Darwin Sunsets Part 1

in PhotoFeed2 years ago

Darwin, which is in the North of Australia is famous for it's sunsets, I was a little sceptical I must admit, I mean a sunset is a sunset, I've seen them before I mean how 'amazing and different' can they be.

Sunset - Mindil 5 (1 of 1).jpg

Okay it will set over water which is always nice, but again I live on a bay it's not that hard to stand somewhere where west of you is over water.

But there is actually something about sunsets in Darwin, firstly they do what's happening in the above picture, I don't really understand it, but it's about 20 minutes after the sun actually disappears and you get those rays, maybe it's something to do with atmosphere, the only other place I've seen it is when I'm on a plane.

Sunset - Mindil 3 (1 of 1).jpg

They are also pretty darn good a the classic sunset over the beach shot - this one is the famous Mindil Beach, just not on a market night so instead of 2000 people on the beach there are like 10.

Sunset - Mindil 2 (1 of 1).jpg

And Okay at palm trees in the resort look which is always nice.

So nice in fact I shot it twice

Sunset - Mindil (1 of 1).jpg

And finally pretty good at an apocalypse now style clouds over a orange horizon look. (without the deadly chemicals of course) although Darwin is a military town so the peace was punctured quite regularly with the sounds of helicopters training by swopping low along the coast.

Sunset - Mindil 4 (1 of 1).jpg

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Lol... and I'm a sucker for a good sunset! ;)

You would love Darwin then - pretty much a guaranteed awesome sunset every days for 4-5 months of the year.