the water to come in the upper part. This becomes only by boiling and increasing the pressure in the lower part.

img_4059.jpg
I mixed 4 photos to illustrate the process!

Now it’s time to put the coffee, when the water is all in the upper chamber.

img_4047.heic

img_4048.heic

The average brewing time in the siphon has to be between 1:30 and 2:30 minutes, which depends entirely on the roast level and grind size of the coffee beans. I went for 2 minutes this time. And the 2 minutes is the time when I take away the fire burner.

img_4049.heic
After the heat is away, the lower chamber will gradually start to become cooler and the back pressure starts to suck the coffee back in. This usually takes about half a minute and at the end the coffee seems to become boiling. It’s not actually boiling, but the low pressure starts to suck air inside, so it appears that the coffee is boiling.

img_4051.heic

img_4053.heic

After the coffee is all in the lower part, you can release the upper part and voila! Your coffee is ready!

img_4056.heic

You need your best coffee cup and you can pour the coffee in it. I love this brewing method, because it brings the best aromas out of the coffee and the bitterness is very limited, almost not present at all. I really enjoy mornings, that are beginning this way.

img_4058.heic

So have a nice weekend and see you soon with another aromatic cup of coffee.

Sort:  

I often joke with my dad about how we should be getting beakers and test tubes and a full chemistry set to make our coffee with how much fiddling and measuring and all the variable we try to keep in check when we make our coffee.

I honestly something think I should don a lab coat when I'm going to make a brew cause I often feel like I'm performing some scientific experiment. XD


Communities I run: Gridcoin (GRC)(PeakD) / Gridcoin (GRC) (hive.blog)| Fish Keepers (PeakD) / Fish Keepers (hive.blog)
Check out my gaming stream on VIMM.TV | Vote for me as a witness!

That’s incredible 😁 it’s great to see where science meets coffee!

 3 years ago  

Hello @mdosev

Wow!! I'm intrigued to taste this! It looks like science experiment with a bunsen burner, clamp and flask 😁

It surely looks scientific! There’s something special around brewing coffee with this set and and I like it a lot.