Phantom Road - chapter 23 - Ash Creek

in Web Novels3 years ago

ashcreek_01_phantom_road_02_ready_6x9_complete_1600.jpg

(previously...)

23

.
The snow quickly melted which was a blessing as Zenna worked to clear the space for the second room. Her job was to remove all the branches and debris that was in the way. Occasionally, she stopped and took a few pictures, but otherwise, she was hard at work while Matt chopped low, thin branches from some of the surrounding trees.

He pounded the sturdiest, tallest, straightest branches into the ground all around the perimeter of the intended room in two concentric circles.

“We’re gonna weave dese tin branches like dis,” he explained, showing her the process as she took pictures. “Pretty borin’ tings to take pictures of, eh.”

“I think it’s interesting! Besides, we want our baby to know where he or she was made, right?”

Matt grinned. “If ya wanna keep doin’ dis while I finish clearin’ da ground.”

Zenna obeyed, working quickly to keep her fingers warm. Her gloves were okay, but not completely adequate for this job. “What did you used to do before you had to come up here?” she asked, mostly to keep conversation alive.

“I worked on Steve’s farm, ya know. He was training me ta take over from him some day.” He used a Dutch hoe to remove some roots.

“It didn’t bother you that his operation is illegal?”

Matt shrugged. “Der aren’t many here who would turn us in. Maybe da preachers, but oders lobby fer da plant ta be legalized in Michigan.”

“I hope it happens,” Zenna said.

“Yah. It would make a huge difference ta Steve an’ me. We take great pride in what we grow. I would like ta teach ya ‘bout dat too, if ya’d like.”

“Sure,” Zenna replied. What did it matter that she had agreed to grow an illegal crop when she had committed herself and her future to a fugitive? She sighed.

“Are ya okay?” Matt asked, looking up. “Did ya need a break?”

“I’m fine,” she replied, looking at her weaving.

“Lookin’ good. Now, we need ta make it ‘bout tree feet high all around. I’ll make us a window ‘bout halfway up if ya like watchin’ da snow.”

“I’d love that.”

He came over and pushed the weave down tightly towards the ground. “Yer doin’ fine, but I’ll jis’ tighten it fer ya. We don’ want da wind ta come tru der.”

Zenna nodded. “Why are we doing two walls?”

“We will pack leaves between dem fer insulation an’ ta keep da wind down. It will be cozy, but try not ta burn it down before we can plaster it.”

“You’ve thought of everything!”

“I’ve been here long enough ta make most of da mistakes. An’ Steve looks tings up when I need someteen.”

“How long is it going to take to build this room?”

“A week if we work well at it. I will see if Steve can bring us some weed fiber to stuff da walls wid. I would have made it before if I knew ya were comin’ ta live wid me.” He grinned.

“I don’t mind helping,” Zenna replied.

After a few hours, the structure was beginning to take shape.

“I hear Steve’s truck,” Matt said. “Let’s see what he wants.”

A few minutes later, Steve appeared, laden with a large trunk.

“Ya can’t keep comin’ everyday widout drawin’ attention ta us!” Matt scolded.

“Yah… I know. But I tought ya might be able ta use a trunk fer her clodes – an’ maybe some grass insulation.”

“Yer a wonder, Steve!” Matt replied, shaking his head. “Tank ya!”

“It’s no trouble. I knew ya’d be buildin’ on, dough I didn’ know ya’d be startin’ already.”

“Best before it gits too cold.”

“Yah...” Steve looked around. “I can help fer awhile – if ya don’ mind.”

“You’re supposed to be helping my mother move,” Zenna reminded him of one of the integral components of their plan.

“It’s covered, don’ ya worry, Zenna! Dey will be on dere way tonight. Meanwhile, I can help git ya into more spacious quarters!”

Zenna smiled her agreement, then looked to Matt who smiled back.

It was good having an extra pair of hands to help weave branches for the new room. Zenna worked quickly, feeling the need to impress Steve, for some reason. Matt continued to push the branches down as far as he could.

When they reached the first foot all the way around, Steve went to grab a bag of the leaves from his crop. “Ya don’ mind havin’ dis fer insulation, do ya, Zenna?” he asked. “Pank it down real good in da wall cavity.”

Zenna caught a few pictures first.

“Yer not gonna turn me in,” Steve said quicky.

“Of course not! I love seeing what ideas you have!” Her grin echoed his. Then she wondered how he could afford to use his crop like this and had to ask. “How can you afford that?”

“I grow more dan I can sell most years. Da imperfect leaves, once dried, make excellent fill fer dis house. I keep it, knowing he might want it eventually.”

“What is your relationship with Matt?” Zenna asked quietly when Matt had gone for a pee.

“I was responsible fer him havin’ no decent alibi four years ago. I can never forgive myself dat.”

Zenna let the subject drop, but instinctively, she knew there was more to their relationship than a simple case of wrong place at the wrong time.

Matt came back with a slice of meat for Zenna. “Help yerself, Steve.” As Steve went inside, Matt held Zenna against him and took her mouth. “Good ting he’s here ta keep us on task!” He kissed her again.

Steve returned with a hunk of meat. He took a bite and sat, admiring the work they’d accomplished so far. “I should come back tomorrow,” he said. “We can git dis room done before next week’s cold snap. And before someone starts havin’ mornin’ sickness!” He looked at Zenna who blushed again at the very thought. “More seriously, I saw more cat tracks near da road. Have ya ever shot a gun, Zenna?”

“Me? No…”

“Not even a BB gun?”

“Nope.”

“I tink it’s high time ya learned. Matt can’t be at yer side every moment of da day.”

Zenna felt nervous about the idea of shooting a gun – as well as the thought of possibly being stalked by a cougar.

“Steve’s right,” Matt added. “I would feel a lot bedder if ya learned how ta shoot. Yer goin’ ta do da shootin’ next time I see anyteen wort shootin’, eh?”

“Okay,” she replied anxiously.

“You’ll do fine!” Steve replied. “Even my Julie shoots from time ta time. She don’ love it needer, but she knows it’s important. I should bring her up here sometime. You’d probably like her.”

“She’ll look after ya like a moder hen!” Matt pointed out.

“Yah… Dat she will!”

Zenna smiled, knowing she was in good hands and determined to become better at everything – all to show Steve and Julie that she deserved Matt. She wasn’t sure why their opinion mattered, but somehow it did.

♥♥♥

Next chapter...

Back to chapter 1
Character Info and Notes

Available to purchase (in print) at Amazon. Ebook version coming soon. (As soon as Draft2Digital formulates the link.)

Image Credits

Matthew Nygaard
Genesis 8 by DAZ 3D Studio
Myles Beard by AprilYSH (sold through DAZ)
Adrian Hair by yitao0526 (sold through DAZ)
Hunt Pants by DragonBreath
Native American top by Pusey Designs
.

Zenna Williams
Genesis 8
Mitzy hair
Basic Wear by DAZ

Set
willow trees by Stonemason
fallen tree by Hivewire
grass by Erock 3D
background image from Pixabay


Previous Stories:

Catch up on LBRY.

Location:

Ash Creek is a fictitious town in the western Upper Peninsula of Michigan. I've attempted to keep the spirit of the people as well as make liberal use of the Yooper accent/dialect. Yes, I've heard it spoken, but it's an inexact science, so please forgive me any errors and enjoy this work in the spirit with which I write... with deep love and affection for the area.


Please read my note on romance, teenage intimate relationships and underage sex. I apologize if my understanding conflicts with your sense of morality, but I'm only looking at things realistically, not ideologically. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing!


Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link