Scenes from a Bike - Edition 3

in PhotoFeed2 years ago

The Eye (1 of 1).jpg

Welcome to The third edition of the series - Scenes from a bike

The concept is simple, I've bought an electric bike, on this bike I explore my hometown, Melbourne Australia and take photos, Priority 1 - Finding new places in Melbourne, Priority 2 - taking better photos, Bonus - Earn back the cost of the bike by creating content and getting paid for it on HIVE.

This Edition facts:

Location: A little pocket of Kensington - this is a tiny pocket which is still filled with warehouses, including some very old ones, but things are changing, there is recording studio, craft brewers and of course apartments being built.

Date & Weather: Saturday the 17th of June, It's winter in Melbourne, it's been raining most of the week, but the sun have peeked it's head out on this early afternoon.

Equipment: My Fujifilm X-T3, and I'm starting to push the envelope a little. I've mated it with a 18mm (27mm in full frame speak) prime lens to see how minimal I can go. it's still in a bag which I learnt quickly was annoying, I need to just go shoulder strap I think

Finances: The bike cost $1,100 USD. So far I've earned $23.12 meaning I've paid for 2.1% of the bike and I have $1,077 to go.

Other stuff: Still haven't charged the bike - by the end of this ride (which wasn't far) we have done 63 or 64km and still have maybe a 5th of a 'tank' of power left, I want to see how far it can get.

So less writing, more looking at what I found.

The shot at the top I liked simply for the light and I'm a sucker for shadows of trees, the pattern is the logo of the company housed in the building - I'm ambitious to make the whole wall you logo but I like it.

Skins (1 of 1).jpg

4f, 200ISO, 1/1000, 27mm
This building is just so cool, it's the huge 'Young Husband' building, back in the day it was a big old storehouse, including for skins and hides as well as flour, all sorts of things. There is a train line running behind the building. It's be empty for years, but has just be sold to developers and is about to get restored.

Fire (1 of 1).jpg

7.1f, 200ISO, 1/500, 27mm
I was drawn to this building by music, this is actually a very old building which has been restored, For 6 storeies up I could here the music, but there there are various things in here, the recording studio, stage builders, and of course it has all modern like fire system.

Easy Flow (1 of 1).jpg

11f, 200ISO, 1/200, 27mm
It's like the evolution of industrial building around here, this is a 1650's or 60's red brick, some would say boring, I would say beautiful.

24 Hours (1 of 1).jpg

9f, 200ISO, 1/500, 27mm
Probably not a shock that do in the dead part of town there is a fair amount of graffiti, but what a canvas to work on.

Building (1 of 1).jpg

6.4f, 160ISO, 1/500, 27mm
One of the new apartments springing up, this looks almost finished, I like the starkness of it in the current state, I'm sure it will soften with plants once people actually move in.

6 (1 of 1).jpg

5.6f, 160ISO, 1/1000, 27mm
Back at Young Husband after doubling back to find my dropped lens cap (my set-up really wasn't working for me today) although I should mention all but two of these shots today are literally from a bike in the sense that I was still sitting on the actual bike when I took them (stopped of course, I'm not that good)

40. (1 of 1).jpg

5.6f, 160ISO, 1/800, 27mm
I loved this little piece of art, it's obviously deliberate but was it an artist with a vision or simply one of the nearby workers who found a drink bottle, a can and a plank of wood and thought - you know I see an owl in this?

Sort:  

These old buildings definitely have theirs own charm. These bricks (called single bricks here in Bulgaria) always look very cool and they will be up to date even used in some modern building.