Phantom Road - chapter 66 - Ash Creek

in Web Novels3 years ago

ashcreek_01_phantom_road_02_ready_6x9_complete_1600.jpg

(previously...)

66

.
Sheriff Sidney Clay stood on the podium looking like she wished she didn’t have to stand there.

“I’m sure ya have some bedder memories, Sheriff,” David encouraged his former classmate. Zenna was curious as well.

“Of course, I have memories… I remember Lenny Johnson workin’ wid my fader, trainin’ dere firefightin’ skills. He passed out in da Baxter barn trainin’ fires an’ my fader pulled him out. We had a free lawyer fer a long time!” she shared, making people laugh. “I also remember Debbie, of course. She was my favorite teacher...”

“Steve’s too!” someone said.

“I tink everyone knows dat now,” Sid replied, her gaze resting on Steve and Matt. “We all miss Debbie… But Paddy… she was da youngest of Andy’s victims. In da wrong place at da wrong time, most like… but den… I don’t wanna focus on da negative today. Dey’re all laid ta rest now… Includin’ Sheriff Newton – who taught me most of what I know about law… widout whom, I could not have finished dis investigation. He taught me so much...” Her voice faltered. She nodded a couple of times, then left the stage, returning to her spot beside Zenna.

John Baxter was the next one up. “Ah, da old Baxter barn! I miss it sometimes, but after I realized dat my barn was bein’ used fer a bit more dan hay…” he winked and the crowd laughed. “What good’s a barn if da young’uns can’t enjoy it! But after da blizzard… youse know which one… it was too dangerous ta use and too expensive to repair – especially once insurance paid out an’ I could git myself a new barn.

“I tink I’m not da only one who is relieved dat der weren’t more bodies in da Cowan rose garden! I am sad dat we lost tree of our best der, but glad dat da rest were jis’ a pet cemetery like most of us have! Shame how it all ended dough. A man doesn’t jis’ end it all like dat… but it happened – right here in Ash Creek. It changed us all.” He paused a moment.

“Will we ever know why Len turned on Andy as he did? Or why he decided ta take his own life as well? Maybe not. Maybe it was a squabble, or maybe dey didn’t want ta face justice. But we have fewer secrets in Ash Creek now… an’ maybe dat’s a good ting, eh.”

A handful of people applauded as he left the stage. He stopped for a moment in front of Zenna. “I still miss ya in da store,” he said. “But yer right where ya need ta be now! I always knew ya were meant ta be part of Steve’s clan! Name one after me, would ya?”

“This one is already named,” she excused, knowing that she could never name her son John. Maybe Baxter… she’d have to discuss that with Matt later.

“Maybe da next one…,” Mr. Baxter said before he moved on again.

David Hill returned to the microphone, adjusting it up again. “Our unexpected heroine is here today. She is credited wid savin’ at least tree lives, probably more, as well as Matt Nygaard’s freedom wid her critical testimony. Trisha Cowan, please come forward. Yes, carry da baby if ya need ta.”

Trish slowly walked to the podium, carrying her seven-month-old baby on her hip. She smiled shyly at the crowd, then looked at David Hill, unsure what to expect.

“It was extremely brave of ya ta come forward an’ testify against yer broders an’ yer boyfriend! It was so stressful, dat it sent ya into labor. But because of ya, yer friends are alive an’ tree criminals are behind bars an’ anoder two are in da cemetery. We are all very sorry dat most of dose are related ta ya.

“Because of yer bravery an’ honesty, we’d like ta use funds from da Ash Creek Aid Society ta replace yer beater car wid someteen more appropriate fer gettin’ yer kids around in da winter!”

Trish’s jaw dropped wide open.

Zenna couldn’t help grinning and led the applause which quickly spread around the audience.

“Tank ya fer yer honesty when dose closest ta ya engaged in da worst forms of treachery!”

“I don’t deserve…,” Trish said, shaking her head. “Tank ya… everyone! If anyone needs a ride – anywhere – let me know, eh!”

Dave Hill spoke again. “Let’s let da good pastor close dis meetin’ an’ bless da potluck.”

“Thanks to everyone for being here today,” the local Presbyterian preacher concluded. “Coming together as a community is the best way to heal as a community.

“Thank you to everyone who donated to the Ash Creek Aid Society and to everyone who brought food for the potluck. Let’s just give thanks to God.”

He continued with a short blessing for the food.

“I’m starving!” Zenna said, grateful for the meeting to be over.

“Me too, my darlin’!” he agreed, kissing her before they rose together.

“Matt!” another man called, coming to join them. He reminded her of Len Johnson. “I see it’s true!” he looked Zenna up and down, but dwelling on the large baby bump.

“Yes!” Matt replied. “Zenna, dis is Scott Johnson – da one who helped me find da evidence dat proved my moder’s murder!”

“So, it’s true you got an acquittal – even for running?” Scott asked.

“Yah… I’m eternally grateful ta everyone who helped me git der – especially da sheriff!” Matt said more loudly, looking at Sheriff Clay.

She seemed to blush slightly. “I didn’t do much… Detective Winchester did most of it.”

Zenna wondered at the sheriff’s low key attitude. She had seen that kiss the two had shared at the hearing back in November. There had been a spark, she had been certain of it. Yet, when Matt’s case had come to trial – and that of the Cowan brothers and John McNally, the detective had failed to come, sending an older woman instead. The job had been accomplished, but she wondered what was going on between the two. Nothing, it would have seemed.

Sid never mentioned it though, so maybe she had got over him.

“How long are ya gonna be in town, Scott?” Matt asked.

“I’m ready to settle down and start my own practice,” he explained. “Know anyone who needs a lawyer?” He handed Matt a card.

“Not at da moment, but I’ll keep ya in mind. Are ya settlin’ into yer dad’s old place?”

“Yah. My brother didn’t want it and my sister seems happy enough in town. Where are you guys living?”

“My dad settled us on some land near da Lake, east of town.”

“I’ll come visit you soon.”

“Do dat! Maybe we can go divin’ again, eh? But dis weekend, me an’ da missus are campin’!”

♥♥♥

Next chapter...

Back to chapter 1
Character Info and Notes

Available to purchase (in print) at Amazon. Ebook version coming soon. (As soon as Draft2Digital formulates the link.)

Image Credits

Matthew Nygaard
Genesis 8 by DAZ 3D Studio
Myles Beard by AprilYSH (sold through DAZ)
Adrian Hair by yitao0526 (sold through DAZ)
Hunt Pants by DragonBreath
Native American top by Pusey Designs
.

Zenna Williams
Genesis 8
Mitzy hair
Basic Wear by DAZ

Set
willow trees by Stonemason
fallen tree by Hivewire
grass by Erock 3D
background image from Pixabay


Previous Stories:

Catch up on LBRY.

Location:

Ash Creek is a fictitious town in the western Upper Peninsula of Michigan. I've attempted to keep the spirit of the people as well as make liberal use of the Yooper accent/dialect. Yes, I've heard it spoken, but it's an inexact science, so please forgive me any errors and enjoy this work in the spirit with which I write... with deep love and affection for the area.


Please read my note on romance, teenage intimate relationships and underage sex. I apologize if my understanding conflicts with your sense of morality, but I'm only looking at things realistically, not ideologically. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing!


Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link