International Coffee D̶a̶y̶ Date

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee2 years ago (edited)

Yes, I am a day late, I know, hear me out though...

After getting back home yesterday I didn't have much time nor the energy to edit and sort out the pictures, let alone sit for a little "blogging" session. Hence, here were are now, this is how me and the wifey used October 1(International Coffee Day) and turned it into an International Coffee Date.

The day started at 10AM, with me heading towards the Rajarbagh bus station to pick up my wife. She was heading towards Dhaka from Khulna for a little vacation let's say, it's been a while since she's last been in Dhaka. So, after travelling over 200 kilometers in just 4 hours(which is nothing less than a miracle) I picked her up and got back home.

We did know about the date and its international "coffee occasion" as well; yet, we didn't know that Tabaq would be giving us an offer that we simply couldn't refuse. The offer was a cup of coffee for just $1 USD, only for October 1st, no takeaways or online order either.

We got the news from our Facebook feeds, thanks to a post that was shared from Tabaq's official page(Facebook still does come in handy nowadays, not a 100% useless lol). It was one hell of a deal to be honest, the usual price is around $2.50 to $3.0 USD for a top notch cup of coffee in Dhaka.

Now, most of you may already know that I absolutely love Tabaq, and luckily, so does my wife. So, you couldn't really expect us to miss out on this little "event" could you? And we had already planned on going to Tabaq within the next few days; we always come here, especially this little branch of theirs, because it is our go to "dating spot".

So why not get that little date of ours done and dusted on International Coffee Day?


PXL_20221001_120845189~4.jpg

PXL_20221001_114815652~2.jpg

PXL_20221001_115415561~2.jpg

PXL_20221001_114824370~3.jpg

PXL_20221001_114733662~3.jpg

PXL_20221001_114944911~3.jpg


After getting back home from the bus station we had lunch and decided to rest up for a while, planning to head out towards the coffee shop just before 6PM.

This place was just a few minutes away, so the distance wasn't an issue, but we were a bit worried about not getting a table.

This is still their smallest branch out of all the branches they have, it's also the first. I love the fact that even after all the success they still kept this place quite "original", the space is still the same in size, the look still holds the same vibe too. They can very much afford to relocate or at least get a bigger space on the side, but they decided not to, instead they are staying true to their roots and respecting their little home ground.

Luckily, when we got to the place only one table was taken out of the six tables that are available.

In Dhaka you have to get your timing right, or you'll be left standing in line or pushing traffic for countless hours. It's funny, a few minutes ago the place was empty, but just when the clock hit 6PM, people started rushing in; a few even had to leave because all the tables were taken.

That is what I was "hinting" towards earlier, when I talked about being present here before 6PM; because after 6PM whether it be this cafe or another, weekday or weekend, such popular cafes and restaurants are always fairly packed.


PXL_20221001_115644443.PORTRAIT~2.jpg

PXL_20221001_115659191~2.jpg

PXL_20221001_121236170~2.jpg

PXL_20221001_121028850.PORTRAIT~2.jpg


For the order we started with my current favorite, the Chicken Tikka Sandwich, paired with a new sandwich they've just added, called the Smoked Chicken Sandwich(Chicken Tikka on the left, Smoked Chicken on the right).

Both the sandwiches were good in terms of taste(as always) but the Smoked Chicken Sandwich was a bit more "fulfilling", and it had to be, because it costs about a dollar more. And to be honest, any of the sandwiches they serve here are tasty and big enough to satisfy and fill your tummy, even if you're someone who likes to eat a bit more than the average person.

After we're done with our sandwiches they serve us our coffee, the waiters here have gotten used to our little "date routine" haha.

It's like the scene from The Wolf of Wall Street, where Matthew and Leo sit down and order a streak of martinis, then they start humming away, performing some sort of a mating call for making making in the brokerage business. A crazy little scene, but funny right? Or am I the one who's crazy?

untitled.gif

And of course, with our coffee it's either some cheesecake, a brownie, or this little beauty right here, The Ultimate Chocolate Cake.

