13 Miles

in PhotoFeed3 years ago

That is the distance I have to move while exercising what I already called my Long-Distance Gardening. The distance between my current residence and the place where I can have fun experimenting with land and plants, with tools and weather, with care or neglect.

Those 13 miles prove to be quite a lot when not in the mood for driving or when any other excuse would stop me from spending those minutes of travel to get to the point where there's always a lot to be done.

Then again, there's everywhere a lot to be done.

Can't be everywhere.


The Village Road s.jpg


This is what the road somewhere along those 13 miles looks like on an early summer morning.

Camera Settings:

Aperture F 5.6; Shutter Speed 1/125 sec.; Light Sensitivity ISO 200; Focal Length 70 mm.


Many such a moment I pass by on my way to Daily Routine. A lot of them I note and I ponder upon for a while and I consider myself lucky that I feel it all.

Do you?


Not a lot left to harvest in the garden. It was a symbolical yield, anyway, a result of our so-called R&D endeavors. Still, I am pretty happy that most things were able to grow from seeds. Not so with herbs. None came out but I might have been pushing them into quite different from their natural territory.

The things that came uninvited and claimed territory show me the power of natural consistency. So...I must find a way to employ the same power. Fight grass with grass and bush with bush, so to speak. Now, which would be the proper grass and bush to counter the wildlings...

Anyway, my morning quests shall continue and I hope they shall be frequent during the autumn as well.

Moments shall be captured!

Peace!

Yours,

Manol

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 67 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3

What a beautiful stretch of road, going on seemingly forever. I have not been keeping up with you, but, need to read back a bit. The last year has brought different challenges to our doorstep and it is nice to see you turned yours into something good.

Thanks :) I'm rarely actually writing any stories...perhaps once a week or so. The physical work is more and that's good in a way.

But I'll get to some balance. Eventually ;) And before the Universe ends, I hope.

Peace!

Hehe... That is good to hear! :))

Interestingly, my own harvest this year was primarily herbs and little of anything else. I had a good growing season until about two weeks ago, when it seems it all began to give up on me. Lessons for next year, at least.

Your road in that picture looks a lot like southern Alberta, where I grew up. There is a lot of "middle of nowhere" in Alberta. But at least there are some hills. Saskatchewan, the province to the east, barely has those; it's just flat for as far as the eye can see.

Ah, yeah, I love the hilly structure of my hometown region. I had forgotten it for a while.

A cool new thing that I just found out is that...thirteen miles and three villages away, there's a place on the road from which I can actually see the large hill that sits just above the town and the receiving radio towers on top of it. It's like...

We're close to The Tower now and it can be seen from afar.