My heart sank

in Hive Learners2 years ago (edited)

After thinking hard
I gathered the dispersed thoughts.

Organizing them in an order
I transformed them into words;
And poured my heart on the draft.

I was happy and delighted to see
My draft was expressing me.
I spent my time on it,
And it was worth spending.
After all, the abstract had converted into concrete;
And it was ready to be read.

I was doing the last touches
To make the draft appealing to the eyes.
It was the time when happened wrong.
Mistakenly I pressed the bar that I wasn’t supposed to do.
It turned the draft into a blank page…..

All that was ready to be read
Now it was turned into an empty whole.
In a blink of an eye, everything was lost.
The loss made my heart sink.

😥😥😥😥😥😥

I was going through my drafts today and I came across this poem. I reminded of the story behind this poem. I had written a post that I wanted to publish soon. I was trying to complete it in the chunks of time available to me. It comprised of multiple images that took time to upload. When the draft was ready, I looked for the cover image and added it to the draft. The final touches were left. I applied the markdown on it. I was happy to finish it on time. It was ready to go after adding tags and title. I don't remember exactly why I wanted to copy the whole draft. I selected it by clicking the option “selected all”. Then I put my finger on the screen to click the option “copy”, but…….. it was instead placed on the keypad and some other key was pressed. The whole draft was replaced by one digit..😲. I literally felt something sinking in my chest. It was my heart of course. I felt like I had lost some treasure.

I was using the peakd editor. It auto saves the drafts but unfortunately it saved the changes made to it and I had lost all my words. I have used the editors of some other Hive's front ends. However, I haven't seen a single editor that provides an undo or redo button. Not only on Hive but the editors of other blogging platforms that I have used don't provide these buttons. I wonder why is that so! Is the undo button that difficult a job for software creators that they avoid creating it on the editors; or hasn't anyone thought about the importance of these options (it is unbelievable). Whatever the reason may be I want to emphasize that an undo button is of immense importance in the editor of blogging platform. The software developers must think about it. It would save a lot of time of the content creator; and time is money, we all know. ☺

●●●●●●

Image source

Sort:  

I'm so sorry... I know that sinking feeling, all too well.

I don't know which browser you are using, but in a situation like you describe — at least in Windows based systems — you can RIGHT click immediately where your cursor is in the input box, and a menu will appear that will include an "undo" option. You may have to bring it up 3-4 times to get it to undo a highlighted deletion... but that has saved my bacon on many an occasion!

=^..^=

Posted using Proof of Brain

 2 years ago  

you can RIGHT click immediately where your cursor is in the input box, and a menu will appear that will include an "undo" option.

Are you talking about PC? PC has ctrl+ZZZ option for undo anything. I am talking about mobile 🤨

Hello, as you are probably aware on Hive we use tags to sort posts by topic and community. This is especially important on topical communities like LeoFinance that focuses on Investment posts and discussions.

Please don't use the #LeoFinance tag for non-financial post.

Good luck with your poetry! Stay active.

Thank you!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 2 years ago  

I am extremely sorry. Let me remove the tag

No need to be sorry, I just appreciate your help with sorting content! Thank you again.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

 2 years ago  

Thanks for being considerate. !LUV for this. 🌷 I would be more careful the next time.