My Crypto Journey So Far......

in Hive Learners2 years ago


Although I was born in early 90s yet my attitude towards technological advancement is like someone born in late 50s especially if the technology is related to computer. I feel like I would not understand its features and would never be able to use it aptly. This fear has refrained me from adopting the latest advancements. My cryptocurrency story is not exempted .

I heard of Bitcoin about nine years ago. A cousin told of the investment in a strange thing that was yielding incredible dividends. My brother wanted to make some investment but I told him how anything could be giving us multi-folded profits within months and that I was skeptical about it. This way I stopped him from investing. 😐

Anyways, the time went on. Occasionally, I heard the word cryptocurrency; and I believed on its existence. However, I didn't know the details except that it was a digital currency and perhaps would rule the world in a distant future. I never thought of being a part of cryptoverse until the mid of 2020. My involvement in crypto was incidental that emerged as a search of some online job.

I was searching for an online job on Facebook. There I found someone inviting me to join a platform that would pay me for writing. There wasn't any investment for start up (so I had no fear of losing money in case of any scam). The guy assured me that the site was real and he had earned from it. I joined the site, Uptrennd (no more existing today), without knowing that it was crypto based. Reading the crypto related content on that site gave me the initial knowledge about crypto. I found out about various coins and that the earning in crypto was a reality. Meanwhile, I joined various crypto mining bots and airdrops on Telegram. After spending so much time in looking for referrals and mining the coins for months all of them proved to be scam. This waste of time urged me to quit mining. I deleted the Telegram altogether to remain away from these time-wasting scams.

My focus was on Uptrennd and earning its coin- 1up. The coin was dipping since I joined the platform. During my time there I found out that hodling is the key for taking the price of a coin up. I hodled whatever I earned. There came a time when the coin was pumped and I had enough amount to buy a laptop for me. I didn't cash out my money with a belief that the community would hodl it that would result in increase its worth. I was wrong and I regretted about my decision. The coin showed major dips later. Finally, there was an announcement from the owner that the site going to be vanished. I swapped my coins for BCH and got 18$ from it. That was my overall cash out I could make from my 10 months efforts.

Although Uptrennd didn't give me much monetary benefits yet it opened my way into the cryptoverse. I got courage to explore more. It let me believe on the reality of the currency and the potential it holds in it. I had 170$ worth of cash at that time (and that was all that I had) I decided to take the risk and invested that in Etherum. It was my first investment that has proved to be profitable. I haven't withdrawn a single penny yet, everything is in my wallet.

I had stopped my elder brother from investing, but after knowing the reality of crypto I convinced my younger brother to invest 😃😃. He bought some Etherum, a portion of which he swapped to Doge coin. Looking at the profit he made from Doge I decided to swap my 50$ worth of BCH (that I earned from another site, Noise.cash) to Doge. I did this operation the day when Doge reached its all time highest 😐. I thought it would keep on pumping. That proved to be a wrong decision. Since that day, the coin is on a continuous dip; and I am not very hopeful about it.

After the closing of Uptrennd, I moved to Hive in the supervision of my Dreem Teem. Hive is the token that has given me real time profit that is I converted it into fiat. It is after coming to the platform I found out how a crypto currency is converted to fiat. I did it with the help of a friend @ayesha-malik because I still don't have a binance account. 🤐I am afraid of making one because of the unpredictable attitude of our government towards the crypto. I am not sure when I will gather the courage to make my own account 😏.

Anyways, I used only a small portion of Hive for fiat, the rest is invested in terms of HP. I am hopeful about the growth of Hive and I am sure the staking would reward me well.

Besides, the other investments I made earlier, my current investments are in Hive and Hive- Engine tokens. I have no plans to withdraw or swap any of them in the near future. Instead I have the plans to increase my earning by staking all the tokens I have.

During this crypto journey, there is another token that is worth talking about. It is the dreem token, that is rewarded for the activity at @dreemport. The token is based on Hive-Engine wallet. This token is special because I was the part of the pioneering team of it. Though I was a tester of the site yet as a believer that it would sustain and thrive I am holding it tight.

FINAL WORDS

My crypto journey started incidentally two years ago. Along my way I had some good and some bad experiences. I have learned that crypto is all about risks. While there is a hope for profits, one should be ready for the losses. Sometimes, a well researched investment proves to be a wrong decision. That's why my advice is for everyone to “invest only as much as you dare to lose.”

🔮🔮🔮🔮🔮


Image source by Icons8_team

Sort:  

Not sure I have met anyone who has not been burnt in one way or another with or another, secret you reveal is spot on “invest only as much as you dare to lose.”

!LUV

 2 years ago  

You are right. I also havent come accross anyone who hasn't come accross any losses.

With May 2021 had major dips in crypto, I heard of stories of suicide because of the loss. Its terrible. That's why it is important to invest only what we can afford to loss.

Thanks for stopping by. !LUV you back

Have read about a guy who sold their house to invest everything on Bitcoin when dip arrived, he did take his life and his brother wrote about it. Never bet on one horse, do your own research!

 2 years ago  

Beside doing one's own research, it is important to not put everything at risk. Something should be saved if something is invested.

Yup different apples in the basket, in case one is rotten!

!LUV

 2 years ago  

Exactly..... ! LUV you back

Well, you have learned a lot over the years and your first misconception regarding cryptocurrency has been changed. Now you are no longer scared of investing, even after taking some losses. You are on the right track.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago  

I am happy to be on the right tract. Hehe.😃.

Thanks for stopping by 🌷

Amazing journey you have had here @amberkashif . Eye opening and inspiring. That you stayed the course and kept getting up and moving forward. Well done to you. I wish you continued joy in your journey. It sounds as though you have found a nice home on Hive and with your dreem teem. Long may it continue.

 2 years ago  

Thanks for your good wishes. With Hive I really have found a home, while with dreem teem are attached my hopes and dreams.

 2 years ago  

I hodled whatever I earned.

It was a mistake yet it gave us a lesson(although mostly crypto investments support this point, unfortunately, we lost everything) now we Hodl what we have learned 🤭
The period after the uptrennd gave us more knowledge regarding crypto.

Since that day, the coin is on a continuous dip;

No one believes in Dodge now even Elon Musk is also popular in memes because he continuously does comedy in crypto investment.
You have invested in Eth wow glad to know this. 🤞
About the Dreem token 😍 its the unique as we Dreemie people hold it hehe.
Your crypto journey is all related to learning sis and I wish we could showcase more of our good work by getting deserving rewards for our efforts

 2 years ago  

now we Hodl what we have learned 🤭

Hehehe. I can see you doing that.

You have invested in Eth wow glad to know this. 🤞

Yes, whatever I had earned from freelancing, I invested in Eth.

Thanks for your support and encouragement, Ayesha. Love you ❤

 2 years ago  

More powers and success to you🥰

 2 years ago  

 2 years ago  

Crypto indeed has its favourable and unfavorable sides but I would take your last statement invest what you care Dare to Lose.
Investing much is not a bad idea but we should invest in what can can forgone if gone.
Hey How have you been doing it's been Long

 2 years ago  

Hi @sommylove . Do we already know each other?

 2 years ago  

Not in person but I knew you in noise.cash

 2 years ago  

Noise.cash...... ahaaaa!
What was your name there?

 2 years ago  

Somtochukwu
@kenechukwu97 is My Big Brother 🥰

 2 years ago  

Ahaa! Glad to see you here, sis.
Lemme follow you ❤

 2 years ago  

Thanks Dear 👍

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

Which thing fascinated you the best?