Decima: One Mission - Chapter 5 - A'mara Books

in Web Novels4 years ago (edited)

Decima_1_cover_1600.png

Previously...

5

(Wirnday)

Soundside, Çtaráña

.
Hrista felt her eyes drooping as they sat on the old couch in the storehouse.

“Lie back with me,” Kjane suggested.

Hrista felt her conflicting emotions. She couldn’t, really!

“I’m not suggesting anything other than sleep,” he insisted. “I meant what I said, I’m going to take care of you until we part ways.”

“Okay,” Hrista said, letting him guide her back, snug against him, barely able to stay on the couch. “A bit crowded.”

“Yes, but we can both get the rest we need. I will keep my arms around you so you don’t fall off.”

“Thanks,” she said, snuggling against his warm body.

“So, what were you thinking of doing now that we’re in Çtaráña?” he asked.

“My mother told me to find my father and my brothers.”

“And they’re in Çtaráña, aren’t they?”

“Last we knew.”

“I’m sorry they didn’t live with you anymore.”

“It wasn’t safe. Not since the Empress destroyed the Complex.”

“Your father is A’mara, isn’t he?”

“Yes.”

“I guess that might be why the Empress is still after you.”

“But I’m not gifted!” Hrista insisted.

“You might be.”

“Not like my brothers.”

“I’m sure you have some of the gifts or you couldn’t have hidden the way you did getting off the ship.” Kjane pointed out.

“I make zip-lifts go faster than they’re meant to,” she said with a grin.

“See?” he asked.

“And you? What do you want to do in Çtaráña?”

“I’m looking for Çtarest to keep operating T.R.A.S.H. in safety.”

“My father went there!” she replied excitedly. “Do you know where it is?”

“No, not really. Though, I think that’s part of the point. What about you?”

“I don’t know either. But I think we need to find out.”

“Yes. Together, we’ll find them,” he promised. “Now, I think we need some sleep.”

“Agreed.”

Hrista loved feeling his lips on her neck as they drifted to sleep. Her last conscious thought was imagining his lips on hers again and his naked body atop hers. Except, this time, it wasn’t him putting the thought there.

Çtarest Retreat

.
Fain Kulun watched the news report with concern.

“What’s wrong, Dad?” Hergil asked.

“Your mother… she died today.”

“And Hrista?”

“I don’t know. There’s no answer at their apartment. Or their PCS links. I hope the Empress hasn’t decided to use this virus to punish them for being part of my family.”

“I hope so too, Dad,” Hergil added.

“Have you heard from Anney?” he asked his son.

Hergil’s face darkened. “No. How long do I wait for her?”

“If you love her, you wait as long as it takes. I have never stopped loving your mother.”

Hergil nodded. “Love is tragic,“ he concluded.

“It’s also the only thing in this life worth working for.”

“How can you say that as Abári?” Hergil asked.

“Because it’s true. I love all those in my care, all the A’mara.”

“But that’s different.”

“No, it’s not really much different. Okay, I don’t want to sleep with anyone other than your mother, may she rest in peace, but I love them all. And it’s truthfully the only thing worth working for. Saraca taught me that.”

“She was an amazing woman from all I’ve heard.”

“She was. So was Ja’tel, her husband.”

Imperial Palace Irola

.
“Mother?” Oleana’s voice sounded on the PCS link, awakening Belmara.

“Yes, dear daughter?” she asked, oozing with sarcasm which didn’t even attempt to hide her annoyance at being awakened.

“Sorry, I didn’t know you’d gone to bed already.”

“What is it?”

“I had a report from one of the crew members of a boat to Soundside just now. He felt the presence of two people in one of the cabins.”

“This is normal.”

“Who weren’t accounted for on their documentation. No tickets either.”

“And he did nothing?”

“He was rather embarrassed that the couple were in the early stages of lovemaking, so he didn’t wish to intrude.”

“And when they docked in Soundside?”

“When he checked the cabin, it was empty. He didn’t see the couple anywhere. He found it suspicious. The captain spoke to me immediately upon learning of these stowaways.”

“Could they be our missing people? Already together? That seems hard to believe.”

“Unless they’re both sensitives, Mother,” Oleana supposed.

“Perhaps.”

“Sensitives have a way of coming together without trying.”

“Was the captain planning to do anything about the stowaways?”

“No. He wanted some time to rest before his journey to Towani in the morning.”

“Lazy!” Belmara spat. “You had better get to Soundside then!”

“No more ships until morning, Mother.”

“And take that girl with you. She will know Issyk better than most of us.”

“She’s pregnant, you know,” Oleana added.

“And that’s an excuse?” Belmara asked severely. “That man is too dangerous. Issyk must be detained and put to death if he will not join us.”

“We will see that he’s apprehended, Mother.”

“Good.”

Her daughter disconnected and Belmara stretched out, hoping that she wouldn’t be disturbed again. One thing that being Empress didn’t do for her – was give her free time!

♥♥♥

NEXT CHAPTER

If you have enjoyed this book, I would be grateful if you could put your thoughts as a review on [Goodreads](coming soon) for me.
Buy at: Books2Read

Other chapters of stories about Decima...

Decima: Ground Zero - chapter 1
Decima: One Mission - chapter 1

Maps and Guides

Map of Kranisis

This book takes place on Irola.
Çtarest is also mentioned. That is the giant mountain that forms the border between Çtaráña, Shayanda and Ubre'in.

Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link