A cake made by the chocolate Gods and sent all the way from chocolate heaven; and no, I'm not making things up, that's what really goes on behind the scenes while making this heavenly taste of chocolaty goodness. This thing is the "priciest" item out of all the things we order at Tabaq, priced just above $4 USD. However, it is also big enough to feed and satisfy two people, because that evening we both only managed to finish half of it haha.

So, we got our leftover half packed for takeaway and ordered another piece for my two younger brothers while heading back home. No way we're leaving it behind and wasting food, especially not such a heavenly treat.


Well, that's about it for our International Coffee Day. How was yours? Or are you someone who enjoys and celebrates coffee on the daily? I surely am not that hardcore when it comes to coffee or even tea, but I do have my moments.

Cheers folks. ☕️

Sort:  

Hello, Wow I love the place, it is beautiful, I really like the concept they have and it is understandable, why they queue to be there, the desserts and food, the photos speak for themselves, everything looks as you describe, good and can not be left out the protagonist of this great review, I mean the birthday boy of the month the coffee, it looks creamy and delicious XD, this drink really is in the homes of everyone, I only know one person who does not like coffee and I told him that so far there is no one else hahahahahahahaha, great publication, see you soon.

The birthday boy sure did get some love yesterday, not like they don't already, but yesterday they just received a bit more attention. We humans were at the party too, from all around the world, holding an aerial view, while the birthday drink and its acquaintances, the sandwiches and the cakes looked all pretty and dolled up on the table haha.

Yet, soon enough we humans became the party crashers, showering these pretty little treats with a merciless amount of love; so much love, that in the end there was none left on the plates or cups.

Thanks for dropping by mate, and for the this unique little comment of yours, it surely made my day haha. Cheers ☕️

I heard of the international coffee day obviously it was everywhere on social media so one couldn't possibly not know but I tasted nothing as coffee nor tea. Lol!

I'm sure you had a great time and what?? I'm just knowing for the first time that my hive crush is married? Oh jeez! I'm so heartbroken. Haha, just kidding actually.

Your food and coffee images is actually getting me hungry right now. That sandwich looks delicious, I'd trade my favorite dress for it. Lol.

but I tasted nothing as coffee nor tea

You should've at least made some coffee or tea at home, joined in on the "trend" haha. I lowered down my coffee and tea intake by a lot, so whenever I get the chance to sip some coffee at these cafes, I really don't miss out on that chance.

I'm just knowing for the first time that my hive crush is married? Oh jeez! I'm so heartbroken.

You'll have to get in line then Tekyy, Facebook, IG, Hive, you name it, I've been "crushed" on many different forms of social media, but trust me, I'm a different breed of crazy and not worth the trouble hehe. 😵

untitled.gif

Your food and coffee images is actually getting me hungry right now. That sandwich looks delicious, I'd trade my favorite dress for it

If you ever come to this side of the world, especially my country, then just let me know, it'll be my treat at Tabaq. Just make sure you keep that favorite dress of yours safe and sound, these sandwiches aren't worth trading for haha.

You should've at least made some coffee or tea at home, joined in on the "trend" haha

Couldn't join this time.

You'll have to get in line then Tekyy, Facebook, IG, Hive, you name it, I've been "crushed" on many different forms of social media,

You're hot then😳. Now your wife is so damn lucky.

you ever come to this side of the world, especially my country, then just let me know, it'll be my treat at Tabaq.

You bet! I'd reach out immediately,who wants to miss out on eating a good food. Lol

Just make sure you keep that favorite dress of yours safe and sound, these sandwiches aren't worth trading for haha.

LMAO! This is hilarious. Okay! My dress is out of the picture.

Couldn't join this time.

Next time it is then. ☕️

You're hot then😳. Now your wife is so damn lucky.

Yes, a true hothead lol. 😠

who wants to miss out on eating a good food

Not us it seems haha. 😂

Okay! My dress is out of the picture.

