Phantom Road - chapter 61 - Ash Creek

in Web Novels3 years ago

ashcreek_01_phantom_road_02_ready_6x9_complete_1600.jpg

(previously...)

61

.
“She’s okay, isn’t she?” Lisa asked Sheriff Clay as Steve carried Trish outside.

“I’m sure she’ll be fine,” the sheriff replied.

“Mom sometimes gits faint when she’s pregnant. Dad always says not ta stress her too much. If anyone can help Trish until a doctor gits here, it would be Dad!” Barb added.

“I admire yer family,” the sheriff said. “Yer always der fer each oder – an’ fer oders as well. I wish all families were like dat!”

Lisa noticed how the sheriff’s gaze darted back to the detective again. She had to agree that there was a lot to admire in the detective. He was attractive and smart.

The detective appeared to be taking a quick nap, his head lolled back on the back of the bench.

“How long will the recess be?” Lisa asked, taking another note of the sleeping detective.

“Hard ta say. Could be ten minutes, could be an hour. I daresay Detective Winchester could use an hour, eh. He must’ve been up most of da night!”

“Did you really mean that you’d kiss him?!” Lisa asked in a hush.

“I meant dat figuratively, of course!” the sheriff replied, her cheeks reddening. “It’s been crazy, eh?”

“Crazy indeed!” Lisa agreed.

“I’m grateful dat da judge has been willing ta listen ta everyteen today – he didn’t have ta.”

“All rise!” the bailiff called.

Lisa stood next to the sheriff who nudged the detective back to attentiveness. He stood quickly, Lisa chomping back a giggle behind a serious face.

Judge Powers came in and seated himself again.

“You may be seated,” the bailiff announced.

Lisa sat next to the sheriff.

The judge cleared his throat and began.

“This is a highly irregular hearing, but has been very productive at the same time. For that, I commend you, Sheriff Clay, Detective Winchester, for being very prepared.

“It is clear that this is a time-critical case as well since there are future children involved. But there are many serious issues in this case that make it quite complex. I will consider each person individually – as I think is the only thing that makes sense.

“As for the case of Matthew Nygaard, do you agree to submit to house arrest and monitoring until the case is fully heard and decided?”

“Yah, Yer Honor,” Matt replied.

“Sheriff? Are you willing to be held responsible for all duties of a typical parole officer for Matthew Nygaard?”

“Yes, Yer Honor,” she agreed.

“Then, I will allow Matthew Nygaard to be released from jail, but he will remain under house arrest until his trial is heard.”

“Yes!” Zenna’s voice was heard.

“Garth Cowan. You have been charged with attempted murder, attempted abduction and multiple counts of statutory rape. How do you plead?”

“Not guilty,” he replied.

“Keith Cowan. You have been charged with attempted murder, attempted abduction and attempted rape. How do you plead?”

“Not guilty,” Keith echoed.

“John McNally. You have been charged with attempted murder, attempted abduction and attempted rape. How do you plead?”

“Not guilty.”

“The three of you are remanded into custody until your trial,” Judge Powers pronounced with a tap of the gavel. “You will be appointed a lawyer if you do not have one already. And no, Len Johnson won’t be available. He will likely be charged with various crimes as soon as he is out of hospital. Andrew Cowan is also likely to be charged with a number of crimes.”

“Furthermore, Sheriff, Detective, I grant warrants to search the Cowan property and will assist in your investigation as I can. If Len Johnson is as you say, then he needs to be disbarred and jailed.”

“Tank ya, Yer Honor,” the sheriff replied.

“This court is adjourned.”

“All rise,” the bailiff called.

Lisa stood, feeling a level of relief, knowing that Keith would be in jail for the moment.

The judge left the courtroom. Officers removed the three accused men as well.

“We won!” the sheriff breathed with relief.

“You owe me,” the detective reminded her.

Lisa paid attention, wondering what would happen next. Sheriff Clay’s cheeks reddened again, but she offered her lips as she’d promised.

The detective smiled and kissed her.

Lisa grinned as the peck turned into a longer kiss, then deepened. She couldn’t believe what she was witnessing! Was the sheriff falling in love?!

“We’d bedder git everyone home den!” Steve’s voice sailed around the room.

The magic was broken and the sheriff stood stiffly, as if nothing had happened. “I guess yer ridin’ wid me, detective?” she asked the man.

“Just to the police station here, if you don’t mind. I sort of need to return Ironwood’s chopper.”

“Okay. Who’s ridin’ wid me?” the sheriff asked.

“Barb, Lisa, do ya mind ridin’ wid her?” Steve asked. “I’d like some time wid my son and his fiancée.”

“And Trisha?” the detective asked.

“She’s been taken ta hospital, jis’ ta have her checked out. Crampin’ bad.. might be in labor.”

“Okay. See ya in Ash Creek, Steve,” the sheriff replied.

Lisa and Barb pointedly took the back seat, but it wasn’t long until they reached the police station and the handsome detective got out.

“Let me know if you need any more help. I, or someone in my department, will help you through this investigation,” Detective Winchester said as he got out and held the door for Lisa to jump in front.

“I will,” the sheriff replied.

The man turned his back and went inside the station. Lisa closed the door with a slam.

“Shit!” Sheriff Clay exclaimed. “Shows me ta open my big mouth!”

“He likes ya,” Barb chirped. “I know he does!”

“Den why does he run da moment we kiss? Why does he run?” she asked. “Did dat look like a ‘it was nuteen’ type of kiss, girls? Was I totally wrong?”

“No, sheriff,” Lisa replied. “That looked like a kiss full of promise… not one to run from.”

“Den what did I do wrong? Da handsomest man I’ve met since… an’ he runs away.”

“Sometimes, they’re scared, sheriff,” Lisa replied. “Sometimes, they’re as scared as we are… those of us who have been ravaged by a Keith or a Garth...”

“Or life…,” she added. “Oh, an’ stop callin’ me ‘sheriff’ when we’re in private. Jis’ call me Sid, eh?”

“Let’s git home, Sid,” Barb replied.

♥♥♥

Next chapter...

Back to chapter 1
Character Info and Notes

Available to purchase (in print) at Amazon. Ebook version coming soon. (As soon as Draft2Digital formulates the link.)

Image Credits

Matthew Nygaard
Genesis 8 by DAZ 3D Studio
Myles Beard by AprilYSH (sold through DAZ)
Adrian Hair by yitao0526 (sold through DAZ)
Hunt Pants by DragonBreath
Native American top by Pusey Designs
.

Zenna Williams
Genesis 8
Mitzy hair
Basic Wear by DAZ

Set
willow trees by Stonemason
fallen tree by Hivewire
grass by Erock 3D
background image from Pixabay


Previous Stories:

Catch up on LBRY.

Location:

Ash Creek is a fictitious town in the western Upper Peninsula of Michigan. I've attempted to keep the spirit of the people as well as make liberal use of the Yooper accent/dialect. Yes, I've heard it spoken, but it's an inexact science, so please forgive me any errors and enjoy this work in the spirit with which I write... with deep love and affection for the area.


Please read my note on romance, teenage intimate relationships and underage sex. I apologize if my understanding conflicts with your sense of morality, but I'm only looking at things realistically, not ideologically. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing!


Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link