My sunday with DKK

Another lovely Sunday, this time spent my adorable great nephew DKK in the park. You may (or may not) have seen my previous video of DDK from two years ago when he was a little toddler. A couple of years ago, we went to see my ancestral village in Hong Kong and I made a video of that. I've added that video to the end of this post if you're interested to see some of my heritage and roots.

This is DKK today, he's nearly four years old, he's a lovely and chatty young lad. I bought some Smarties mini eggs for him, all kids love chocolate and he was no exception. Bless the little man, he has very good manners and was very happy to share his sweeties with me and his mummy.
172200028_279726640297745_183353283529393411_n.jpg

Apart from being such an adorable toddler, DKK really earned his sweeties. Last week, on Easter Sunday, he popped by and bought me these lovely little white daisies. Doesn't that just melt your heart ❤️
image.png

His mummy says he loves giving flowers to people, this one is for his mummy today.
172103152_279726490297760_8873172472807516181_n.jpg


It must have been years since I've been to a children's playground. Not having kids doesn't give me any reason to go. Kids are so rowdy and annoyingly noisy!!! That's unless they're your own. Yes, now I know why parents can tolerate badly behave kids and rascals, and why their little devils are always angels in their eyes.

Although I have 9 nieces and nephews, I missed watching all of them grow up as I was living away from home most of the time. Coming back home to the UK this past year, Covid permitting, meant I could see a bit more of the next next generation, my five great nephews. I think that is the silver lining from Covid. And I swear, I'm not biased, my five kids are the cutest and most adorable boys you can imagine 😄

Now back to DKK and today. There were a lot of kids in the playground, and lots of activities for them to do. It's very interesting watching kids play. They seem to have this fearless attitude of climbing onto things that are two or three times their height, or whizzing 100 miles along a zip wire!
172617957_279726583631084_540128203643984599_n.jpg

172702211_279726553631087_6306685739005024947_n.jpg

And then they have this natural instinct to play with other kids they don't know. After playing a little while, DKK comes running back to us to say this other little kiddie in a green top is his friend. We saw him slip and fall when he was running around. His mum was as cool as a cucumber and didn't bat an eyelid. Yet I was a little worried, especially when he was on the ground for a few seconds. I don't know how tough kids are.
172188702_279726373631105_1571186222226650903_n.jpg

DSC_3088.JPG

After a while, I went over to play with DKK. I think he might still be getting over his little slip, and pointed to the spot where he slipped. He seemed a little annoyed with that spot. He was standing in between two swings when an older kid went on one of them. My natural instinct was to immediately move DKK away in case the kids swung into him. The kid didn't move, and DKK didn't seemed bothered at all. I wonder if I was being too Tiger mummy great aunty and over protective. Perhaps the kids knew what they were doing and I didn't need to be too concerned. Great aunty lesson 101 learnt today.

DKK grabbed the other swing and after giving him a few pushes to start him off, he knew how to kick his little legs backwards and forwards to keep swinging. I was very tempted to have a go myself, who doesn't loves swings? Maybe not when there are so many kids around. Perhaps I'll go back on a week day when there's no one around.
DSC_3082.JPG

We finished our day with a Who can pull the silliest funny face contest. Who do you think won? 😜
DSC_3087.JPG

livinguktaiwan divider.png
And here's the video of my walk around my acestral village in Hong Kong with the two year old DKK. Please give it a like if you enjoy watching it as I'm still tring to grow my YouTube video. Thanks!!


Sort:  

Seems like little kid having a lot of fun in the park

He loves it there, so much to play, but I think I may have had more fun than him😁

Get your butt on that swing! How could you not?!
What a lovely boy and so sweet giving out flowers. My daughter was lovely at that age, now she is a teenage monster 👹 enjoy them while they’re young and innocent 😇

There were so many kids there!!!!!

He's really sweet, I'm so glad I can catch them whilst I'm back home. Teenagers!! Give her a couple years to get over the teenage rebellion years, she'll be a daddy's girl again!

Hopefully she won’t drive me completely insane before she gets through this rebellious phase. Too much like her dad 🤣

Fun little guy. I'd like some smarties too.

Come on over, I'll buy you some 😄

Aww Pauline what a great picture of both you and DKK. He really is so cute. What a great day at the park and eating chocolate, playing and flowers, who could ask for more.

Definitely a great way to spend an afternoon Sara. Makes so much difference to brighten up this rathee dull life. Not sure if I can do it all the time, it's so tiring!!

He is adorable and what a fun aunt you are
That pic of him holding the flower - I likeeee ;D

Thanks Sheila! His mum took that, he's very natural in front of the camera

DKK looks like a little character. My boys pick flowers for us on our walks too. It's a very sweet thing to do...

Speaking of sweets, the little man has a kind heart too, as not many toddlers get the whole sharing thing as you know!

Awww... it's so sweet when they make these little gestures, so adorable❤️

Definitely. It says a lot about their temperament and the adult they are destined to become 🥰

Thats an awesome playground. It has a zipline and everything! Looks fun. Great place to spend time with your nephew

I think I may have enjoyed myself more than he did, makes you forget how horrible this world is

And watching the kids play is so interesting, no barriers at all

My how his hair has grown from 2 years ago. Good looking kid. He will make a lot of hearts break when he grows older 😊.

Hard to imagine the ancestral village is in HK. I've been there a couple of times in the past and didn't see anything like that with open spaces and low rise structures. Mostly I saw tall apartment buildings and I got the impression land is so scarce only the really rich can afford to live on house and lots.

We're the indigenous bunch, ie been in Hong Kong way before the Brits or anyone else landed, so live in a traditional village, but sadly that's been developed now as well and there are a lot of high rise blocks in the village, such an eye sore 😢

Wow so much history in that village. I read the novel Taipan by James Clavell and you made me remember that book. It was all about HK pre and post Brits.

What a cute and sweet little boy DKK :) Guess he will be an outdoorsy man in the future 💝 I'm glad you both had fun together in the park.