Phantom Road - chapter 10 - Ash Creek

in Web Novels3 years ago

ashcreek_01_phantom_road_02_ready_6x9_complete_1600.jpg

(previously...)

10

.
In the hayloft in the barn at the top of the hill, Barbara felt Garth deposit another load within her with the grunting and moaning she had learned was normal for him. It hadn’t seem worth rocking the boat to insist on condoms considering the previous night. She would insist on them starting tomorrow, she figured.

She hoped she wouldn’t be in too much trouble when she finally returned to the house. She would feign some excuse about fencing or something.

“If I hadn’ opened ya myself, I would’ve thought ya a slut!” Garth breathed as he lowered onto her again. “Ya are a dream!”

She accepted his kisses, his smoky, hungry tongue, wanting nothing but his continued loving. Even at the price of a few mild slurs and his demanding her body at a moment’s notice – and his lack of condoms. Tomorrow would be different on that front. She still had a hope that she would avoid pregnancy for her foolishness.

Twenty-four hours into womanhood, she was addicted to his loving caresses and the primal motions of his body on and within her, completely dominating her. Oh yes, it felt good!

“I gotta go in a few,” he said. “I’ll bet yer daddy will be back soon an’ I can’ let him ketch me here. He’d kill me fer sure.”

“My daddy never killed no one,” Barbara denied.

“He might change his mind fer me… if he knew everyteen.”

“If he tries...”

“Ya’ll run away wid me, eh?” he finished.

“Yah..,” Barbara replied, suddenly sure that was what she wanted. She’d run away with Garth and do whatever he wanted – so long as he didn’t leave her. She’d have his babies and everything. She knew her own mother had started early too – why should she deny her own longings?

“But not yet, Barb,” he added. “I need ya ta find out if Debbie gave yer grandmoder any ledders. If she did, I need ya to bring dem ta me. Or tell me who has dem. After dat, we can make our plans.”

“Why are da ledders so important?”

“Jis’ an old family dispute. Nuteen to worry yer liddle head ‘bout.”

Barbara nodded again. Then, she heard a familiar drone at the bottom of their long drive. “Dad’s home!” she cried.

Garth quickly got up and put his clothes back on, Barbara watching him cover his handsome body. “I’ll be back next time he’s gone, okay?” He lit a cigarette and took a puff.

Barbara could only smile. She’d never be able to deny him again. “After school?” she asked.

“I’d git fired if we was ever caught,” he replied.

“Den we’d bedder not git caught.”

Garth grinned and kissed her. “I gotta go.”

Barbara watched as he left. Then she hurried back to the house, hurrying down the hill formulating her excuse in her mind. She took an armload of wood inside as the green pickup pulled in, her brothers jumping out, carrying their loot inside.

“Successful day?” she asked her father with a smile.

“Yah,” Steve replied. “But den, it usually is. We got ya some more chickens.”

Barbara smiled her expected reply, but somehow, after Garth, chickens weren’t quite as exciting as they used to be. “Thank you, Dad.” She hugged him.

“Yah smell like smoke,” he said instantly.

That hadn’t been her first worry, she admitted to herself. What could she say?

“Ya been smokin’? Dat ain’t like ya, Barb.”

“My friend came around.”

“She smokes? Is she a good influence on ya?”

“Yah,” she replied, afraid to say anything that would be an outright lie – or would otherwise incriminate her.

“We’ll see… Have ya been helpin’ yer moder?”

“I’ve been workin’ in da barn.”

“Da horses don’ take a whole day!”

“Uh… I also wanted ta look fer mushrooms,” she lied, feeling bad as she did.

“Didya find any? Da chanterelles are poppin’ all over. Dey won’ last long dough wid da snow comin’.”

“Nah, didn’t find any dis time. I might look again tomorrow.”

“I’ll show ya some good spots,” Steve offered.

“I’d like dat,” she replied, knowing that it was more likely he’d find some reason he’d have to break the date with her. She knew it wasn’t his fault that things always turned up. Maybe he’d go somewhere so she could see Garth. “Did Debbie ever write ledders to Grandma?” she asked.

He started and turned back to her. It meant something to him, she knew instantly. There were letters and he knew about them. “Now, why would ya ask someteen like dat?” he asked.

“Someone said der were ledders. I figured ya’d know – if anyone. I know she meant someteen to ya.”

“Yah… she did, all right.” His eyes grew distant for a moment and shimmered with tears that hadn’t been shed in a long time. “She wrote many ledders to yer grandmoder. I don’ know what happened to dem after she died – yer grandmoder, dat is. I wouldn’t mind seein’ dose myself.”

“Maybe Mom knows?”

“Maybe… I’ll ask her. Some winter readin’ wouldn’t be a bad idea...” Steve turned to go inside.

“Could I see Matt sometime?” Barbara asked again.

He turned again, smiled with a level of curious caution. “I haven’t heard ya ask dat since he went into hidin’ - maybe we can arrange ta meet up wid him.”

“So, ya know where he is?”

“Of course I know where he is. I have ta take him supplies soon. Maybe ya can come wid me.”

“Please?” Barbara asked. “I’d love ta see him. Does he have a beard like you now?”

“Longer! I haven’t taken a barber ta him!” Her father grinned again, clearly wanting to see his son again. Then, he went inside.

Barbara went to get more wood, believing she had got away with everything. She also made a mental note to make sure that she changed her clothes after being with Garth next time – before being around her parents.

As she brought in the final load of wood, she decided to do the dishes – to soothe her parents – and so she could eavesdrop on whatever they were discussing about the day. Maybe they would mention those letters – or the whereabouts of her half-brother.

♥♥♥

Next chapter...

Back to chapter 1
Character Info and Notes

Image Credits

Matthew Nygaard
Genesis 8 by DAZ 3D Studio
Myles Beard by AprilYSH (sold through DAZ)
Adrian Hair by yitao0526 (sold through DAZ)
Hunt Pants by DragonBreath
Native American top by Pusey Designs
.

Zenna Williams
Genesis 8
Mitzy hair
Basic Wear by DAZ

Set
willow trees by Stonemason
fallen tree by Hivewire
grass by Erock 3D
background image from Pixabay


Previous Stories:

Catch up on LBRY.

Location:

Ash Creek is a fictitious town in the western Upper Peninsula of Michigan. I've attempted to keep the spirit of the people as well as make liberal use of the Yooper accent/dialect. Yes, I've heard it spoken, but it's an inexact science, so please forgive me any errors and enjoy this work in the spirit with which I write... with deep love and affection for the area.


Please read my note on romance, teenage intimate relationships and underage sex. I apologize if my understanding conflicts with your sense of morality, but I'm only looking at things realistically, not ideologically. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing!


Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link

Sort:  

Congratulations @viking-ventures! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 180000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 190000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Time to go on your Hive Tour

@viking-ventures, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Happy Valentine's day and asked us to give you a new badge!

Valentine's Day 2021

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Time to go on your Hive Tour