The MUST-EAT "X" donut + Old school Thai coffee


IMG_4569.jpeg


IMG_4556.jpeg

IMG_4560.jpeg

IMG_4561.jpeg

IMG_4563.jpeg

IMG_4564.jpeg

IMG_4565.jpeg

IMG_4567.jpeg

IMG_4569.jpeg

IMG_4576.jpeg

IMG_4588.jpeg

We’re here in Burirum staying right in the middle of the city. Strolling around the city and we found this good looking stall in a local food market. They also it’s a must try! As they serve one of the best Pa Tong Go in town. In this case, I will just call it ‘X’ donut so you can remember it easily. Here’s why the ‘x’…

Pa Tong Go! (ปาท่องโก๋)

Pa Tong Go is a Chinese influenced snack/dessert or even a breakfast for some. It’s a deep fried dough in the ‘X’ shape. I hope it all makes sense now!

People eat this X donut with many different things. I remember loving it so much when I was a child and dip the X donut in a condensed milk and have it like a dessert or snack. Some people dip it in congee or rice porridge. This could be a great breakfast combo. Some shop sell it with ginger tea and soy milk as they go so well together. Have them in the early morning or in the evening are all good.

Pa Tong Go at Choom Phol Cafe (กาแฟชุมพล)

Here at Choom Phon, the famous little coffee shop in a local market in Burirum, they serve this X donut with old-school Thai coffee, Thai tea, Chinese tea, or milk and other different kinds of drinks both hot and cold. So they have the X donut somewhat as a dessert. They even offer some dipping sauce to go along with it like, pandan egg custard or condense milk. Classic! Really remind me of my childhood.

It’s one of the best X donut I have ever had!

Seriously, it’s not just a random X donut. I have talked with the owner (who’s there working herself as if she’s one of the employees which is impressive!) and she told me that she’s the 2nd generation of the shop. Her dad started it. They focus on the quality and only use good ingredients. Most X donut shops use ammonia to make the dough bigger and got air inside, they don’t. It’s pure dough and I can assure you that, it’s that soft, fluffy and full bite! It’s just good!

Old-school Thai coffee & tea

I have mentioned that they serve the X donuts along with these drinks I would like to describe as ‘’old-school. How so? You ask… You see how nowadays we either go with all these new methods of coffee/tea making. Machines, mocha pots, instant coffee/tea.

Have you even seen or thought about how they boil the hot water, put a bunch of coffee or tea into this tea bag, stir it around in the hot water a bit and kinda quickly drip the liquid out of the bag. Might remind some of you of drip coffee.. show bar kind of. Nope, a little far from that. This method is classic, quick and somehow make a great unique test of both coffee and tea.

The Thai coffee and Thai tea they use for this way of coffee making are also quite different though. The coffee got that unique bitterness that have that hint of sourness as well. Most of the time they are mixed with sweeten condensed milk to give a sweetness and creaminess it needs. Having it hot in the morning is nice, or having it cold in the afternoon Thailand’s heat is super refreshing as well.

I bet a lot of you have never tried either the X donut or old-school Thai coffee and tea. Now that you know what they are, I’m sure you will see them everywhere on the street, in a local markets and else. Give them a try! Though, I don’t promise it will be as good as this one at Choom Pool Cafe in Burirum, there’re still a lot of good ones out there.

Dang, now I want one X donut!

ร้านชุมพลปาท่องโก๋ กาแฟโบราณ 2 ตลาดโต้รุ่ง
https://th-th.facebook.com/RanChumphlKafaeBoran2/
Address: ตลาดโต้รุ่ง Rom Buri, Nai Mueang, Mueang Buri Ram District, Buri Ram 31000
Tel: 0854121222

Sort:  

My day was just start, and I need this coffee 👀👀👌👌👌👌☕

A little sweet though, might not be delicious for some.

Uh.. I hope not very strong, but I must still try it 🤗😆👌👌

I have never heard of the X donut and old school Thai coffee. This post is surely very interesting and broadens my knowledge about coffee traditions over the world.

It’s very good that you enjoyed the X donut so much! If it’s that tasty as it looks on the photos and as you describe it, it surely is a must-try!

Have a nice day!

Thanks! The X donut yessss - Some though, no all out there!

My My The Food Looks Amazing Here And That Coffee 🥺✨

Hehehe if you like sweet and creamy coffee almost like a dessert, you might like it :)

 2 years ago  

Very cool photos. The X donut looks really tasty and the process of making them is really cool. What is the green stuff that youre dipping it in? - sorry I didnt catch that part.

Screenshot_20220624-103238_Discord.jpg

it's this

They even offer some dipping sauce to go along with it like, pandan egg custard or condense milk. Classic! Really remind me of my childhood.

Thanks for checking out the post! :)

 2 years ago  

Oh I see now. Thanks for pointing that out 👍

 2 years ago