Fire at Mindil Markets

in PhotoFeed2 years ago

I've spent the last week or so in Darwin & Kakadu, so stand by for a photo dump of many many photos.

Hopefully they will be in some sort of order.

First off the rank are these shots, massively accidental. It was Sunday night, so we went to the Mindil markets which are what you do in Darwin on Thursdays or Sunday nights. The Markets are basically like any market, a heap of food stalls and general stuff that you sell to tourists. It special, like most things in Darwin because the of the vibe (and the sunset over the nearby beach, but sunsets of Darwin is a whole other post)

To help with the vibe, there were performers, singers and what not an, fire twirlers, now a know what you are thinking, fire twirlers, boring, but there was something about these two which appealed, plus I needed somewhere to sit to drink my Mango Lassi, so I plonked myself down on what I soon realised was the back of the 'stage' and happened to catch the show, and real off a few (okay 10) pics, now I have no idea of how to shot fire twirlers, sometimes I was trying to freeze the action, most of the time I was looking to capture the movement, all down with the camera sitting on the grass and Mango lassi in hand.

The two performers as I understand it are Flowpyre AKA Kacie and Thomas Robinson

So here we go let's look a a few shots and then I'll discuss the vibe...

Fire People (1 of 10).jpg

Fire People (2 of 10).jpg

Fire People (3 of 10).jpg

Fire People (4 of 10).jpg

Fire People (5 of 10).jpg

So what is the vibe of Darwin which I'm talking about and what does it have to do with these two performers, well, it's the laidback nature of it, this is literally just a circle of dirt amongst the trees, and yes she wearing a an outfit that wouldn't be out of place on the beach, it's just got this vibe of, yeah this is really impressive but you know it's no big thing, and it's mostly about fun and enjoyment.

Fire People (6 of 10).jpg

Fire People (7 of 10).jpg

Fire People (8 of 10).jpg

Fire People (9 of 10).jpg

Fire People (10 of 10).jpg

And then of course there is the sultry-ness of Darwin, the heat, the sweet the hint that there is just a little bit of danger lurking around the corner.

Sort:  

Ah fantastic you brought me back to my travels in 2006 and 2007 in my minds eye just now with those photos, they always remind me of full moon party night in Koh Phangan