Sounds goodd 👉🖤

untitled.gif

I will be another couple of days late to celebrate my International coffee day date! :D With the puja festival, we muslims are taking up majority of the hospital shifts to accommodate for our Hindu colleagues to celebrate well with their families!

You gotta tell me how you did that strike out on the title! I've tried to strike out words in the title of posts, but have never been able to figure out how.

I will be another couple of days late to celebrate my International coffee day date!

Your time will come Doc, and when the time does arrive, I know you'll put it to good use; you are one of the very few "coffee veterans" on Hive that I actually know, so I can bet that you'll be celebrating this little coffee event to the fullest haha. Just make sure you keep us updated with a good little post. 😏☕️

You gotta tell me how you did that strike out on the title! I've tried to strike out words in the title of posts, but have never been able to figure out how.

Google, Doc, Google always has the answer, just type strikethrough text or generator and you'll find quite a few options. Even though I couldn't really find a perfect strikethrough generator site, it's a little tilted to the right, not aligned perfectly, but it gets the job done I'd say.

Just make sure you keep us updated with a good little post

That I will hehe!

I found some strikethrough generators and you are right, they don't generate a perfect text. With markdown, "~~ ~~" this does the job perfectly in the body of the post, but it doesn't work on the title.

"~~ ~~" this does the job perfectly in the body of the post, but it doesn't work on the title.

Yep, I tried it at first but it was a fail, so then I had to try and search on Google.

 2 years ago  

Thanks for stopping by:)
Every day is Coffee Day!
You're very welcome. Have a Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious Day!-4.jpg

Hey, heyy, I thank you for dropping by, really appreciate it.

Every day is Coffee Day!

Well, it used to be, but not anymore, I've decided to simmer down on the coffee craze hehe. 😅😂

 2 years ago  

Wow that is quite the deal. Good thing to went to get that coffee while it was so cheap. That meal looks delicious too, especially the brownie 😋

Screenshot_20220630-062708_Discord.jpg

One hell of a deal indeed, too good to miss out on. That pricing and the way they marketed the whole thing was truly the main attraction on that day.

If only these offers were available more often, I'd be in a happier and more energetic mood, but my pockets would end up being dry, like The Empty Quarter desert haha. Yet, I would say it'd still be worth it about twice a week, nothing like a good cup of coffee.

That waa a nice read. You're not nice though describing those sandwiches and that heavenly goodness 🤤. I know it is just from the looks of it. Oh how I love chocolate cake, like I'm not a fan of cakes, I'd rather have a pie or doughnut but chocolate cakes make the exception.

Now I'm starting to crave, I hate you! 😄
To get one, I have to "travel" 😫

Oh well, ain't nothing like coffee celebrations over here so drinking coffee is something that just happens, not planned, not daily either just happens maybe cause of where I work, or where I'm visiting or what's on my shopping list.

Cheers to you too!

That waa a nice read. You're not nice though describing those sandwiches and that heavenly goodness 🤤. I know it is just from the looks of it.

I tried my best to describe my experience. 😵 The offer was too good to just skip out, so we just had to.

I'd rather have a pie or doughnut but chocolate cakes make the exception.

I love them all, just depends on my mood and which one I haven't tasted in a long time. That's how the order usually goes for me.

Now I'm starting to crave, I hate you! 😄
To get one, I have to "travel" 😫

Don't hate me now, just run towards your closest cafe, click a few pictures, eat away, and when you're done you can send me some "revenge" pictures haha, or maybe even a post of your own? 🤔

Oh well, ain't nothing like coffee celebrations over here so drinking coffee is something that just happens, not planned, not daily either just happens maybe cause of where I work, or where I'm visiting or what's on my shopping list.

It's the same for me, but whenever I'm out working or in a rush, then I just decide to eat outside. Sometimes it's just for the experience too, if I'm feeling like it then I'll just head out on my own haha.

Cheers to us all and to a good cup of coffee. ☕️

I see.

Revenge sounds good, and a post of my own sounds even better. I do hope I find the time.

☕️ 😁

Hopefully you'll be able to manage the time for a coffee session and that revenge post haha.

Cheers ☕️