Phantom Road - chapter 9 - Ash Creek

in Web Novels3 years ago

ashcreek_01_phantom_road_02_ready_6x9_complete_1600.jpg

(previously...)

9

.
“That crazy truck driver, that’s who!” Zenna shouted at the handsome stranger. He wore tattered clothes, partly covered by fur and wore a hunting rifle slung over his shoulder. His blond hair was long and covered most of his face like a hermit of some sort. “He nearly ran me over!”

“She,” he corrected.

“What?”

“It’s a woman drivin’ dat truck, eh.”

“Of all the chauvinistic...”

“Would ya calm down?” he asked gently. “I happen ta know she was a woman.”

“How?”

“I see her all da time, eh.”

“Why does no one tell her to slow down on this terrible road?”

“Because she’s dead,” he replied.

“What?”

“Are ya deaf?”

“Of course not!” This man was infuriating!

“Den listen ta me. Dat woman died twenny years ago. She was a driver fer da logging company, eh. One winter day, in a heavy snow storm, her brakes burned out. Dat’s why she’s barreling down da road like dat. She went over da cliff down der,” he said, pointing. “And landed in da Lake. Apparently, her ghost doesn’ understand dat and relives dat drama every hour, every day. It’s sad, really.”

“Then how did I get this?” Zenna demanded showing the small knot on her leg from the rock. “How did she manage to send my car down the side of the hill up there?”

“Have ya never heard of poltergeists?” he asked. “Jis’ because dey don’ have a body doesn’ mean dey can’t do nuteen, eh.”

Zenna shivered.

“And maybe yer car was too close to da edge...”

“I was there for about half an hour first… and my mirror broke when she passed.”

“It might not have taken much… So, where are ya goin’?”

“None of your business!” she replied, holding her stick threateningly. He didn’t seem bad, but if he knew she had no plan, maybe he’d take her back to his cave and rape her or something. Even though his rugged look and blue eyes the color of the Lake sent her heart aflutter, he was probably out to hurt her.

“Try it,” he challenged.

“What?”

“Ya are deaf,” he accused.

“Am not!”

“Den try it. Whatever ya were gonna do ta me… try it.”

That took her aback. Could she really try to hurt this handsome would-be rapist?

“Come on,” he goaded. “Attack me!”

It was clearly a trap! He had a gun, after all.

“So, ya clearly aren’t a survivalist, eh,” he said at last, taking Zenna’s stick from her. “Ya have nuteen wid ya… ya said ya lost yer car, which explains da sounds I heard earlier. I’m guessin’ ya actually need help, despite yer tough-girl act.”

Zenna felt the tears again. She shook her head, trying to clear them. “I don’t need anything,” she denied.

“Which would be why yer cryin’, eh,” he said more gently, wiping the treacherous tear off her cheek, which was quickly replaced by a few more. He pulled her into his arms. “Not havin’ a good day, are ya?”

“No…,” she said, but it came out more like a sob.

“Come wid me,” he invited.

“No!” she replied almost angrily, pulling away from him.

“Look,” he reasoned once more. “It’s fall now… it’s not warm at night, around freezin’. If ya do not have a fire, ya will die – and I won’ have dat on my conscience. Ya will be coming wid me if I have ta carry ya!”

Zenna thought about defying him still, but realized that she was tired of walking and the thought of the cold night ahead wasn’t a comforting one. The worst thing he could do was kill her… rape was normally survivable. He was right, she’d probably die without him. “Okay,” she finally agreed.

“I was beginnin’ ta worry dat ya doubted my ability ta carry ya...”

She smiled for the first time since her car broke down.

“Yer beautiful when ya smile,” he said, leading the way into the woods along a trail she hadn’t seen before.

“I’m not agreeing to go to bed with you!” she defended hastily.

“Peace!” he pleaded. “I said nuteen ‘bout sex – dough I wouldn’ refuse an offer...”

She punched his arm, but kept with him.

“Are ya always violent when talkin’ ‘bout sex?” he asked, leading her in a different direction past a pair of large conifers within the stand of yellow-leafed maples. “I am a normal, hot-blooded male who tinks ‘bout sex at least once every minute.”

“Oh, please!” she exasperated.

“Please? Please have sex?”

“No!” she cried. He was ridiculous! If he wasn’t so charming, she would have taken her chances with the cold and the wolves. Even John hadn’t talked that much about sex! And here they were talking about it within moments of meeting – in the middle of nowhere!

“I’m teasin’ ya,” he reassured. “Except da offer part. I wouldn’ refuse an offer. It’s been a long time fer me.”

She wondered how long that was – she knew that it could be a week, but out here, it was probably a lot longer than that. How many women did he get a chance to seduce out here?

She saw a hut of some sort in the middle of a cluster of conifers. She hoped he was somewhat honorable. She wouldn’t have a chance of getting away if he wasn’t!

“Let me carry ya inside!” he said, discarding the stick and lifting her quickly.

“We’re not married!”

“No… but if anyteen were ta change, we’d have no chance ta do dis part again.”

Was he still hoping to get lucky with her? Would he force her? Rape her in her sleep?

“Welcome!” he said, placing her on the only seat in the small hut. There was a warm fire in a hearth lined with stone, the smoke rose through a small hole in the ceiling, where there were many joints of meat preserving in the smoke. She saw a bed framed by wooden poles. In another area, there was a pot and a pan – both cast iron – and several plates, bowls and things in a rack by a bowl of water.

“Where’s your toilet?” she asked, feeling the need growing, fueled by the very thought.

“Outside,” he replied. “I’ll show ya.” He led her outside,a few paces away from the hut. He showed her an old pallet with a couple of slats removed to reveal a hole in the ground. He stood back, but didn’t leave.

“Privacy?” she asked.

“Der’s been a cougar stalking da area da past few days. I’m not gonna leave ya alone.”

“Then turn around, at least!”

“Awww,” he teased, then turned his back to her. “Shout at me if ya git into trouble.”

“I’m not going to get into trouble!” she retorted, pulling her shorts down and squatting.

“We’ll see ‘bout dat!”

“Toilet paper?” she asked.

“In da coffee can next ta ya.”

♥♥♥

Next chapter...

Back to chapter 1
Character Info and Notes

Image Credits

Matthew Nygaard
Genesis 8 by DAZ 3D Studio
Myles Beard by AprilYSH (sold through DAZ)
Adrian Hair by yitao0526 (sold through DAZ)
Hunt Pants by DragonBreath
Native American top by Pusey Designs
.

Zenna Williams
Genesis 8
Mitzy hair
Basic Wear by DAZ

Set
willow trees by Stonemason
fallen tree by Hivewire
grass by Erock 3D
background image from Pixabay


Previous Stories:

Catch up on LBRY.

Location:

Ash Creek is a fictitious town in the western Upper Peninsula of Michigan. I've attempted to keep the spirit of the people as well as make liberal use of the Yooper accent/dialect. Yes, I've heard it spoken, but it's an inexact science, so please forgive me any errors and enjoy this work in the spirit with which I write... with deep love and affection for the area.


Please read my note on romance, teenage intimate relationships and underage sex. I apologize if my understanding conflicts with your sense of morality, but I'm only looking at things realistically, not ideologically. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing!


Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link