Photofeed Update - We need your help! (Contest Voting Issue)

in PhotoFeed4 years ago (edited)

sdf.PNG
 

Hey Photo Community!

 
Before we get into details of the current issues I have something pretty amazing to share with you guys. Our Twitter profile which has currently 107 followers is doing incredible well in terms of gaining reach. Only in the past 28 days we had over 18.700 impressions! Thanks to everyone who is liking and sharing our posts. This really attracts new people to this platform!
 
asdf.PNG
 


Current issues

 
Alright, let's face the current "problems" on our theme & editing contests - The Voting
 
We started this contest series with "Votes from the community" in the comment section which I would love to keep, but, unfortunately it doesn't work that well.
 
The big issue is that people who post their entries early have an advantage compared to the people who enter the contest late. That's of course no ones fault, but still something to think of.
 
Of course, the easiest solution would be to vote manually by a single curator, but, I would really love to have a system where the community votes for the winners.
 


Solution

 
So far I got one idea from @brittandjosie who suggested to us #Dpoll - Something I've never heard of but now researched a bit and it could potentially solve our issue (No decision yet)
 
The more ideas we have the better. So I'm asking you guys if you have any suggestions or ideas on a proper working voting system (community based) ?
 
If so - Please share your ideas in the comment section. No matter how crazy they are, every input helps us to develop a better working system.
 


This weeks improvements

 

  • Theme contest split - Amature/Professional
    (Starting with our next contest, we will now provide 2 different tiers Amateur/Professional - So no one needs to feel excluded from our contests and everyone will have the chance to win.)
     
  • Discord - I have cleaned up our discord server. Removed & added new channels. Now it should look more welcoming for new users.
     

The great thing is that we can adjust, add and remove things from our contests anytime and we are always flexible to improve our features. I hope you guys have some ideas and suggestions on how to improve the voting system - Cheers! 😀
 


I'm looking forward to have a chat/discussion with you guys in the comment section or on our discord server. Cheers!

 
Best,
Photofeed
 


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 17 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

Go ahead!

Yes sir! :))

Great thriving account and discord is always good. I think the voting via hive community a also a possibility. We will see what the outcome is

Thanks! We got this! :))

I am happy that response to your weekly photography contest is that well!
We are having so many amazing shots and I love the competition.

Voting should be improved, but problem is that I don't know how :)
Maybe Dpoll would be the solution, but I am not familiar with it.

Wish you all the best with the contest and thank you for your hard work.
Really appreciate it, as looking at top daily photos is a great moment of my day.

That's very nice to hear! I'm glad that the community responded so well to the new contest feature. It's incredible how many people enjoy these contests!

Haha, yeah it's a tricky one to figure out the voting. But the good thing is that I can adjust it each round of the contest until we figure it out :))

I remember a photo competition that now disappeared, in that all the photos were placed as comments in one post and the comment with most upvotes would win. Could it work?

Unfortunately not. People don't really like to comment vote for winners. I've tried it now for a few weeks and it just doesn't work that well.

I'm still figuring out how to solve this issue.

Thanks for your input!

About dpoll I understand that you have to go, log in to your profile to be able to vote, I don't know if everyone is willing to take that many steps.

I think we need to change the system a little bit, maybe even make a post about it, and leave in the comment also the link to the post along with the image, that way we could reach more users, even give reblog to the winning posts, so more people will know about the contest.

Based on the above, a manual curator will be needed.

You could set a time window to participate of 5 days, after posting the contest we can participate for 5 days, that way two days are free for the curator to decide the winner.

That's what I can think of for the moment haha, I'm very sleepy because I've been a bit busy these days.

Yeah a lot of your points make sense.

But there are a few issues - I don't really want to post to many things on the Photofeed account. In my eyes it will get to messy if we have to many posts. Currently there are 11 weekly posts which should be pretty much the limit (except we add a new feature)

Thanks a lot for your input tho.

I think there will be no other option then manually curate the pictures. I will do it in the first place and after that maybe we could have every week a different person from the community to curate our photos?

Let's see how that works :D

You could have two separate deadlines: one to post a contest entry, and one to vote. For example, participants have three days to enter a photo, and then when the entries are all in, the voting opens up, and we have two days to vote. That would eliminate the advantage of entering early, but would require a curator to re-post the entries for voting.

I would love to use this system, but the problem is that people don't like to vote no matter how many days they have time.

I think i will go back to manual curation (with weekly changing curators) until I developed a better solution.

Thanks for the input!

Perhaps instead of number of upvotes it is the top value of the payoff of the entries? This would also be a way to motivate and give additional benefits to the contestants. Also, I think this will make the voting a bit more honest, as there could be hundreds of accounts voting with 1% but if I really like and appreciate an entry, I would give that photo 100% upvote with my max value. I may be wrong, just thinking aloud. For my two years experience here, I know that decentralization is not equal to democracy. Simply the biggest stakeholders set the rules.

I think that why they have a reputation limit on the voting. The issue with value of payoff is that one large vote can decide the contest each week. Is that what we really want? We have that on trending in the communities already.

True. I am not sure, to be completely honest :) On theory, people who invested the most should be those who care the most about having good content and develop good initiatives and Hive in general. What am I also afraid of, but I didn't mention in the previous comments is that some folks have several accounts. If/when the prizes become bigger what would prevent them from voting with all their accounts. I don't know. It's quite complicated.

Why don't we just trust @photofeed to decide the winner(s). He has proven good taste and eye for great photography and long time contribution!

Yes I suggested that; he could have an editors pick then a popular vote. Why not have both.

Both sounds perfect to me :) Cheers :)

That is epic about the twitter. I should get started on twitter as well. I have always avoided it like the plague.

Yeah I'm also not the biggest fan of Twitter but it turned out to be a super helpful tool especially for the PhotoFeed account to publish announcements or new contest.

I'm really stunned how many impressions this account gets. Numbers are still increasing -

ds.PNG