Which Mode Of Reading Do I Prefer?

in Hive Learnerslast year

pexels-perfecto-capucine-1329571.jpg
Perfecto Capucine


2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAyTtPNZC4azgNzmcbbNrwLm7sqQ7eKu7JLTDjfRw9MTUA8aMuf1z9Rv1TLh6pECyZxBbdTvXDaK16qUpUDuwjnCDA3iaAGqSv.png

I have been reading books for a long time, right from my childhood when I first learned how to string words together and make a coherent sentence. I grew up with the smell of paper in my house, all kinds of paper. New paper, old paper, damp paper, dry paper, and even the paper that is almost destroyed by termites. You know that each type of paper has its own unique smell.

But then, you know that feeling of curling up on the couch with a good novel? Or curling up on the bed while you dive into the fictional world? I remember reading late into the night on my bed, using my reading lamp until it became so dim I was more or less reading in the dark. And I would not stop until I was done with the novel.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAxm3nacdB7gLmLiZLuYVhHeNsRgxL6WKJoam3hs2B7ZLAp2jwaLFEwoAbLKzAfpv2DhtyvHbJunTbU58RMbxtkvefNK4qj8EA.png

And now, we have eBooks, the digital books that have come to revolutionize everything for us. With eBooks, you can have your library in your pocket, and take it everywhere you go. And the risk of losing your book or probably having it destroyed is eliminated because in the digital age, you can make as many copies as you want.

Ebooks come with their own advantages of course, and that is apart from them being so mobile and portable. They are also designed to be user-friendly. You can make comments, and search within the text easily, and all without disturbing your flow. With electronic books, you can read just about anywhere you want. You don’t have to carry bags of books when you can have a phone that will have all the books you can ever read.

pexels-pixabay-159866.jpg
Pixabay


And then, as if all that is not enough, these days, you don’t actually have to read the texts. There are apps that will read the texts for you, and you will be listening to them the same way you will be listening to your music. Reading has been made easy.

But not for me though, I have tried eBooks and I have found them not to be my thing. Whenever I read for a long time, I find my eyes hurting from straining them. Even when I switched to dark mode, the story remains the same. And then, apart from that, I have also noticed that it is hard for me to read comfortably when I am sitting. For me to really settle into what I am reading, I will have to lie down, and if I am reading on my phone, then sleep will come knocking.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAxm3nacdB7gLmLiZLuYVhHeNsRgxL6WKJoam3hs2B7ZLAp2jwaLFEwoAbLKzAfpv2DhtyvHbJunTbU58RMbxtkvefNK4qj8EA.png

I have tried it several times, trying to read and before I can get past the first page my eyes will get droopy and the next thing I will know, I will be dropping my phone and settling in for a good sleep. It happens whether I am reading a novel or a textbook. I have also tried audiobooks, but to me, it still does not have the same effect as the traditional one does for me.

So yeah, I do enjoy reading books the old-fashioned way. I like lying down on my bed to read, or sitting on the couch and placing my legs on the table as I lean back as far as I can go. Phones will never allow me to do that. I still enjoy dog-earring my books to mark the last page I had been on, and then pressing on the crease until it fades away. There are indeed so many things I have loved about reading, telling all of it would require another post altogether.

pexels-cottonbro-studio-4866043.jpg
Cottonbro Studios

Reading has always been a favorite pastime of mine, and as the world keeps on evolving, we find ourselves trying out easier ways to get it done. A time might come when paper would become a thing of the past, it is likely that due to the dwindling amount of trees today, paper may become even illegal, and when that time comes, we would have to resort to digital means of storing information.

Maybe when we get to that point, when I have no other choice, I will begin to enjoy eBooks. But for now, while I still have access to paperbacks, I will keep on reading my books the old-fashioned way.

pexels-cottonbro-studio-4778621.jpg
Cottonbro Studio





Thank you for reading. Feel free to share your thoughts with me in the comments section below, I would love to know what you are thinking. Till we meet in the next post.
2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAyTtPNZC4azgNzmcbbNrwLm7sqQ7eKu7JLTDjfRw9MTUA8aMuf1z9Rv1TLh6pECyZxBbdTvXDaK16qUpUDuwjnCDA3iaAGqSv.png


This post was inspired by the second topic of this week which is Ebooks Vs Paperbacks. Feel free to take part.

Sort:  
 last year  

Heheh! You almost made me changed my mind on reading hardcopy books with the way you polished e-books clearly stating the advantages thereof.

We can not deny the fact that e-books have a lot of advantages over traditional books but for some of us that are used to the old way it will be very hard for us to totally let go of the hardcopy books even if everything has been digitalized. It is a thing of our time, we bathe in it, we ate in it, it is in our blood. it is possible that in the nearest future, papers might be scarce because of the level at which trees are being used today and modernization. Every age has its own ways of life, for some of us, we do not find e-books that easy because it is not something we grew up with. It is a thing that came afterwards we would have to change a lot of things to adapt to it. But for those whose age will be of the e-books they may even call our hardcopies old fashioned hehe.

For me, I don't get satisfied whenever I read an e-book, I don't have that joy that always comes from reading. I don't know if I can ever cope with e-books Sha, the only time I know I might go for it is when I am out of options otherwise just give me my sling and stone hehe.

 last year  

Omo... I enjoy paperback so much, getting comfy with ebooks is just taking me so long. But then, as you said, each generation has what works best for them. During our time we had physical books, but the coming generations will have only ebooks and they will have no choice but to make use of them like that. I guess we had it better.
Thank you for reading.

 last year  

Heheheh, boss you know the truth na, we had it best🥰🥰😁.

You're welcome sir💕

 last year  

Yeah, Ebooks has alot of advantages just as you've said, we now have audio books and then we can carry as much as possible e-books on our phones while we dare not try it with paperbacks. Or how can someone go about with 500 paperbacks easily but with e-books you can even go about with 5,000 books without stress because everything will be right there on your gadget.
Nevertheless one has to realize the method that works well for someone, just like me too have tried ebooks but it's not my thing so I prefer the old-fashioned way of reading i.e printed materials.

 last year  

You decide what works best for you and go with it, that way you would be sure to always have the best reading experience.
Thank you for reading.

 last year  

Yeah well said... You're welcome.

 last year  

It is true that with current ebooks we can carry a library around in our pocket and have no fear of losing it. But it's true that paperbacks have a different kind of enjoy. However, to be honest, I currently prefer e-books because it offer much more convenience

 last year  

That is good to know, we all have our different choices.
Thank you for reading.

 last year  

well both have their advantages, even to the environment

 last year  

Hello Friends @bruno-kema . How are you today. I want to ask, if you make a contest but don't share the link on Discord, can it be done? because my smartphone has a problem, I can't enter the discord application. Thank You.