Phantom Road - chapter 12 - Ash Creek

in Web Novels3 years ago

ashcreek_01_phantom_road_02_ready_6x9_complete_1600.jpg

(previously...)

12

.
“I’m sorry,” Matt murmured. “I moved too quickly. Four years can do dat ta a man...”

“I’m sorry too,” Zenna replied. She wasn’t completely sure why she had stopped him. She loved kissing him, loved his taste. But she was supposed to go back to civilization – something she couldn’t do with him if he was a fugitive and she couldn’t stay here if she gave in and became pregnant as a result. She had stopped taking the pill when John left her.

“Why did ya stop me den? Yer a grown woman, aren’t ya? Or have I made a mistake der too?”

“I’m 18,” Zenna replied.

“I’m 25. It’s not too old, is it?”

“No,” she agreed.

“Did ya not like kissin’ me?”

“I did…”

“Den...”

“I don’t know!” Zenna answered, standing and walking to the other side of the fire, feeling more confused with every passing moment. He said nothing, but stood and reached up with his knife, slicing off a couple of pieces of preserved meat. He handed her a piece and gnawed on one himself, returning to his seat by the fire. “Thanks,” she offered, taking a nibble. It was salty, spicy and dry, but it was good – like the best jerky you could imagine.

But the good food couldn’t keep her mind away from her present danger. How was it possible that could she want someone so much when she’d just met him? And someone who could be putting her life in danger just being with him? “You only have one bed,” she commented.

“Yes. I can fix dat tomorrow.”

“You think I’m staying?”

“Ya can’ walk dat distance by yerself wid no provisions!” he answered. “An’ I can’t be seen in town. So, I figure yer gonna have ta stay wid me until Steve comes again.”

“I have no extra clothing, nothing! I can’t impose on you like this. And I don’t want to be a prostitute to pay for my stay!”

“Dat’s what ya tought dat was?” he asked angrily. “Da first woman I see in four years an’ ya tink I see ya as a prostitute?!”

“No… I don’t know… I’m too confused!”

“Look. I’m a gentleman, eh. Ya have use of my bed tonight. Tomorrow, I will build a second one. Jis’ a bit of work,” he said.

“Thank you. I would help you, if I could. I won’t be a dead weight while I’m here.”

“Ya might start doin’ some sewin’ as well, eh. Der are some rabbit skins dat I had saved up ta sell, but dey will make a good shift dress fer ya if ya like.”

“I don’t know how to sew!”

“Good time ta learn,” Matt replied. “I might have someteen ‘bout if yer lucky. Yer alternative is ta go naked – which I wouldn’ mind at all, I might add!”

Zenna’s mouth dropped open at his suggestion.

He shrugged. “I’m a man, what can I say when a beautiful woman drops into my lap?”

“I’m not in your lap!”

“It’s warmer here, eh,” he coaxed.

She made the mistake of looking at his lap. Even in the flickering light of the fire, she could see the bulge of his arousal. Why did she want to walk over there and straddle him? She couldn’t! Shouldn’t! She wasn’t a sex-on-the-first-date kind of woman! But she did want him. She was in real trouble… so real that she was tempted to leave anyway. The reality of a cougar wanting to pounce on her was only in her mind… whereas the reality of putting the rest of her life into Matt’s hands was too real, too now! Could she even risk another kiss?

She would lie down and ignore him, then, come morning, she would walk out of his life. If she died before she got to town, it wouldn’t be his fault…

He had carried her over his threshold, she remembered with warmth returning to her cheeks. His intent had been clear – that although he would protect her and wasn’t expecting any payment, he was also highly interested in her.

If she gave into her lust, she could be stuck out here for a very long time… But, the way things were going right now, she was likely to give in to him soon anyway. Why put it off?

He watched her as she wrestled with her own mind. He chewed on his jerky, but remained quiet as she did. Eerily quiet. It would have been better if he was talking – even if he was still trying to persuade her to let him make love to her. She could fight that more than she could fight her own mind and her instant yet intense attraction to him.

She thought back in her mind to her last period. It was bad timing… very bad timing. Probably why she wanted him so badly! She just had to ignore him for a couple of days if she wanted to avoid pregnancy. Then, she would have more time to think without hormones.

She looked out the window into the evening gloom. She thought about all the wild animals out there – some which were good to eat, some of which would just as soon eat her. She couldn’t really go anywhere. She would get lost without Matt’s guidance – probably his plan all along, she realized. Without him, she would have been halfway down the mountain by now – alone… in the dark… He was right.

She sighed.

His strong arms came around her. His bulge pressed against her as he squeezed her. He didn’t say anything for a few minutes, just held her against him… Feeling him was the last thing she needed. She felt her arousal growing, knowing how much he wanted her. Of course, she was simply the first woman he’d seen since his disappearance into the mountains. His standards would be pretty low. But she was here, with him, dependent on him… for her very survival. He didn’t seem like a murderer… and if anyone would do the leaving, it would be her – for at least the next two years.

She leaned her head against him in surrender.

His lips caressed her neck as his hands came up her body, inside her shirt, lifting her bra off her chest and settling his hands there instead, warming her flesh as he caressed her, kneaded her.

Zenna felt the first gasp of pleasure come from her lips as she pressed harder against his strong body, his lust growing against her.

“God, I want ya!” he breathed. “Please? I haven’t been wid a woman in over four years! I couldn’ have any diseases now… I would already be dead, eh.”

“I’m not taking the pill or anything,” Zenna replied. “Do you have condoms?”

“No… Dat wasn’t one of da tings I was tinkin’ ‘bout when I left civilization, eh. I was only tinkin’ of how ta remain alive – an’ free!”

“That makes things difficult then… I know my body enough to know that it’s really bad timing to give in to you tonight.”

“I see...”

♥♥♥

Next chapter...

Back to chapter 1
Character Info and Notes

Available to purchase (in print) at Amazon. Ebook version coming soon. (As soon as Draft2Digital formulates the link.)

Image Credits

Matthew Nygaard
Genesis 8 by DAZ 3D Studio
Myles Beard by AprilYSH (sold through DAZ)
Adrian Hair by yitao0526 (sold through DAZ)
Hunt Pants by DragonBreath
Native American top by Pusey Designs
.

Zenna Williams
Genesis 8
Mitzy hair
Basic Wear by DAZ

Set
willow trees by Stonemason
fallen tree by Hivewire
grass by Erock 3D
background image from Pixabay


Previous Stories:

Catch up on LBRY.

Location:

Ash Creek is a fictitious town in the western Upper Peninsula of Michigan. I've attempted to keep the spirit of the people as well as make liberal use of the Yooper accent/dialect. Yes, I've heard it spoken, but it's an inexact science, so please forgive me any errors and enjoy this work in the spirit with which I write... with deep love and affection for the area.


Please read my note on romance, teenage intimate relationships and underage sex. I apologize if my understanding conflicts with your sense of morality, but I'm only looking at things realistically, not ideologically. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing!


Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link