My encounter with the wild boar

in PhotoFeed4 years ago

Together with Stefan and Robert I visited a wetland near the Salzach River in Salzburg for some wildlife photography in spring 2017. During this time the wild boars just got their offspring so you were able to see them around in the woods when wandering through them. In this situation you have to be extremely careful and you definitely should not wander around alone because the wild boars want to protect their offspring and are therefore super careful and can even attack you.

We had luck that they didn't really notice us and minded their own business instead of attacking us, so it was pretty easy to get some nice pictures of them even though I didn't have my 600mm tele lens by then but still had to use the 55-300mm lens for these pictures, so I was pretty close to the animal, and I am till this day wondering why it wasn't that bothered by me.

DSC_0121_2.jpg
Wild boar looking at me. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D5100
Lens usedNikor 55-300mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1000 Seconds
Aperture usedF5.6
Focal Length300 mm
Time09:52 am
ISO100

DSC_0182.jpg
hungy wild boar looking for some food on the floor. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D5100
Lens usedNikor 55-300mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/500 Seconds
Aperture usedF5.6
Focal Length300 mm
Time09:56 am
ISO100

The wild boar was just interested in the fresh grass that was growing on the side of the forrest and also looked for fresh roots in the ground. Also a lot of wild garlic was growing on the forest floor and you could smell it all around the forest.

DSC_0191.jpg
Wild boar in the forrest. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D5100
Lens usedNikor 55-300mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/500 Seconds
Aperture usedF5.6
Focal Length300 mm
Time10:02 am
ISO100
Sort:  

Meeting these lovely animals in the "wild", especially a female with young ones - all country-bred people learn early on to avoid it. As a teenager I often had to cross a small wooded area on my bicycle, sometimes in the dark, and I knew the wild boars were resting there. I tended to sing while cycling there ;)

Wow that had to be awesome encounter.
Definitely some good shots were created, that I can see...