Failed Filmmaking - Part 2 - aka Moving towards Increased Decentralization and Speaking the Truth

in BeYourself2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I am rediscovering myself through vlogging, getting closer and closer to the truth, finding my voice.

Today's vlog started out as a blog post, yesterday night. It was inspired by one of my favorite 'speakers of truth' and good friend @clareartista , as well as by two other friends @selfhelp4trolls and @drrune
and probably a bunch of other people in my life - who are doing something very similar.

For those interested - and for context - I decided to also share the unfinished blog post that started this,
so here goes:

Inspired by a powerful vlog from my good friend @clareartista , titled "I Deleted my Google Account", I decided that it's about time to take my own next steps towards increased decentralization.

This is a journey that I started on, almost six years ago, if I count quitting my last job, as a slave of the system, in August 2016, as the starting point.

Now I think of it, I think I decided to quit that job in April 2016, exactly 6 years ago.

Soon after quitting, a decision that my boss and my own parents struggled to understand ( and after failing for my driving exam, for the second time ), I left The Netherlands for the smallest one of the Canary Islands, El Hierro. I left with just a backpack, filled with some clothes, a phone, a tablet and a printed screenplay ( 90 pages ) for a feature film I planned to make - a screenplay that I had written in collaboration with an American friend with whom I had collaborated, long distance, since 2013.

I talked about that part of my journey in my recent video talk with my good friend @selfhelp4trolls - Two Failures Fail to Talk about Failing - Untangled Knots 3.1. If you like what you see and hear there, you might also enjoy the remainder of our conversation A Positive Feedback Loop for Creatives - Untangled Knots Podcast 3.2

The next year, in May 2017, I discovered crypto and the blockchain, as well as crypto blogging. I shared that story a while ago ( how I made it to the blockchain when I was at one of my all-time lows ) in:
Talking Crypto with Friends - Cabin in the Woods - Part 1 and Part 2


A little over half a year after getting into crypto, at the start of 2018, I left the Netherlands, to make my way to Portugal. I travelled via Germany and then Spain, planning to not return before I would find a house to live in. I kept that promise.

That house is now sold, since October last year, but I'm still in Portugal, in the same area. I just changed to renting, once again.


These days I am taking more and more steps to reclaim my freedom, a mission that feels increasingly important since the draconic measures that have been taken, worldwide, since the start of 2020. It helps to be a stubborn creative who has always felt like a caged bird, an outcast, that's for sure. I'm not the kind of caged bird that gives up on its freedom though.


I feel a strong urge to further point out the importance of decentralization and conscious choices towards increased freedom and...


This is where the blog post ended and when I went outside to start vlogging instead. I shared the above, as I felt it's important and the links included might interest you.

By the way, I decided to share this vlog, in all its imperfection, unedited, aside from the title at the end and to proudly show it in its vertical video style.

I actually used to be a filmmaker and I despised vertical video, as it goes against old fashioned film rules, but hey... I like to break the rules and I embrace imperfection these days. Also, it's usually striving for some kind of perfection that stops me from actually sharing things and speaking out and I'm done with that.

I am gonna end it here, for today, and while editing this post and re-uploading my video, I also watched the latest vlog from @selfhelp4trolls , once again finding many parallels with my work, message and overall feeling. It seems like we're very much in sync these days ( and not just he and I ).

I suggest you check it out: We are all gonna be famous

My friends Clare ( @clareartista ), Zach ( @selfhelp4trolls ) and Javier ( @drrune ) , as mentioned above, will each receive 10% of the payout to this post, so every vote is extra welcome. And if you aren't already, I highly recommend to check out their blogs and work.

Cheers,

Hypersensitivosaurus aka Vincent Nijman


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Loved your video. You live in an amazing place and your house is quite beautiful, man, congratulations for all the things you've accomplished, and thank you for sharing them with us, it's inspiring!

I was talking with @selfhelp4trolls about doing these kinds of videos talking about a particular topic from our various locations and unique perspectives, then kind of making them interact with one another using this format of cross-tagging. I think we could come up with some truly magical interactions and have some fun while doing what we already do.

Let me know what you think! Bendiciones y abrazos, amigo mío, y muchas gracias por ese 10%!!

Gracias, amigo!

I am pretty blessed with where I live but lately I have been feeling a strong urge to minimalize more and live smaller, with fewer belongings. I prefer to be outdoors, most of the day, if I can. I imagine a small or tiny house and a small garden with veggies, herbs, tea plants and some fruit trees.

Finding a way, together with @selfhelp4trolls and you ( and possibly others ) to interconnect our posts and stories even more, sounds like a lot of fun. I also feel an increasingly stronger urge to connect more. I told Zach, yesterday, that I feel like co-creating live, recording that and sharing it on the blockchain. I am done with doing all of the creative process all by myself. I also feel like talking more with others and listening more.

Um grande abraço, amigo!