Did he sense something......?

in Hive Learners2 years ago

It was the evening of Saturday, 29th October, 2016. I was at my mom's home. It was about 8 O'clock when my 2.5 years old son, Hussain, came to me and told me, “Mamma, Naana Abbu (maternal grandfather) has arrived home. Come and meet him.” I told him that I would go to him after some time. My father was sitting in the T.V lounge while I was in a bedroom, chatting with a friend on Facebook via desktop computer.

Hussain came to me again after about five minutes. He insisted me to go and meet my father. I again told him that I would go after some time. He went away but came back again after a few minutes. This time he pulled my hand with full force to let me stand up. “Come, Mamma. Come. Meet Naana Abbu.” I got irritated of his act. He was interrupting my chat badly. This time I scolded him and he didn't come back to force me again.

His act was very strange. He never did this before. It was not the first time I was at my mom's home. It was not the first time that my father came home and I met him a little late. Hussain never forced me this much to meet him at once. But this time, he was consistently pushing me to do so. Perhaps, he had sensed something that no one else could. I might have forgotten about his act, if the future didn't come up with the unexpected. It was the last day, I saw my father in his consciousness. It was the last day he could understood and respond to what I would say; And I miss that chance. I didn't go to him early despite my son insisting me too much.

When I went to the T.V. lounge, my father was moving to his bed room. He was feeling a little tired that day. I only greeted him and didn't talk much. He went to his bed. Later on the day, my husband came to pick me for my home and I left my mom's home. Though we had a dinner together and a see off gathering at the door, but I didn't have too much conversation with my father.

On Tuesday evening, I found out that my father was admitted to a hospital. When I reached there, he was in ICU. He was awake but not recognizing anyone and was not speaking a word. My mom told me he was having high fever since Sunday morning and had not spoken a single word since then. When his fever was not cured through the doctor's treatment at home, they took him to the hospital. The doctor told us that his senses was leaving him gradually the power to speak, the power to see, the power to hear, and finally by Tuesday night he was in coma. His eyes were closed. He was on ventilator for the next two days. On Friday evening, his brain stopped working completely, his heart refused to pump and his lungs seized to breath. He left us. My father left us forever.

Death is inevitable. All of us have to leave this world one day or the other. I have no complaints to God for taking my father from us, as He knows what's the best time for everyone. However, I have regret. I regret those ten minutes in which I could hear the voice of my father. I could talk to him but I didn't. Despite being immensely forced by my son, I remained involve in a useless chat.

If the pages of calendar could be turned back and the hands of the clock would take me to the evening of 29th October, 2016, I would open the door for my father and would greet him warmly. I would hug him and say, “Father, I love you more than anyone else.”

I would hold his hands in mine and would kiss them saying, “Father, these hands are the treasure. I can never pay back what you have given me with efforts of these hands. Your selfless efforts has brought comfort and ease to my life. It is your hard work that has made me able to stand confidently with the world. I owe you for every small thing I have acquired in my life. I owe you for all the successes I have accomplished. Without you, my existence wouldn't be even like a pebble. You are not only the best father but the best man I have ever seen in my life. You are my ideal since ever. I am proud of being your daughter. I am grateful to God who gave me you as my father.”

I wish I could go back to those moments and see the affectionate smile of father in response to my words. I wish. I wish. I wish……….

This post is my participation for Hive Learner's Featured Post. You are invited to participate.


Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexel
Divider is taken from HL Discord Server.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Sorry to hear about the treasure you lost. Kids are sensitive and somehow they knew things better than we do. (I am also learning the things which Mishkat {my niece} says so abruptly to surprise me but in a true sense, she is always right.
It was really sad that we have nothing to pay back our parents, especially our fathers. He is the one who is holding our hand as a friend, leader, adviser and helper too.

You are not only the best father but the best man I have ever seen in my life.

This is so true, no one deserves to have the position, respect and love as a father does have. Not even the older brother. And best men who want to see your prosperity as he considers you as a champion.
This writing made me emotional sis❤
May his soul rest in peace Aameen.

 2 years ago  

Perhaps kids have more sensitive senses or they have the qualities of angels. God knows better.

No one can replace your father. He is a shelter and a strong pillar that protects and supports us simultaneously.

Thanks for your loving comment, Ayesha

 2 years ago  

Angels well said ❤ stay blessed sis

Wow... that date really means a lot to you. And I can see that it is one that you will remember for a very long time indeed.
Death is a phenomenon that will eventually catch up with every one of us, so if we have the opportunity to reach out to the ones we have lost, it would help give us a form of closure which would go a long way in healing our wounds.
Thank you for sharing this with us, I am sure your father is in a much happy place now.

 2 years ago  

This is so Emotional..alot of Emotions and feelings to this..I am sorry about this and that you didn't feel the need to follow your son who came to call you..

 2 years ago  

His death was so sudden we couldn't believe. He was in a good health. We never thought something like that could happen.

Hi @amberkashif, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

 2 years ago  

Thanks for the support.